XP32 and XP64 patchscript for FireGL and FirePRO (driver 8.44 and higher)

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by gellmar, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    i guess i'm going to buy a pro card for the first time in my life and leave the softmodding path- i just need the force. And with iRAY (CUDA based) withing the next MentalRay 3.8, which will take advantage of the GPU in the final rendering process, i see that NVIDIA is the way to go. At this time a Quadro FX 1800 is the best choice - cheap and in terms of viewport performance not really much slower than a FX 5800.
     
  2. n4d444

    n4d444 Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT@FX3700
    @Blufirexp

    Don't rush with your purchase looks like iray will be available to all nvidia cards not just quadros.

    LINK
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  3. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Hi, I'm getting a FireGL V7700 card on wednesday, but I don't know how long I could get it.. So especially @GellmaR -> if you need some things to be tested let me know!
     
  4. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Well, i just ordered a real Quadro FX 3700 so there will be plenty room for comparison when i get it! I got it very cheap from a OEM reseller for just 250€! :)

    @n4d444

    could you benchmark your REAL Quadro FX 1700 in Vista or even 7 64 bit environment (bmark4)?

    I decided to get the Quadro because my speed in viewports of 3ds max dropped by 50% for my Ati card when moved from XP-64 to 7-64. Disabling all the Aero and stuff didn't really help much. Seems to be an Ati Problem, as i read about good bmark4-results of NVidia cards.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009

  5. n4d444

    n4d444 Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT@FX3700
    @Bluefirexp

    You know there is no Maxtreme for 3ds max 2010. So mby getting a quadro now isn't a good idea. Maxtreme gives you some (mby up to 30%) wire/shade performance and is a bit more optimized so it's easyer for your CPU and that way squezes some performance.
    It's not a day and night performance difference compared to a regular card in Max.

    Sorry I dont have Vista/7 on my work PC in the office and is a bit of a hassle to install. But if you are getting it in a few days than you will see it for yourself and write a review.
    In case you aren't getting it anytime soon I'll do the test.

    But for 250€ I think you will love the card.:thumbup:
     
  6. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    @n4d444

    yes i know about the absence of maxtreme for 2010 but i have information that it will be released with the upcoming driver:link

    Further i use Autocad 2010 which is optimized for Quadro with the Powerdraft driver. :)

    Yes i think for that price i get a stable and fast card without worrying about the common softmod viewport-artifacts.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  7. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
  8. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    I heard about Furry Ball but i can't get it :(.
     
  9. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    Hello everybody

    I've got a new benchmark for assessing maya performance in the real world; it's called MayaCarBench

    with some luck, it will help us know whether these mods are really working

    here:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=3321496
     
  10. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    just FYI guys:

    i got my Quadro FX 3700 :)

    In 3ds max 2010 i can't run the bmark4 benchmark as it gives an error just when the blitting.max file initilizes. Anyway- i'll be waiting for the upcoming maxtreme driver.

    One thin i can say: Autocad with the perfomance driver is now blaaazing fast! Much faster than my former HD 4770 (about 2x faster according to gstestbenchmark). So my workflow there is much improved.

    RivaTuner is up and running now again after i left the Ati path :)
     

  11. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
    Can you test the maya benches scenes please I,m very curious to se the differences between a modded 8800GT an a real FX 3700 under maya :D. If you have the time :). I have a 22 inch monitor with 1680x1050.
     
  12. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I second that request, please head over here and show us the power of your Real Quadro (TM):
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=307466
     
  13. Bluefirexp

    Bluefirexp Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gainward GTX460 GS 2GB
    Well no way to do that, i don't work with maya, just with 3ds max...sorry!
     
  14. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    ok, thanks anyway
     
  15. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    quick question

    I think I am going to pull the trigger on a 4870 X2 with 2B memory.

    Can you tell me if X2 version works? does it mod both cores?

    This is good news I did not know we had a successufl mod yet, from the forums I read people are scrambling to get to work in XP Windows 64, with mixed results.


     

  16. MDummy

    MDummy Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8800 GTS
    Softmod Mobility Radeon HD 4850 to Mobility FireGL V5700 on WinXP 32Bit

    Hi,

    hopefully someone can help me. I need to mod a Mobility Radeon HD 4850 to a Mobility FireGL V5700 (on a WinXP 32Bit). Till now I only read about ways to mod "normal" 48xx but not a mobility one.

    The vendor-id of the card is 0x1002 and the device-id is 0x944a

    Many thanks, MDummy
     
  17. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    Hi

    I've got some bad news: the mod doesn't seem to help at all in the real world

    I've been running some tests on the bike scene with my HD4670 with and without the mod, with different sets of drivers, and the conclusion is clear: the mod improves things a bit, but not much, and it is much more important to use the latest set of drivers from ati

    catalyst 9.10 (driver 8.661) unmodded -- 23.3 fps
    catalyst 9.05 (driver 8.612) unmodded -- 17.1 fps
    Firepro v5700 (driver 8.603) modded ---- 17.7 fps

    more here:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=307873
     
  18. MDummy

    MDummy Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8800 GTS
    Softmod Mobility Radeon HD 4850 to Mobility FireGL V5700 on WinXP 32Bit

    First of all many thanks to NormanBates for his help to mod a mobility radeon hd 4850!

    here are the results after installation of the modded driver (at 1024x768):
    [​IMG]

    As seen in the results I think the mod didn't work correctly in my case.

