X1xx0 x64 firegl script and thoughts

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by yobitchbecool, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. yobitchbecool

    yobitchbecool New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.software versions
    -------------------
    (a) Windows XP x64 edition fully updated
    (b) DH Driver Cleaner Professional Edition 1.5 (from guru3d)
    (c) Rivatuner (from guru3d)
    (d) Ati XP x64 firegl 8.391.2.1.1.1 driver (from ati)

    2.script
    --------
    Code:
    [Common]
    SrcFile	= ati2mtag.sys
    BakFile = ati2mtag.old
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed	= 1
    
             ;common script for 669x+
    
    DstVar0	= force FireGL 3300 capabilities(1300/1400)
    DstVar1	= force FireGL 5200 capabilities(1300XT/1600/1650Pro)
    DstVar2	= force FireGL 7350 capabilities(1800)
    DstVar3	= force FireGL 7400 capabilities(1950pro)
    DstVar4	= force M FireGL V5200 capabilities(MOBILITY 1600)
    DstVar5	= force M FireGL V7200 capabilities(MOBILITY 1800)
    DstVar6	= force M 54GL capabilities(MOBILITY1300/1400/1350/1450)
    DstVar7	= force M 66GL capabilities(MOBILITY 1750)
    
    Src0	= BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 74 0D 48 8B D3
    SCM0    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF
    Dst0	= BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 90 90 48 8B D3
    DCM0    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1	= BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 74 0A
    SCM1    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1	= BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 EB 0A
    DCM1    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src2	= BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF A8 04 75 0D
    SCM2    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    Dst2	= BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF 24 FB 90 90
    DCM2    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 
    
    Src3	= 72 3C BA 84 00 00 00 
    Dst3	= 90 90 BA 84 00 00 00 
    
    Src4	= 74 1F EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 73 0D
    SCM4    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4	= 90 90 EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 90 90
    DCM4    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src5	= E8 8A 76 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 45 44 0F B7 C0 
    SCM5    = FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst5	= E8 8A 76 00 00 85 C0 74 32 33 C0 EB 40 44 0F B7 C0 
    DCM5    = 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src6	= 83 F8 40 75 00 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 75 00 0F B7 54 24 32
    SCM6	= FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF 
    Dst6_0	= 66 c7 44 24 32 52 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_1	= 66 c7 44 24 32 DA 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_2	= 66 c7 44 24 32 0F 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_3	= 66 c7 44 24 32 8C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_4	= 66 c7 44 24 32 C4 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_5	= 66 c7 44 24 32 03 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_6	= 66 c7 44 24 32 44 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_7	= 66 c7 44 24 32 9C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    
    [Common 6.14.10.667x]
    Src0	= BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 74 0D 48 8B D3
    SCM0    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF
    Dst0	= BA 67 00 00 00 E8 0C BF FF FF 85 C0 90 90 48 8B D3
    DCM0    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src1	= BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 74 0A
    SCM1    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst1	= BA DF 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 1E 85 FF FF 48 8B CF 85 C0 EB 0A
    DCM1    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src2	= BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF A8 04 75 0D
    SCM2    = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    Dst2	= BA 4B 00 00 00 E8 1E 85 FF FF 24 FB 90 90
    DCM2    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 
    
    Src3	= 72 4D BA 3C 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 C8 BE FF FF 85 C0 74 3C
    SCM3    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst3	= 90 90 BA 3C 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 C8 BE FF FF 85 C0 90 90
    DCM3    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src4	= 74 1F EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 73 0D
    SCM4    = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst4	= 90 90 EB 10 BA 0A 00 00 00 E8 F3 62 FF FF 0F BA E0 0D 90 90
    DCM4    = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    
    Src5	= B8 01 00 00 00 48 83 C4 20 5B C3 33 C0 EB F6 
    Dst5	= B8 01 00 00 00 48 83 C4 20 5B C3 33 C0 EB F1
    
    Src6	= 83 F8 40 75 00 66 81 7C 24 30 02 10 75 00 0F B7 54 24 32
    SCM6	= FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 FF FF FF FF FF 
    Dst6_0	= 66 c7 44 24 32 52 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_1	= 66 c7 44 24 32 DA 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_2	= 66 c7 44 24 32 0F 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_3	= 66 c7 44 24 32 8C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_4	= 66 c7 44 24 32 C4 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_5	= 66 c7 44 24 32 03 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_6	= 66 c7 44 24 32 44 71 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    Dst6_7	= 66 c7 44 24 32 9C 72 0F B7 54 24 32 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    
    [Common 6.14.10.668x]
    WrapTo	= Common 6.14.10.667x
    
    3.installation
    --------------
    (a) Install driver cleaner and rivatuner.

