XP32 and XP64 patchscript for FireGL and FirePRO (driver 8.44 and higher)

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by gellmar, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. Maryus3D

    Maryus3D Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 285
  2. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Thanks but we want FirePro success and not only for Maya ;)
     
  3. Pete3d

    Pete3d Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4870 1GB@V8700
    nice that gelmar is going for Quadro Patching.

    ATI SoftFirePro should stay his priority though :nerd:
     
  4. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Currently I am trying to understand the technical implementation of NVStrap - but I guess to make a GENERAL driver for ATI & NV would be very difficult (unless I provide an interpreter for the register modification scripts in boot time - and these will be not the ordinary patchscripts for Riva :)) And, I am waiting for the logs from a real V8700 to find out what's wrong with my setup.

    gellmaR
     

  5. anjoc100

    anjoc100 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD3870@V7700,8.451.1.3x32
    waiting.....
     
  6. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Can you please explain what is not correct with your current mod?? When I look at the screens, X32 and X64 performance is nearly the same and I thougt the bad X64 performance was the only problem ;)
     
  7. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Of course I will. The problem is ugly performance in maya on the bike & testbench scenes Maryus3D gave me. Also, there are some glitches in SW2008 (which is my productional CAD at the moment). ATI has fixed the render bug in 8.633 (now the patchscript can handle the x64 problem without dealing with ati OpenGL render patches), but anyway the performance is bad. I am waiting for a dump file of render state from real FirePro to find out if some caps are activated that aren't in my mod. To check the latest drivers, I can give you the patchscript update for 8.633 @ XP64 (so you can work on it before ATIfuse goes ready):

    Code:
    # ATI FireGL/FirePRO XP64 mod by gellmaR (gellmaR@yahoo.com)
    # for FireGL drivers version 8.633
    # test only, no ATIFuse enhancements!
    
    [Common]
    SrcFile = ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    HlpFile = newbietechFireGLX2000.rth
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1
    
    ;common script for 669x+
    
    
    DstVar0 = force ATI FireGL V8650 capabilities
    DstVar1 = force ATI FireGL V8600 capabilities
    DstVar2 = force ATI FireGL V7700 capabilities
    DstVar3 = force ATI FireGL V7600 capabilities
    DstVar4 = force ATI FireGL V5600 capabilities
    DstVar5 = force ATI FireGL V3600 capabilities
    DstVar6 = force AMD FirePro 2260 capabilities
    DstVar7 = force AMD FirePro 2450 capabilities
    DstVar8 = force AMD FirePro V3700 capabilities
    DstVar9 = force AMD FirePro V3750 capabilities
    DstVar10 = force AMD FirePro V5700 capabilities
    DstVar11 = force AMD FirePro V7770 capabilities
    DstVar12 = force AMD FirePro V8700 capabilities
    DstVar13 = force AMD FirePro V8700 Duo capabilities
    DstVar14 = force AMD FirePro V8750 capabilities
    DstVar15 = force AMD FireStream 9170 capabilities
    DstVar16 = force AMD FireStream 9250 capabilities
    DstVar17 = force AMD FireStream 9270 capabilities
    DstVar18 = force ATI FireGL V5700 AGP capabilities
    
    Src0 = 0F BA A3 FC 00 00 00 0E 72 3C BA
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst0 = 0F BA A3 FC 00 00 00 0E EB 2F BA
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1 = 83 F8 55 75 22 48 8D 8F 78 01 00 00 FF 15 2E 6D 13 00 A8 10 74 11 33 C0 48 8B
    SCM1 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF
    
    Dst1 = 83 F8 55 75 00 48 8D 8F 78 01 00 00 FF 15 2E 6D 13 00 A8 10 74 00 33 C0 48 8B
    DCM1 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
    
    Src2 =   83 F8 40 75 09 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 74 11 33 C9 E8 26 DC B0 FF
    SCM2 =   FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF 00 FF 00 FF 00 00 00 00
    
    Dst2_0 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0A 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_1 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0B 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_2 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 11 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_3 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 0F 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_4 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8C 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_5 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8D 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_6 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D CF 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_7 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D CD 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_8 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D CC 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_9 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9F 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_10 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 9E 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_11 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 46 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_12 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 56 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_13 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 47 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_14 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 44 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_15 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 19 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_16 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 52 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_17 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 05 94 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    Dst2_18 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 96 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90
    
    The drivers are https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/firepro/FirePro_8.633_XP64_85569.exe

    gellmaR
     
  8. anjoc100

    anjoc100 Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD3870@V7700,8.451.1.3x32
    Hi! gelmar!!!
    one script for test in: WinXP X32 and Seven X32??????
    tanks!!
     
