Xmp crashes at 16gb 2133mhz

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by rui cunha, Mar 8, 2016.

  1. rui cunha

    rui cunha New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 390
    Hi everyone.

    After searching the web still cant find a answear to my problem.

    I bought a new pc wich a built in december:
    amd3850
    8gb ram ripjaws gskill 2133 mhz 2x4
    ssd
    r9 390
    650 w
    MSI 990FXA GAMING
    ...

    Yesterday i bought 2 more sticks of ram, the same model and brand of the ones i had.

    I installed and they work fine at 1600 mhz, the 8gb worked great at 2133.

    When i tried the xmp option on bios the pc crashed when i joined online server of game Rust and CSGO, note that in csgo i could play vs bots with no crash.

    I tried to change the ram sticks of position, and i managed to join online servers but again i got a crash after 10 mins of playing.

    Anyone knows how to fix this problem? could it be the ram voltage that needs to go up a bit, if so to wich values?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    You should first check if your mobo supports a 16GB config in those speeds.
     
  3. scandalous

    scandalous Master Guru

    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Agreed, I don't think the motherboard supports a 2133 XMP profile. Product page says that the 2133mhz is only supported when oc'd. I think you have to overclock the memory manually.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,871
    Likes Received:
    1,775
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Or maybe you need some fine memory/voltage tweaking for full 4 slot population.


    What's your default dram voltage? If its 1.5, try 1.60 or 1.65v

    And
    https://youtu.be/t4mCNMWUXnA?t=135

    in adv. Dram config test bank interleave On instead of auto, maybe you even need a little higher NB (cpu-NB) voltage now.


    maybe you can help yourself with this mini OC guide
    https://youtu.be/IXzCu29E52k?t=150
     

  5. rui cunha

    rui cunha New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 390
    Ill try that later today, in the store when i ordered all the items they said it would support those rams.
     
  6. rui cunha

    rui cunha New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 390
    memory on cpu-z says 1066mhz, 3:16, 11 11 11 30. nb freq 2199

    i uped the voltage to 1.52

    when i check the spd folder it reads:

    jedec6 :761mhz, 10, 10, 10, 27, 1,50 v
    jedec7: 800 mhz, 11, 11, 11, 28 1,50 v
    xmp.2134: 1067 mhz, 11, 11, 11, 30 1,60 v
    xmp-2132: 1066 mhz, 11, 11, 11, 30 1,60 v

    Is this ok?

    ps. still crashes
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
  7. fliperpl

    fliperpl Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx660 gigabyte 2gb OC
    u need 1.6v
     
  8. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,589
    Likes Received:
    3,553
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    This reads so awefully familiar to my problems with getting 4x8GB 3200MHz to run on my Rampage V.
     
  9. rui cunha

    rui cunha New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 390
    3200 :) i cant get 2166 :(

    i uped to 1.55 to test.

    thanks for all the help. If it fails ill up to 1.57
     
  10. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,589
    Likes Received:
    3,553
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    The difference is you're going for DDR3, me for DDR4.

    But the problem's the same, I can't for the sake of it get it to run, no matter how much voltage I put into the RAM (which oddly makes my rig not post or not boot), or the system agent, or the northbridge (all in desperation), so I guess it's a faulty mainboard on my parts. I hope the new one's around soon (should come tomorrow). Have you thought about the board being the problem?
     

  11. rui cunha

    rui cunha New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 390
    at 1866 they work ok, will teste 2166 at 1.59v.


    Im not an expert on pc oc. :)

    1 hour gamming and it seems to work.

    Another question for the experts :)

    my cpu 3850 goes while gamming from 4.000 / 4100 and 4200

    how i use the optin when it needs turbo to go straight to 4200 instead 4100/4200 ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  12. h9dlb

    h9dlb Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1080 ACX SC
    disable xmp. I had same problem when I upgraded to 16gb ram. With xmp disabled I have no crashes.
     
  13. ocsystem

    ocsystem Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI1070Ti
    depend on cpu load. games normally don't stress cpu 100%. make sure your "power option" is set to "high performance" if you want it to run 100% all the time.
     
  14. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Yeah increase the dram voltage. That's what I had to do when I upgraded my RAM from 16 to 32gb. I increased my voltage from 1.5 to 1.6v and it is very stable.
     

Share This Page