XP 32 patchscript for new 8.453.1 driver

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by schoko, May 5, 2008.

  1. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    so, next step completed... at least i hope so, i could not test if the opengl performance for this patch is present, cause i do not have a 32 bit XP anymore.
    i hope some of you could test if this is working.

    here´s the script :
    Code:
    [Common]
    SrcFile	= ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    HlpFile	= newbietechFireGLX2000.rth
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed	= 1
    
            ;common script for 676x+
    
    DstVar0	= force FireGL RV610GL capabilities(HD 2400 LE)
    DstVar1	= force FireGL V5600 capabilities(HD 2600XT)
    DstVar2	= force FireGL 3600 capabilities(HD2600)
    DstVar3	= force FireGL M76GL capabilities(HD2600XT GEMINI)
    DstVar4	= force Mobile FireGL V3600 R630 capabilities(MOBILITY 2600)
    DstVar5	= force Mobile FireGL V5600 R630 capabilities(MOBILITY HD2600 XT)
    DstVar6	= force R600GL V8650 capabilities (HD2900 XT)
    DstVar7	= force R600GL V8600 capabilities (HD2900 Pro)
    DstVar8	= force R600GL V7600 capabilities (HD2900 GT)
    
    Src0    = 6A 67 8D 87 00 01 00 00 50 E8 99 87 FF FF 85 C0 74 09
    SCM0    = FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst0    = 6A 67 8D 87 00 01 00 00 50 E8 99 87 FF FF 85 C0 90 90
    DCM0    = 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1    = E8 42 97 FF FF A8 04 75 0B 6A 2E
    Dst1    = E8 42 97 FF FF 24 FB 90 90 6A 2E
    
    Src2    = FF 75 08 E8 20 82 00 00 85 C0 74 2E 33 C0 EB 3B
    SCM2    = FF FF FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst2    = FF 75 08 E8 20 82 00 00 85 C0 74 2E 33 C0 EB 38 
    DCM2    = 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    #Src3    = 81 7B 18 10 05 00 00 0F 82 17 01 00 00
    #SCM3    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF
    #Dst3    = 81 7B 18 10 05 00 00 90 E9 17 01 00 00
    #DCM3    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00
    
    Src4	= 85 9E EC 00 00 00 75 2E 68 84 00 00 00
    SCM4    = FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4	= 85 9E EC 00 00 00 90 90 68 84 00 00 00
    DCM4    = 00 FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src5	= 83 F8 2C 74 3F 83 F8 34 75 5A 8B 45 F8 66 3B 46 04 74 
    Dst5	= 8B 45 F8 66 8B 46 04 89 45 F8 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 EB
    
    Src6    = E8 76 4D FF FF F6 C4 20 74 08 6A 2E
    SCM6    = FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst6    = E8 76 4D FF FF F6 C4 20 90 90 6A 2E
    DCM6    = 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src7	= 85 C0 74 0D FF 75 0C FF 75 08 E8
    Dst7	= 85 C0 90 90 FF 75 0C FF 75 08 E8
    
    Src8    = 83 F8 40 75 1D 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 75 12 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 
    SCM8    = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    Dst8_0  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D C5 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_1  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8C 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_2  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8B 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_3  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 8D 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_4  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 81 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_5  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 83 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_6  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 00 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_7  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 03 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    Dst8_8  = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 05 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90
    
    #mod by schoko
    
    let me know if it´s working or not. if i have overlooked something, i´ll be updating the patchscript.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2008
  2. aleix

    aleix Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    saphire 3870. 8GB ram
    and for v3200 and v5200

    Hi shoko,

    fantastic work you're doing. I was wondering though whether you would have the script for "force Mobility FireGL v3200" and "force Mobility FireGL v5200"


    I can't find it anywhere

    thanks
     
  3. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    Last edited: May 7, 2008
  4. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I've just updated my 8.44.moded to 8.453.1.modded and it definitely works: thanks a lot Schoko, YOU RULE!!

    with this driver revision, selection lag in maya is gone, so, even though the selection bug is still there, now these modded cards seem to be by far the best option in the market (for pro users, that is)

    reminder:
    selection lag: with any recent ati card, it used to take 15 seconds for maya to react when selecting anything on a very hi-poly scene; GONE!!
    selection bug: with any recent ati card, when clicking on a spot where several objects intersect, it is the one highest on the outliner, not the one closest to the camera, that gets selected; still here, but I definitely got used to it anyway
     

  5. Bananabomb

    Bananabomb Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870
    What selection bug is still there? The one that could be fixed with the "MAYA_NO_VERTEX_ARRAY_SELECT=1" environment variable? If so, are there any drawbacks from doing this as a workaround?
     
  6. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    nope, not that one.
    the "MAYA_NO_VERTEX_ARRAY_SELECT=1 variable did just reduce the selection lag. it worked, but since the older ati drivers had a serious bug the selection time for a high poly object was always above 10 seconds, sometimes it even took a lot longer to select a high poly count object.

    the new driver does not show that selection lag, but there is no drawback from using the environment variable also. you can just leave it "as is".
     
