XP32 and XP64 patchscript for FireGL and FirePRO (driver 8.44 and higher)

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by gellmar, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    That's what I did:

    Patched the *.sy_ file with Gellmar's script, then I took the new *.sys file and recabbed like milchreis said before (makecab xxx.sys).. don't know if I have to do this, I remember with old drivers I renamed the *.sys into *.sy_ and it worked too..??

    then I changed the device ID 9511 to 9501 which is the one of my card.. I changed it both in the inf and the ini file..

    The whole test is allready running, will post results in a few minutes..
     
  2. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Allright, this are my overall scores.. Not really impressing I think ;)

    Results with HD3870 on C2D @ 3,83Ghz and XP64 with Gellmar script:

    3dsmax-04 27.25 no result
    catia-02 22.33 no result
    ensight-03 38.45 no result
    maya-02 41.61 no result
    proe-04 16.55 no result
    sw-01 35.37 no result
    tcvis-01 9.63 no result
    ugnx-01 72.19 no result

    Gellmar please post, if you need more info..
     
  3. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Check the updated ATI Feature Test:
    http://slil.ru/27725242
    and post the log please.

    Regards,
    gellmaR
     
  4. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 08.06.2009 06:11:36
    Software Version: v1.01 build 1137 (An'tA)

    Card is reported as: Workstation

    ASIC Info:

    Chip ID: 0x10029511
    Chip Subsystem ID: 0x12001462
    Chip Flags: 0x000005FE
    Chip Family: 0x00000047
    Chip Emulated Revision: 0x00000029
    Chip VRAM Size: 0x0C000000
    Chip VRAM Type: 0x00000000
    Chip VRAM Bus Width: 256bit
    Chip Core Clock: 800 Mhz
    Chip Memory Clock: 1126 Mhz
    Chip Unknown1: 0x14000000
    Chip Unknown2: 0x00000006
    Chip Unknown4: 0x00000009

    Card BIOS info:

    Workstation Feature Test:
    Feature = 0 OK!
    Feature = 1 OK!
    Feature = 2 OK!
    Feature = 3 OK!
    Feature = 4 OK!
    Feature = 5 OK!
    Stereo Support = 4
    End of Report
     

  5. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    pretty low results, it looks like the regular radeon driver is the one working there...
     
  6. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    I assume there is another protection on 64bit activating Radeon settings instead of FireGL. And now I am trying to find what is the problem with BIOS mapping difference in 32 and 64bit drivers.

    gellmaR
     
  7. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    Good luck :banana:
     
  8. Pete3d

    Pete3d Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4870 1GB@V8700
    Hi guys,

    finally i am able to post on this forum. I had to wait 10 days and make 10 new "trash" posts so I can write here.


    What i found out, is that the originally patched driver by wesley worked quite nice for getting high scores in ViewSpecPerf 10.

    Here are the tests on not overclocked graphics card ATI 4870 1GB @wesleys V8700 xp64bit drivers.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I am a heavy Maya user and I saw that the ViewSpec test worked fine, BUT being honest, i didnt see any differnce in framerates in Maya with both ORIGINAL 4870 drivers and wesleyMODDED V8700 drivers.
    I did some test before patching and the framerate was the same. :(
    I use Windows XP64bit (modded driver) and Windows 7 RC1 (original driver)
    -> both windowses have Maya installed. I get same frame rates.

    It seems that the patching works fine on benchmarks like ViewSpecPerf BUT i dont feel any faster maya viewport after patching at all... hmmmm...

    by the way ... here for gellmar..
    gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 9/06/2009 1:35:43 PM
    Software Version: v1.01 build 1137 (An'tA)

    Card is reported as: Workstation

    ASIC Info:

    Chip ID: 0x10029456
    Chip Subsystem ID: 0x21BC1458
    Chip Flags: 0x800005FE
    Chip Family: 0x00000051
    Chip Emulated Revision: 0x00000002
    Chip VRAM Size: 0x0C000000
    Chip VRAM Type: 0x00000000
    Chip VRAM Bus Width: 256bit
    Chip Core Clock: 750 Mhz
    Chip Memory Clock: 900 Mhz
    Chip Unknown1: 0x34000000
    Chip Unknown2: 0x00000006
    Chip Unknown4: 0x00000009

    Card BIOS info:

    Workstation Feature Test:
    Feature = 0 OK!
    Feature = 1 OK!
    Feature = 2 OK!
    Feature = 3 OK!
    Feature = 4 OK!
    Feature = 5 OK!
    Stereo Support = 4
    End of Report
     
  9. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    hehe had to go through the same procedure maybe they should change this ;)

    I Can't say anything about Maya, but in CATIA V5 there is a huge gain in performance with 8.453.1.6 drivers.. But I can't test the new drivers as I have HD3870 and XP X64..