    Here the detailed procedure I tried to mod the driver according to NormanBates:
    (http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3153748&postcount=230)

    1a. I downloaded the actual ATI driver for FireGL Cards (Ver. 8.634 for WinXP 32Bit - FirePro_8.634_XP32_86098.exe

    1b. I unzipped the driver

    2a. download and installed the actual version of rivatuner (2.24) and found out device-id for my card (944A)

    3. downloaded and modified the following script:
    Code:
    # ATI FireGL/FirePRO XP32 mod by gellmaR (gellmaR@yahoo.com)
    # for FireGL drivers version 8.603 
    # Thanks to schoko and YaoZ for general patchscript for 2x00 and 3850,
    # wesley8 for testing on 48xx and making preliminary mods
    [Common]
    SrcFile = ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    HlpFile = newbietechFireGLX2000.rth
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1
    ;common script for 669x+
    
    DstVar0 = force ATI FireGL V8650 capabilities
    DstVar1 = force ATI FireGL V8600 capabilities
    DstVar2 = force ATI FireGL V7700 capabilities
    DstVar3 = force ATI FireGL V7600 capabilities
    DstVar4 = force ATI FireGL V5600 capabilities
    DstVar5 = force ATI FireGL V3600 capabilities
    DstVar6 = force AMD FirePro 2260 capabilities
    DstVar7 = force AMD FirePro 2450 capabilities
    DstVar8 = force AMD FirePro V3700 capabilities
    DstVar9 = force AMD FirePro V3750 capabilities
    DstVar10 = force AMD FirePro V5700 capabilities
    [COLOR="Red"]DstVar11 = force AMD Mobility FireGL V5700 capabilities[/COLOR]
    DstVar12 = force AMD FirePro V8700 capabilities
    DstVar13 = force AMD FirePro V8700 Duo capabilities
    DstVar14 = force AMD FirePro V8750 capabilities
    DstVar15 = force AMD FireStream 9170 capabilities
    DstVar16 = force AMD FireStream 9250 capabilities
    DstVar17 = force AMD FireStream 9270 capabilities
    
    Src0 = BB 00 40 00 00 85 9E EC 00 00 00 75 2E
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00
    Dst0 = BB 00 40 00 00 85 9E EC 00 00 00 EB 26
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1 =   83 F8 40 75 0B 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 74 0C 6A 00 E8 0C 04 CA FF 6A
    SCM1 =   FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 FF
    Dst1_0 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0A 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_1 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0B 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_2 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 11 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_3 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0F 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_4 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8C 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_5 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8D 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_6 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CF 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_7 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CD 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_8 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D CC 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_9 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9F 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_10 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9E 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_11 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D [COLOR="#ff0000"]4A 94[/COLOR] 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_12 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 56 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_13 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 47 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_14 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 44 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_15 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 19 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_16 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 52 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    Dst1_17 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 50 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF EB 04
    3b. excute the script (doubleclick on that .rts file, so that it is run
    on the bottom-left, choose the fireGL corresponding to the row of the script that you edited tell it where the ati2mtag.sy_ from your unpacked drivers is
    (\Driver\2KXP_INF\B_85955\ati2mtag.sy_ in my case)

    The execution of the patch script ended with warnings. Here is the log entry:
    Code:
    Browsing for file ati2mtag.sys... selected 6.14.10.6973, 4125184 bytes
    Using native patch installation mode 0
    WARNING: Certified patch script not found, using common patch script...
    00157fa3> matched sequence has been replaced
    bb 00 40 00 00 85 9e ec 00 00 00 75 2e 
    bb 00 40 00 00 85 9e ec 00 00 00 eb 26 
    ERROR: Target sequence must be replaced 1 time(s)!
    83 f8 40 75 0b 66 81 bd fc fe ff ff 02 10 74 0c 6a 00 e8 0c 04 ca ff 6a
    
    4. modified the CX_86098.inf of the downloaded driver under \Driver\2KXP_INF. I took a FireGL V5700 of the inf-file and set the device-id to 944A.

    5. I installed the driver. the standard installation doesn't work ("no compatible hardware found"). So I installed it according to NormanBates:
    * MyPC > properties > Hardware > devices
    * find your VGA adapter, double click on it, tell it to update driver
    * select "not now", "manually-advanced", "from a list", "I have a disk"
    * browse to your modded drivers, to CX_53876.inf, and install those drivers

    The installation finished successfully, but the mod doesn't work!

    So what went wrong?
    The patch script I used has been written for driver version 8.603. Is this a problem? (I already seen other patch scripts with different hex values for the same cards)
    Does patching work correctly?

    EDIT: What I forget to say: I made a clean installation (format hdd, installed WinXP, and installed hardware drivers and modded driver). No ati driver was installed before

    Thanks to anybody who can help me, MDummy
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
  19. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I think the script didn't run properly, but I haven't run any of those in a long time, so I'm not sure, I don't remember what kind of output I used to get

    anyways, as I pointed out recently, it seems like this mod is not very useful outside specviewperf, or, at least, in maya
     
  20. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Gah, Ok I am checking in everyday on this. I just pulled my bid on a 4870 X2 off ebay after reading this. This does not sound good. What I dont understand is some posts have it working some dont.

    I remember somewhere also that the 38xx 29xx you could not mod both cores if you had X2, does this problem exist and apply to 48xx? x2 version?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009

Share This Page