1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Memory Tweak - Read/Modify Timings on the fly!

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Eliovp, May 1, 2019.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,156
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    I see +500 pts. to score -> Not Bad
    On V64 is about 700 up to 1000pts uplift.
    IMhO Vega 2 have all the bandwidth it needs..... 1TB/s lol

    Note:
    You still need this Mod, for Latency... the difference is there for sure.
     
  2. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    Can someone with a Vega56 upload the default HBM timings?
    I saw the post with the RedDragon, and I want to see if they are always the same, and compare them with my flashed to 64 timings.

    TY!
     
  3. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Not at home so can't make screenshot but these are the stock values from a Sapphire Pulse Vega 56. You can copy the code and replace the first line in an existing XML to see it better.

    Code:
    <values cl="18" ras="24" rcdrd="23" rcdwr="12" rcab="37" rcpb="37" rpab="13" rppb="13" rrds="3" rrdl="3" rtp="6" faw="13" cwl="7" wtrs="5" wtrl="5" wr="14" rrefd="7" rdrddd="3" rdrdsd="2" rdrdsc="1" rdrdscl="3" wrwrdd="3" wrwrsd="2" wrwrsc="1" wrwrscl="3" wrrd="1" rdwr="17" ref="3200" mrd="4" mod="12" xs="216" xsmrs="216" pd="7" cksre="8" cksrx="8" rfcpb="96" stag="7" xp="7" cpded="2" cke="7" rddata="17" wrlat="5" rdlat="14" wrdata="1" ckestag="2" rfc="208" timing="0" zerorpm="True" tdplimit="50" maxtemp="85">
     
    Dekaohtoura likes this.
  4. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    Thanks, I really appreciate it!

    What mem type (Samsung, Hynix) is it?
     

  5. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Hynix
     
    Dekaohtoura likes this.
  6. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Radeon VII
    I second this. Adjusting timings I actually really don't see my overall bandwidth increase using OCLMemBench on my RadeonVII. As I tightened timings, I actually lost performance. I gain more performance by simply raising HBM Clocks.

    Out of curiosity, what timings did you use to stabilize 1275? I can only run around 1165 with no artifacting, would love to stabilize 1200+.
     
  7. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    Ah, ok...thank you, again.

    I really need to flip the switch back to the 56 BIOS position and take a look at my Samsung's timings.
     
  8. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Some benchmark results. Strange Brigade and Division 2 benchmark results at same settings are very consistent making them really good tests for RAM tweaking.

    https://********/NpBtqP6/default.jpg
    https://********/ZzDTpMn/tweaked.jpg

    https://********/kJzTYh9/Vega-56-1550-Mhz-950-Mhz.jpg

    https://********/F5wwdFg/Superposition-1080p-Extreme.jpg

    https://********/n8xQxp1/Percentage-Increase.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
    mtrai and OnnA like this.
  9. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,156
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Yup, the Gain is there for sure.
     
  10. ireg4all

    ireg4all New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 480 8gb nitro+
    I can't change any timmings on my RX 480 nitro+ 8gb

    No matter what numbers i set, when i apply the changes it goes back to default.

    Also my "default" timmings are weird, tCL is 9 but if i apply any changes it goes to 24 and sometimes back to 9.. it's supper buggy
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2019

  11. Hewhospeaksmuch

    Hewhospeaksmuch New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080TI
    Oh no, how can I fix this? [​IMG]
     
  12. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    @Hewhospeaksmuch

    Start from scratch and make a new profile. I also had an error like this when Installing new driver and trying to use an old profile. I think older profiles can be incompatible with new drivers.

    I like your username with 3 messages since 2017 :p
     
  13. The_Amazing_X

    The_Amazing_X Master Guru

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    Red Devil V64
    If you guys have any problem with drivers not working patch with this. atikmdag-patcher its the only way I can run my Bios modded Rx480
     
  14. Hewhospeaksmuch

    Hewhospeaksmuch New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080TI
    This happened when opening the program for the first time, I have no profiles and only the installed driver.

    Edit: I think my drivers are too old, I am using 18.7.1.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2019
  15. xalucardx

    xalucardx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon VII
    Sorry for the delayed response, I "replied" a few days ago but never posted it :facepalm:

    I can run the HBM2 clocks at 1275MHz without any timing mod. Are you trying to increase the frequency while being undervolted? I was doing some benchmarks to post the results later but I gave up after Win 1903 latest update started giving me issues after installing any Radeon Software.
     

  16. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Radeon VII
    Holy crap, seems you have hit the HBM2 lottery haha. I can't even do 1200 stable and I am not undervolted, actually the opposite. I am sitting at 1.189v to stabilize 2120Mhz on the core.
     
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,156
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    UPD. Your RIG with trusty Vega 2nd Gen :p
    Still Fury CF
     
  18. Eliovp

    Eliovp Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    Radeon R7 / 8G
    New release guys. --> Here

    Not much changes for Vega though..
     
    Jackalito, OnnA and geronimo666 like this.
  19. Proxis

    Proxis New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 560X 4GB
    Hi! Thanks a lot to author for new release! I have a laptop with Ryzen 5 2500U + Radeon 560X which is not identified but shows correct values at least for Core control and Memory control parts.
    May I ask You guys for assistance where to start with a timings exposed?
    p.s. Latest release identifies GPU memory type :)
    [​IMG]
     
  20. xalucardx

    xalucardx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon VII
    What's your junction at that configuration?
     

Share This Page