  7. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I think I explained it sufficiently well:
     
  8. aleix

    aleix Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    saphire 3870. 8GB ram
    fantastic shoko!

    thanks alot mate.

    One last question so I know how to do it myself.... How do you modify the *inf file? to include different cards? do you reuse older inf files?

    thanks
     
  9. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    no, there is no need to use old .inf files.

    basicly everything is in there. you patch the ait2mtag.sys to force the opengl performance, and in the installer you just "add" your device id to force the driver to install.

    basicly the different cards do have some software settings and settings for installation within the inf file. you should use an equivalent card in the inf file, but you don´t necessarily have to.

    eg, you can patch a 3870 to a firestream 9170. in the inf file there is no firestream card yet, so you can replace the device id of a fgl v 8600 with the device id of your 3870. the software setting should be the same. even though there is no such card yet, you just force the installer to recognize your card.
     
  10. aleix

    aleix Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    saphire 3870. 8GB ram
    the drivers I download from ati site are supposed to be 8.453.1 but I checked the files and they are actually the following ones:

    DriverVer=03/28/2008, 8.476.0.0000
    CatalogFile=CX_60999.CAT


    Have you got a link to dowload firegl 8.453.1 drivers?

    I notice in those drivers that the inf file does not show any firegl. is quite strange.
     

  11. aleix

    aleix Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    saphire 3870. 8GB ram
    i realized i had downloaded two times from ati several drivers...so it mixt them.... Right now I have the good drivers and seem to be working.

    There is a big issue though: Solidworks is showing broken surfaces and infinite plane colored surfaces everywhere. I use solidworks alot and that is not acceptable. Before i had moded version with 8.293 and everything was perfect, even the Professional application selector that now is not possible to activate from ati control center.

    do you know what could be wrong?
    im using an ati mobility x600 to mod it to firegl mobility v3200

    could be anything wrong from the script??


    cheers
     
  12. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    Hi again

    seeing that the selection bug is gone, and prices are affordable now, I have just traded my not-so-old HD2600XT for a HD3870

    some comments:

    * the selection lag is still gone, the selection bug is still here

    * NOW I get corruption on the secondary monitor when closing maya, and maya refuses to load again if I don't restart (it seems related to the timeline, as it is when that is loaded that maya gives an error when I try to reopen it); I still have the old ati CP, just as before, so that won't solve anybody's problems: it's the card that matters

    * I get visibly better performance, but the card is notably louder (I'll try to install my old arctic-cooling S1 passive heatsink on it later on; it will be worth the effort, even if I have to lower the clocks slightly)

    * in particular, maya LOVES this modded card: the specviewperf maya score has nearly doubled (from 132 to 240)

    Q6600@3GHz + HD2600XT@FireGL
    1280x1024, standard specviewperf10 test
    3dsmax-04....38.98
    catia-02.....34.08
    ensight-03...16.44
    maya-02.....132.39
    proe-04......34.09
    sw-01........82.46
    tcvis-01.....17.96
    ugnx-01......20.92

    Q6600@3GHz + HD3870@FireGL
    1280x1024, standard specviewperf10 test
    3dsmax-04......44.05
    catia-02.......41.58
    ensight-03.....53.48
    maya-02.......241.75
    proe-04........41.12
    sw-01..........95.15
    tcvis-01.......34.55
    ugnx-01........52.90

    * the specAPC fps scores, however, are not so much improved:

    Q6600@3GHz + HD2600XT
    werewolf..130 - 65 - 29 - 25 - 22
    hand......11 - 7 - 4 - 4
    ants......74 - 41 - 16 - 15 - 14
    squid.....100 - 70 - 56 - 53 - 48
    hand_def..3.5 - 2.8 - 3.4

    Q6600@3GHz + HD2600XT@FireGLv5600
    werewolf..195 - 185 - 125 - 117 - 75
    hand......116 - 132 - 63 - 30
    ants......111 - 75 - 43 - 41 - 38
    squid.....125 - 87 - 68 - 64 - 58
    hand_def..3.6 - 2.9 - 3.4

    Q6600@3GHz + HD3870@FireGLv7700
    werewolf..175 - 216 -135 - 125 - 78
    hand......250 - 250 - 165 - 50
    ants......75 - 81 - 40 - 38 - 37
    squid.....95 - 86 - 64 - 59 - 54
    hand_def..3.5 - 2.8 - 3.4

    * but the perceived performance using maya is better, anyway; for example, the bigger memory (512MB vs 256MB) is allowing me to work smoothly on one scene which uses some very high-res textures; the PC still comes to its knees when I open it and start panning and zooming around, but once all the textures are in memory, I get smooth 20fps; with my old modded HD2600XT-256MB, I couldn't escape the initial state of "<1fps and with severe bumps all around"

    so it seems like a great time to get one of this cards... just make sure you get one that is not louder than you can bare (sapphire has a passively-cooled 3870, for example)

    EDIT 1:

    if I disable the second monitor, I get no artifacts when closing maya, and it can be opened and closed at will, so single-monitor users won't suffer this glitch

    EDIT 2:

    I already installed my arctic-cooling-accelero-s1 on this 3870 already: it was way easier than I expected: the holes in the card are where they have to be, unlike the ones on my old HD2600XT, for which I had to use some pretty imaginative engineering...

