XP 64 patchscript for new 8.453.1 driver

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by schoko, May 5, 2008.

  1. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    well, i read a little at the ati firegl knowledge base, and i found this problem for linux OS. might not be necessarily the same problem, but investigating this matter does not hurt.

    http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=28406

    or this :

    http://support.ati.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=894&task=knowledge&questionID=28406

    anyway the problem only seems to occur when the opengl application quits, or it restarts. so the driver (miniport ati2mtag.sys) or the atioglxx.dll could be responsible for this problem.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
  2. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Edited:
    I don't mind any of these problems since I did not pay for original FireGL, but oh man, I would be really pissed having a genuine one and two ****ty drivers in row on it (lag/bug ;))

    Ok, so another observations:
    I tried setting both monitors to 1280*1024 (the smaller with scrolling function, since it cannot display all 1024 ;) and I still get the corruption.

    I've noticed now, that everytime I restart Win after this corruption (and it seems to be present even without the corruption before restart = no maya ran in such win session), my second monitor does not start...i have to disable and reenable it in ccc to get it to actually work. Not a biggie, but two clicks more everytime I start in extended desktop :(

    Everytime maya is running, the card, well, at least the fan, is working under full load, does not matter, whether maya is minimized or actually on the screen...this did not happen with old drivers. It seems as if the fan would go nuts everytime 3D clocks are initialized even if it does not need so much cooling.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2008
  3. kinitex

    kinitex Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek ATI Radeon 3870 512mb
    No 3870 to FireStream 9170 support? I will kiss your feet if you can add this card to the patchscript.
     
  4. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650

  5. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    MAXTORAG,
    have you tried to reverse the primary monitor with the secondary?
    ...I had a problem with a monitor that is not start on port dvi because the port doesn't recognise it
     
  6. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Well, the recognition should not be a problem...
    I have switched the primary and secondary monitor just in the CCC extended desktop settings so now it corresponds to actual DVI configuration and I haven't had a problem since then. But it could be also because I haven't had a corruption of displays before quitting windows which I avoided by shutting down the hole Win, not only Maya, after I was finished, plus most usually, I use StandBy mode, and maya is constantly running ;) So I cannot say whether the switching made any difference regarding the startup and "recognition".
     
  7. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    Sorry but my english is very small, the second part of message it's too hard to translate and google don't help me.

    In windows you have not any problem,
    you use maya, but the proble is when the pc start the standby mode?
     
  8. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    no, the thing is:
    I don't have any problem in WIN, when I shut down the whole win, not only maya.
    And I usually don't shut down, I just put it to standby mode with maya constantly running, thus I don't have any problems at all ;)
     
  9. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    well, that is at least some kind of "workaround".

    i do hope ati does fix that problem soon. btw, i have given a maya introduction to some students a few days ago, and at least with the beamer i used i did not have these problems.
     
  10. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I also have had the "sticky time slider" bug for ages, but it never really bothered me, at least not nearly as much as selection-bug and ex-selection-lag

    I don't get corruption; maybe it's because I don't use CCC: I never upgraded the old-and-not-cool driver tools that came with the first unmodded drivers I installed (I don't like .NET or the CCC, I don't intend to use them unless I can't do without them)
     

  11. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    hmm, that is interesting.

    so it seems it´s a bug in CCC ? not the driver itself ?
    well if thats the case, i guess there are some registry values to play around with. i´ll take a look at the registry then to see if there could be some bugs.

    well, since you do not have the bug, maybe we can compare the registry settings then.
     
  12. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    Do you mean the ATI CP with modified aticdxx.dat? Because when I first reinstalled the drivers, it did not show me the advanced settings. That's why I switched (not gladly :3eyes:) to CCC. Well, I should then try to do a clean ATI install with ATI CP from previous driver and see. Will post the results (but I am afraid not sooner than in 2 days). If schoko finds out any solution meanwhile... ;)
     
  13. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I have ATI CP with no mods or add-ons, so I don't see many options, and certainly not many pro options, but the card is working with firegl performance, and I didn't intend to mess with the options anyway
     
  14. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    Hi

    I said it on a different thread, but it may be worth repeating here, to avoid you doing some unproductive work...

    as the drivers are working much better now, I updated my HD2600XT to a HD3870... and I see those secondary monitor artifacts now

    (I still use my old ATI CP with no mods)
     
  15. maxtorag

    maxtorag Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Radeon HD2900XT @ FireGL V8650
    @NormanBates:
    glad to see you are also among us....just kidding. But so far I have successfully avoided all corruptions with some workarounds I mentioned earlier...
    So no biggie.
    What did you mod you 3870 with? (some link to thread?) and how is it working? Is it much better (= worth updating) than 2900XT (I doubt that, but still...)
     