    (b) Use the device manager to see the card's device id.
    It's in 'Display Adapters -> <card_name> -> Details -> Hardware Ids'.
    The last string is in the form
    Code:
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_xxxx&CC_xxxx
    The four digit number after DEV_ is the card's device id.
    Make sure to find and write down the device ids for both adapters.
    Also make sure to find and write down the firegl model
    that matches your card.

    (c) Unistall all ati software/drivers
    (driver, control panel, ccc, ..)

    (d) Reboot in safemode.

    (e) In safemode run driver cleaner, check multiple filters,
    feed to listbox all ati enries, clean.

    (f) Repeat step (c) a couple of times.
    (Don't know if it's actually needed, but i do it anyway ...)

    (g) Reboot, normally this time.

    (h) Start firegl driver installation.
    The installation will fail, but now the driver is extracted in c:\amd\...

    (i) Copy the above script and paste in a new empty *.rts file.

    (j) Use rivatuner to apply the new .rts file. (double-click .rts file ...)
    Select your card model from the list and
    apply the script to the ati2mtag.sy_ file.

    (k) If step (h) went well there will be a two new files
    ati2mtag.sys and ati2matg.old - make sure these are
    in the same folder where the original ati2matg.sy_ is.

    (l) Delete ati2mtag.sy_ and ati2mtag.old.

    (m) In the folder above the folder where ati2mtag.sys there is an *.inf file.
    Open the .inf and look for two strings like these two:
    Code:
    "ATI FireGL V7350" = ati2mtag_R520GL, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_710F
         "ATI FireGL V7350 Secondary" = ati2mtag_R520GL, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_712F
    You should look for the string for the firegl model you wrote in step (a).
    Replace the last numbers in these strings with the numbers you wrote in step (a).
    Save the .inf file.

    (n) Open device manager and install the firegl driver manually.
    (Update driver -> No, not this time -> Install from a specific location).

    (o) Reboot. If all went well the driver is installed now.
    To find out use a program like glinfo
    or rivatuner's diagnostic report
    or whatever, ... to see the name of the OpenGL renderer.
    You can also use this maya command
    Code:
    hardware -gfx;
    The name should be something like
    Code:
    ATI FireGL V7400 Pentium 4 (SSE2)
    You can also run specviewperf to benchmark the card and verify.

    (p) Install manually CCC from CCC folder.


    3. Notes and thougths
    ---------------------
    (a) The script was found in newbietech.net forums. It's there i think
    before summer. Blest be google/translate :)

    (b) Don't have time now for specview results but i have tested with
    maya, mudbox, mental mill
    and some software i cooked and the results are ok.

    (c) The card i use is a Radeon X1950pro.

    (d) Alternatively, the old-good-classic-ati-control-panel could be used
    instead of CCC, but i had hard times setting antialiasing and v-sync under
    Direct3D. CCC's .net ultra-crappiness i think has more options this time.

    (d) Maya in particular runs reaaaalyy sweet with this setup (x1950pro/C2D/4gb ram).
    Make sure you have the overlay enabled in CCC and vertical sync off.
    Use default or maya profile from CCC. All other at defaults.
    Used with maya 8.5 x64 and maya 2008 x64.
    The viewport is snappy and fast, selection works fine, no artifacts in the viewports.
    Smoothlines are fast, and high quality viewport rendering works fine.
    Hardware overlay is there, the timeslider is semi-transparent and paint effect
    controls are fine. Custom hardware shaders also tested and worked fine.
    And hardware rendering also works fast and fine i think with no problems.
    Haven't tested hardware particles, but i think they will work just fine.
    I already used this setup for some months now and everything is fine with maya.
    With 500k textured and semi-rigged character model viewport rotates at 120fps.
    With the same 500k scene and ahsli preset shaders viewport rotation is at 40 fps.
    with dual view on. Also worked on high-res textured simple sets without problem.