  9. ultrabitch

    ultrabitch Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    I did some testing with maya and some of my opengl code with gellmar's 8.603 atifuse script. My code works fine so far and some simple maya scenes also work fine. That is on xp-32, with a 2600 mobility modded with id 958F.

    I tried the latest specapc for maya 2009 and this is what I noticed. The hand scenes (this is the haviest scene polycount-wise) show some artifacts when displayed with textures on. The geometry goes nuts in some frames.
    The most serious problem though is the squid.ma scene with high-quality and textures on. This scene crashes maya.

    The wireframe performance is good, but smooth-shaded, textured viewport (and especially high-quality mode) is not so good (still it seems to better than plain radeon). Also sculpting tools with high polycount models works fine (no lag, no overlay artifacts). Selection on big meshes has some lag, this can be corrected by using MAYA_NO_VERTEX_ARRAY_SELECT=1 in maya.env, and the wrong selection bug in gone.
     
  10. kilema

    kilema Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3870x2 @ V7700-XP64-8.633
    Can anybody please confirm if I did it correctly ?

    I have 3870x2 and the ID is 950F

    so i have to change

    Dst2_2 = 0F B7 54 24 32 66 25 00 00 66 0D 11 95 66 89 44 24 32 EB 0B 90

    to 0F 95
    and also do the same for the INF file, right ?

    But somehow i ain't getting anywhere and it will restart itself at bootup..
     

  11. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    I allways apply the script with RivaTuner.. Then I recab the resulting *.sys file with "makecab ati2mtag.sys" and finally add my card to the inf.. So no modding in the script necessary I think.. Oh and I did the SpecView test and it seems to work great with CATIA.. Will do a test with the result of a milling simulation which is very graphic intense..
     
  12. Pete3d

    Pete3d Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4870 1GB@V8700

    Hey CadCat,

    i would really appreciate if you write a very detailed one on one instructions how to create a driver for Windows XP and 7 prefereably. ( i am moving from XP to 7)

    I am not familiar with using the info which gellmar provided. I would like to give my input too...

    Thanks and appreciate. :)
     
  13. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Pete3d,

    the patched driver will not run on windows 7. So the patchscript there is useless - that's why I am working on AF.

    gellmaR
     
  14. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    8.465 versus 8.632?

    From what I have read here the 8.632 now has a patch script that can make it work with including HD2900/3850/4870?

    Which script should I use? Just want to be sure.

    Is it worth moving up to 8.632 from 8.465 what benifits will I find?

    Also has anyone compared the 2900/3850 with 4870? I am thinking of moving up to that from HD2900. Will it be marginal inprovement like 20fps more say in SW01 test, or much more than that? Also if I get 4870x2 will it use both gpu cores? Is the x2 series fully moddable?

    My system: XP64, 8GB, Dual Xeon Quad-cores, 512 MB Sapphire Raden HD2900XT.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  15. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    I think the patch scripts are fully working for 32bit applications and in 64bit it depends on what you are using.. If you compare the last ViewPerf screens GellmaR posted you would say everything is working fine but he said in an other test Maya performance sucks hard.. I use only CATIA V5 on XP 64 machines with HD2600/3870 and will compare the CATIA performance from the newest patch script (8.633) with the old one (8.453) later this day.. If things work like they should I'm planning to upgrade to HD4890, which should minimum double the performance, in higher resolutions nearly tripple it..

    greetings
     

  16. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Very cool, I myself run at 2650x1600 resolution. So it will be very nice to get that performance boost. Looking forward to hearing what differences you notice in the two drivers. Can you a specview on both?

    will the mod will use both chips on the X2? I read a while back only one core is possible. like only being able to mod one card in sli or crossfire.. is that so
     
  17. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    I am going on vactions, will be in a couple of weeks

    Folks I am going to have a rest somewhere at sea, so don't call me very passionately during this two weeks. As soon as I get back home, I will release the AF.

    gellmaR
     
  18. wesley8

    wesley8 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 5870 1G
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2009
  19. Johnpv

    Johnpv Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870
    I did you as you said and this does not work for me. I've tried multiple times and every time it just installs the 4870 drivers. (I'm on windows 7 x64)
     
  20. wesley8

    wesley8 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 5870 1G

Share This Page