  16. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I think the patchscript you're using could be modified to work on a 3870

    you have to follow instructions by schoko on how to add new deviceIDs to the patchscript; some users are bothering schoko because they can't get it working, but I found it to be a quite simple procedure

    that's what I did with the 32bit patchscript:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=261172

    on that thread you can find details about the performance I'm getting from this new card; I don't think you'll get better performance than with an HD2900XT, but it's definitely more convenient (smaller card, way less heat, and in my case total silence thanks to passive cooling)
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2008
  17. Samiam

    Samiam Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4G DDR2
    Will this work on 19xx series or only 2xxx series? How does one modify a script to support another series? Is it simply a matter of pasting in new card deviceIDs?

    Could I paste some part of another script into this one to get different deviceIDs? Maybe the part in red, or red and green? The blue part is unique to each driver and is the actual hack, correct?

    Thanks

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=24761:

    [Common]
    SrcFile = ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1

    ;common script for 669x+

    DstVar0 = force FireGL 3300 capabilities(1300/1400)
    DstVar1 = force FireGL 5200 capabilities(1300XT/1600/1650Pro)
    DstVar2 = force FireGL 7350 capabilities(1800)
    DstVar3 = force FireGL 7400 capabilities(1950pro)
    DstVar4 = force M FireGL V5200 capabilities(MOBILITY 1600)
    DstVar5 = force M FireGL V7200 capabilities(MOBILITY 1800)
    DstVar6 = force M 54GL capabilities(MOBILITY1300/1400/1350/1450)
    DstVar7 = force M 66GL capabilities(MOBILITY 1750)


    Src0 = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 74 0D 48 8B D3
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF
    Dst0 = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 90 90 48 8B D3
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src1 = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 74 0A
    SCM1 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1 = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 EB 0A
    DCM1 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src2 = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF A8 04 75 0D
    SCM2 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst2 = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF 24 FB 90 90
    DCM2 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src3 = 72 3C BA 84 00 00 00
    Dst3 = 90 90 BA 84 00 00 00

    Src4 = 74 1F EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 73 0D
    SCM4 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4 = 90 90 EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 90 90
    DCM4 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src5 = E8 8A 76 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 45 44 0F B7 C0
    SCM5 = FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst5 = E8 8A 76 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 40 44 0F B7 C0
    DCM5 = 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src6 = 83 F8 40 75 00 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 75 00 0F B7 54 24 32
    SCM6 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst6_0 = 66 c7 44 24 32 52 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_1 = 66 c7 44 24 32 DA 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_2 = 66 c7 44 24 32 0F 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_3 = 66 c7 44 24 32 8C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_4 = 66 c7 44 24 32 C4 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_5 = 66 c7 44 24 32 03 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_6 = 66 c7 44 24 32 44 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_7 = 66 c7 44 24 32 9C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90


    [Common 6.14.10.667x]
    Src0 = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 74 0D 48 8B D3
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF
    Dst0 = BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 90 90 48 8B D3
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src1 = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 74 0A
    SCM1 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1 = BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 EB 0A
    DCM1 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src2 = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF A8 04 75 0D
    SCM2 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst2 = BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF 24 FB 90 90
    DCM2 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src3 = 72 4D BA 3C 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 C8 BE FF FF 85 C0 74 3C
    SCM3 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst3 = 90 90 BA 3C 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 C8 BE FF FF 85 C0 90 90
    DCM3 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src4 = 74 1F EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 73 0D
    SCM4 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4 = 90 90 EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 90 90
    DCM4 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Src5 = B8 01 00 00 00 48 83 C4 20 5B C3 33 C0 EB F6
    Dst5 = B8 01 00 00 00 48 83 C4 20 5B C3 33 C0 EB F1

    Src6 = 83 F8 40 75 00 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 75 00 0F B7 54 24 32
    SCM6 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst6_0 = 66 c7 44 24 32 52 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_1 = 66 c7 44 24 32 DA 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_2 = 66 c7 44 24 32 0F 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_3 = 66 c7 44 24 32 8C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_4 = 66 c7 44 24 32 C4 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_5 = 66 c7 44 24 32 03 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_6 = 66 c7 44 24 32 44 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_7 = 66 c7 44 24 32 9C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90

    [Common 6.14.10.668x]
    WrapTo = Common 6.14.10.667x
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2008
  18. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
  19. Samiam

    Samiam Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4G DDR2
    Thanks!

    That's exactly the info I needed. Going to it try now.

    ***

    EDIT: just tried and it's working greatwith my 1950pro. Good to know. And thanks for patch script!
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2008

Share This Page