XP vs Vista speed. (XP winning)

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by H0PE, Feb 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. H0PE

    H0PE Guest

    People of Guru3d!

    I would like to really anciously know, why an earth everyone keeps telling on the forums that XP sucks and Vista and even windows 7 is faster?

    When a new VGA driver comes out, I'm "constantly" trying out Vista 32bit with the same release as on XP. And yet I ALWAYS experience 50% slower speed against XP. Speed I mean about is World of Warcraft, 1920x1200, full detail, on desktop background full screen. This is how I play the game all the time.

    But when I install vista, with the very same drivers, for all my hardware. I notice terrible fps.

    So please tell me, what do I do wrong that the very good fps under XP turns out to be half the speed under vista, while everyone claims its even faster?

    -All the drivers are exactly the same version on both os
    -I set EVERY details, config, options related to vga and driver options and cpu speed, etc... everything the mirror image of the xp

    I just mention this so you couldn't throw the ball back with the easy answer like "some setting probably..."

    Many thanks for the input, a vista wannabe user...
     
  2. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
  3. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    If the hardware profile you entered reflects your test system, I'm not surprised that XP is faster than Vista for you...
     
  4. allesclar

    allesclar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    88
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    it could be because you have a bottom of the line rig. Vista on your machine is like putting a ferrari engine in a golf, it aint gonna work as its too good for the stuff its running in. Vista requires a higher spec system than what you are running.

    Upgrade and get back to us with the "XP is faster" approach ;)
     

  5. Deathspank

    Deathspank Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX570 1280mb
    i dont consider 300fps in bioshock, maxed out and forcing x16af @1680x1050 in dx10 that slow to be honest mate. show me your dx10 benchmarks, oh thats right you cant xp doesnt support it.
     
  6. Drunken Shooter

    Drunken Shooter Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,799
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 2070 super FTW
    Please go preach your trolling ways back to the basement or some cave that you came from, WOW troll. :flip:
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  7. Phil Pendlebury

    Phil Pendlebury Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 280 1GB PCIE SC
    Sigh... Where's the "ignore" button. :)
     
  8. H0PE

    H0PE Guest

    Thanks for moving the topic...

    Ouch, no, thats my older machine, my current specs are:

    AMD x2 6400+
    Asus M32N-SLI
    2x GF8800GTS 512MB
    4GB 1066Mhz Ram

    Sort of like this...
     
  9. thecake90

    thecake90 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1060GTX
    Maybe SLI isn't working or something?
    I am still on XP btw :) :)
     
  10. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    50% slower?

    You are doing it wrong. Learn how to do it right.
     

  11. allesclar

    allesclar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    88
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    something wrong with your setup definitely. Possibley your cpu, get a quad core ;) from personal experience on my setup, vista is way faster than xp. Even more so because i am able to fully utilise the 8gb of ram i have :)
     
  12. H0PE

    H0PE Guest

    50% less fps or around...

    highest fps with XP in wow is above 110fps
    With VISTA, its only 60fps

    And so thats the HIGHEST... the average I would say 20-25 with Vista. Wich is VERY bad. Even if I turn off SLI then I still got the same amount of difference in fps. I mean that WOW doesn't support SLI, but even then with one card the same thing happens.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2009
  13. CommandrX

    CommandrX Guest

    Never mind the XP haters here. :biggun:
     
  14. CharlieSimon

    CharlieSimon Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Geforce GTX 970
    Sounds like you've got V-sync enabled in Vista, and turned off in XP.

    There's no way in hell you loose 50% of your FPS due to the OS.

    I'd say it's time for some problem-searching
     
  15. nicugoalkeper

    nicugoalkeper Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1060 DUAL OC 6GB
    You have a problem !
    And the higher the specs the higher the performance of VISTA !
     

  16. H0PE

    H0PE Guest

    The only and only problem could be caused if the brand of the two card is important. Other than that I cant imagine whats the issue. :(

    But telling you this you already start making assumptions... when XP going great! No issues there (only WOW unsupported SLI Issue and some graph bug :p)...
     
  17. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Go troll somewhere else.
     
  18. -=GQ=-

    -=GQ=- Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260 @ 722/1485/1220
    As others have stated, there is clearly an issue here, as I'm sure you're aware by now, Vista performance is generally on par with that of XP, sometimes negligibly slower or faster, but for the most part, when you have capable hardware (and in your case, you certainly do) the performance is the same. With this in mind, forget about XP being faster because it's irrelevant. Obviously a functional XP install is going to perform better than a crippled Vista with at least one unresolved performance issue. If you're not able to resolve the issue, your best bet is to format your Vista install. Once you've done this, test that it's working properly with the games you want to play before installing other software that might have contributed to whatever issue you have now.
     
  19. H0PE

    H0PE Guest

    Give you two screenshots:
    XP:
    http://img204.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slidisabledeg9.jpg

    Vista:
    http://img14.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slidisabledvistarm3.jpg

    Ok lets try to figure this out. Would love to get some help, not sure how to find whats the issue. What should I try? First, I reset the bios to default. I got same low fps. No hardware issues under vista btw, all items are installed nicely.

    Except this time I haven't installed the AMD cpu driver under vista. This is the first time I didnt to this, since earlier I had the same experience and same issue. I figured that everything else I've tried, except that. :)

    System information doesn't show any kind of hardware conflict, just the normal ones that I believe its normal:

    Memory Address 0xFEFFF000-0xFEFFF3FF High precision event timer
    Memory Address 0xFEFFF000-0xFEFFF3FF System board
    Memory Address 0xFEFFF000-0xFEFFF3FF System board

    I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 PCI bus
    I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 Direct memory access controller

    Memory Address 0xF4000000-0xF7FFFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    Memory Address 0xF4000000-0xF7FFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    IRQ 22 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
    IRQ 22 NVIDIA nForce Serial ATA Controller

    IRQ 23 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
    IRQ 23 NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet

    IRQ 16 NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512
    IRQ 16 Silicon Image SiI 3132 SATALink Controller
    IRQ 16 NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    Memory Address 0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    Memory Address 0xE0000000-0xEFFFFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    Memory Address 0xE0000000-0xEFFFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI bus
    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    I/O Port 0x000003B0-0x000003BB NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512

    Memory Address 0xF8000000-0xFBFFFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
    Memory Address 0xF8000000-0xFBFFFFFF NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 512


    So the system isn't tweaked now, I muck around a little like this, though I feel the same performance as before. :( Any thoughts?
     
  20. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX
    1st of all: Wow is pretty strange and ridiculous with hardware and software configurations so test with other games too.

    For my pc (which is pretty "similar" to yours, ok its worse, but well, hardware its almost same technology xD), i only lose 3-4 fps, FC2 benchmark on XP, 33avg/27min, on Vista 25/23, altho with DX10, 30/25, M2TW is even worse, crysis warhead too, every game, even the ones who claims to have better performance in vista, they just equal XP (ON MY PC)

    Just wait till win7 (the fps loss is lower than in vista, and its only on early betas), jump windows vista, idk why but i dont find it running well with my actual hardware.


    Btw, what about all those kids saying the the topic creator is a troll etc? wtf, he's just stating what happens.

    Im not a XP lover (i was with vista for like 4months when it was without SP1, and before i switched to a less-compatible with my MB gfx card, which made vista make my pc crash each 30minutes [doesnt happen on win7/XP]), im not vista lover, im not microsoft lover :E, i just explain my situation which is the almost the same than the guy who started the post.


    PD: Check that in control panel you have High performance energy profile active.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page