    You can try if maya runs faster with the old approved drivers, or run another OpenGL benchmark like this:

    http://www.ozone3d.net/benchmarks/fur/

    There I had also a huge performance gain with modded drivers..
     
  10. partyboy

    partyboy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    v8700

    For 4870 1gb (v8700)

    dont work on specviewperf 10 x64 on xp64
    work on only specviewperf 10 (32 bit normal) on xp64

    v8700 driver cant work on real 64 bit softwaare..

    If you install 32 version of program on xp64 firegl features will works.

    I used moded and ready to download 8.603 driver for 4870 1gb

    i am waiting for real x64 driver work perfect.


    ------------------------
    i have refresh rate problem ...... My crt monitor allways show 60hz cant chang it to 100hz.i chaged it to 100 hz monitor shill 60hz....
    All drivers do that.60hz problem
     

  11. Pete3d

    Pete3d Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4870 1GB@V8700
    thanks partyboy. now i understand why it didnt work. it seems to work only on 32bit progreams utilizing OpenGL.

    thanks for tip. i am waiting also for true 64bit mod. :3eyes:
     
  12. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    So new chance for GellmaR to be the first providing a x64 mod :david:
     
  13. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Thanks for the info!!! This seems really amusing :) And hope, no-kernel-mode-involving :)
     
  14. Milchreis

    Milchreis Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    x64 Softmod by gellmaR tested with HD4870 1GB

    Hi gellmaR,

    i´ve now tested your patchscript on XP64 with HD4870 1GB. Only the driver was installed, no CCC. Spec ViewPerf10, 1280x1024. First the x64 version of spec:

    Viewset Composite
    3dsmax-04 21.98
    catia-02 19.01
    ensight-03 33.52
    maya-02 38.90
    proe-04 13.87
    sw-01 29.57
    tcvis-01 7.99
    ugnx-01 58.73

    as pointed out, there is no speed up under 64bit version of spec but i get this when i run the x86 version (32bit) of spec:

    Viewset Composite
    3dsmax-04 49.77
    catia-02 45.89
    ensight-03 54.51
    maya-02 253.72
    proe-04 39.59
    sw-01 82.98
    tcvis-01 36.29
    ugnx-01 58.71

    The results are nearly equal with the ones from wesley8 drivers. I´ve tested Rhino4 and it has the same problems as reported, so this might be a Rhino4 problem. Rhino5 (x64) runs very nice and doesn`t show a single artefact or glitch. I haven`t got yet a reference to Radeon drivers in regards to speed.

    Result of feature test v1.01

    gellmaR's ATI FireGL Features Report created on 10.06.2009 22:00:37
    Software Version: v1.01 build 1137 (An'tA)

    Card is reported as: Workstation

    ASIC Info:

    Chip ID: 0x10029440
    Chip Subsystem ID: 0x0851174B
    Chip Flags: 0x800005FE
    Chip Family: 0x00000051
    Chip Emulated Revision: 0x00000002
    Chip VRAM Size: 0x0C000000
    Chip VRAM Type: 0x00000000
    Chip VRAM Bus Width: 256bit
    Chip Core Clock: 750 Mhz
    Chip Memory Clock: 900 Mhz
    Chip Unknown1: 0x34000000
    Chip Unknown2: 0x00000006
    Chip Unknown4: 0x00000009

    Card BIOS info:

    Workstation Feature Test:
    Feature = 0 OK!
    Feature = 1 OK!
    Feature = 2 OK!
    Feature = 3 OK!
    Feature = 4 OK!
    Feature = 5 OK!
    Stereo Support = 4
    End of Report

    Looks like your softmod works, at least when i run spec (32bit). :) Thank You !

    Milchreis
     
  15. gellmar

    gellmar Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD3850 1024MB
    Milchreis, tonight I've tried to trace the OpenGL ICD stack in usermode, seems to be the calls on x32 and x64 parts are different. So I feel it possible to reverse the stack.

    When the results will be available, I will post them. Keep calm!

    Regards, gellmaR
     

  16. Samiam

    Samiam Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4G DDR2
    Sounds good. Hopefully soon! Any progress on x64 and 3870 so I can help test?
     
  17. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    hi,

    received the following message from n4d444.. unfortunately no benchmark..

     
  18. snuggles0220

    snuggles0220 Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 2900xt @ v8650
    I to have "superior XP April 2009" and I didn't see any gain.:3eyes: Could you run Specviewperf?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2009
  19. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    received another message where he says that his 3dsmax is using directx.. but in specviewperf there is no performance gain so unfortunately nothing new :(
     
  20. snuggles0220

    snuggles0220 Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 2900xt @ v8650
    Dose Specviewperf test Max in OpenGL? By defult max runs in DX, so I always asumed the SVP tested it in DX.
     

Share This Page