    I tested the setup with half an hour of strogg killing with quake4 (I don't have anything newer or more demanding than that, but at least I got to play very smoothly with high resolution, ultra quality and 8xFSAA) and a quick maya-only specviewperf test; I got no glitches, artifacts, hang-ups or nuances of any type

    the cooler works perfectly, and is more than able to cope with the heat created by the 3870 at stock speed (the cooler itself is passive, but ventilation in my case is extremely good)

    the memory chips could use something better than the little aluminium heatsinks that come with the accelero, though: they work with no problems, but get slightly hotter than the core itself; it's not easy to use anything else, though, as they have to fit below the big accelero heatsink

    NOW this is an unbeatable setup!!
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2008
  13. sebbe_sabb

    sebbe_sabb Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read some posts regarding the patch scripts, and am a bit confused as to how to add softfirefl-support for a 3850.

    * I assumed that for example DstVar9 = force blabla capabilities corresponded to the rows Src9 = 83 F8 .. .. .. .. SCM9 = FF FF .. .. .. .. Dst9_0 = 0F B7 .. .. .. ..
    * But reading this tells med this cant be right.
    * Adding in a device-id in reversed at pos. Dst6_0 was mentioned by schoko . But this seem to have changed since I cannot find reversed device-ids in the patch script mentioned above.

    My questions are:
    1. which of the existing nine graphics cards in patch script above can be used on a 3850?
    2. should some other patch script be used? For example the one from Yaoz or?

    /Sebbe
     
  14. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
  15. sebbe_sabb

    sebbe_sabb Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Schoko. thanks for replying.
    I did see your patchscript with the DstVar0= force FireStream9170 in the post you refer to. And I did look at the device-id info you also hinted at, indicating that 3850 has deviceid 9505, which I assume would create this info:
    DstVar0 = force Firestream
    Src8 = 83 F8 40 75 1D 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 75 12 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF
    SCM8 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst8_0 = 0F B7 85 FE FE 05 95 66 25 00 00 66 0D C5 94 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90

    Sometimes dst6_x is used to add the deviceids, sometimes dst8_x, and in this post, the deviceids are added at other locations in the dstX_x's

    Instead of running the already created scripts, I try too see the pattern involved, but must admit, I dont see it, yet.
    /sebbe
     

  16. NormanBates

    NormanBates Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
    I followed schoko's instructions and it worked

    I didn't add anything, I just changed two lines, one where I changed the description of the card that was to be modded, and another one where I changed the deviceID accordingly

    just choose a card you're not going to use and modify its entries
     
  17. sebbe_sabb

    sebbe_sabb Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok Norman, so you entered something like this:

    DstVar0 = force Normans 3870@Firestream
    Src8 = 83 F8 40 75 1D 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 75 12 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF
    SCM8 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst8_0 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 01 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90


    ...into the patchscript above?
    /Sebbe
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2008
  18. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    yep, that looks correct. if that is your device id , you can patch the ati2mtag.sy_ and edit the driver. inf and you are done.
     
  19. sebbe_sabb

    sebbe_sabb Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3850 has deviceid 9505 so that would be:
    DstVar0 = force Sebbe's 3850@Firestream
    Src8 = 83 F8 40 75 1D 66 81 BD FC FE FF FF 02 10 75 12 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF
    SCM8 = FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst8_0 = 0F B7 85 FE FE FF FF 66 25 00 00 66 0D 05 95 66 89 85 FE FE FF FF 90

    And it seems that you guys who create the updated scripts add common patch rows that either are used for all cards, or for none, and the stuff that are deviceid dependant, are always at the bottom, always so that DstX_Y = .. .. .. .. where X=counter and Y=number that corresponds to description of the card.
    And theres really no need to really understand anything except to a) search for reverse deviceids for one of the mentioned cards throughout the script & b) enter your own there instead.
    (I was a bit confused as to why the deviceids had moved further down the DstX_Y row, but once again, there are more clever guys than me on this...)

    Thanks for the help guys,
    /Sebbe
     
  20. kinitex

    kinitex Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek ATI Radeon 3870 512mb
    Everything works great for my 3870 however I have two bugs with maya.

    1. Random hard lockups. Maya completely freezes, gives no error and I have to end its process and hope I just saved.

    2. Pink dot artifacts in my renders.

    Anyone else with these? Need some help.
     

Share This Page