    (e) Games also work well in general. Newer ones have some problems (crysis),
    everything so far works fine. I assume that anyone that is going to use
    these scripts will be concerned about stability and speed in dcc/cad/etc,
    so game issues are not much of a deal for this type of users.

    (f) The only issue with the driver is that from time to time when maya or something
    that uses the overlay is running, windows from other programs that are on top of
    the 3d windows get corrupted. It's not a big issue as it usually fixes by itself
    or you can force the window to update it's controls by moving the affected window
    area over the edge of the screen. It happens quite randomly and rarely. It could
    be a driver bug or something (previous versions were not behaving like this).

    (g) The patch may work with older drivers also. (tested a previous version of the
    script with 8.353 x64). This 8.353 script was also successfully applied under
    vista x64 (manually installed xp x64 driver), but aero is disabled, and there
    where some issues. (don't know really what was going on, it could be vista's,
    driver's, maya's - the driver is for xp anyway)

    (h) Think for a minute this thing about OpenGL and the whole video-card/3d-business
    thing. ATI was bought by Intel, nVidia buys mental images, Auto-crap buys Alias!!
    no room for little ones here! only strong big sloth ones survives. In the end
    this is what they give you: "Here, buy this, but you can't use it!" there isn't
    even a way for a single individual to use the hardware as they like (the specs
    for this ultra-crappiness are closed). Where is the 'Open' in 'OpenGL', actually
    is there anything open in OpenGL? you have to pay mucho dinaro to have it.-
    ultra-****-gt-xt-gs-mfsoab!!? this is outrageous.

    (i) I wish someone [unwinder??] could look for a way to make this also possible
    under vista x64? 0:).
     
  2. legolasgleaf

    legolasgleaf Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro FX3500
    Hi, anyone tried this? I can't try now, because I'm on a travel... but, it's would be great... Come on!! A lot of people were waiting for this....
     
  3. sigis

    sigis Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1950XT
    thanks a lot ;thats what i was looking forward to try for long time .i`ll try it this wekend...
     
  4. klipi

    klipi Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANKS! I still did not tested script but I just wanted to say thanks. This is pretty cool.
     

  5. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,192
    Likes Received:
    134
    GPU:
    1080TI Gaming editi
    Is there any advantage to apply it to 3D games?
     
  6. okmijun

    okmijun Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7900GTO
    Heh, if someone finally could find the way to done this for 7900GTo/GTX under x64.....(yeah, I know about limitations, but never knows!)

    Here's the old school benchmark for 3dsMAX
    http://rapidshare.com/files/3108339/bmark4.rar.html
    so if someone could test it under x64+SoftFireGl and post here the results it would be just fine!
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2007
  7. klipi

    klipi Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working great! Im runing v7350 on x64!
     
  8. legolasgleaf

    legolasgleaf Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro FX3500
    Can you post, specviewperf results?
    Thank you.
     
  9. sigis

    sigis Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1950XT
    3dsmax-04 26.57
    catia-02 29.26
    ensight-03 20.66
    maya-02 82.77
    proe-04 24.36
    sw-01 46.86
    tcvis-01 8.59
    ugnx-01 15.96

    specviewperf 10_thats what i got with modd v7350 x64.i`m looking forward to your comments..
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
  10. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    yeah, looks like the mod did work out for you !
    these results are good !!
     

  11. samov

    samov Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    mobility x1600 256
    vista x64

    did a little looking around in vista x64...

    1. no ati2mtag to patch... driver structure is quite different...

    2. until some "higher power" comes down and enlightens us... still no vista x64 mod.
     
  12. schoko

    schoko Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Hd2600 Mobility
    @ samov

    there might not be a atim2tag.sys in the vista installation package. but there is a atikmdag.sys which seems to be the same file. at least it looks like it.

    // edit

    when i renamed the atikmdag.sy_ into ati2mtag.sy_ and tried to apply the patchscript at least some of the sequences have been found and replaced.
    but not all. if i remember using older patchscripts for newer drivers the very same thing happened. Me thinks patching the atikmdag.sys from teh vista driver will do the trick. But it won´t work, unless somebody with more knowledge has a deeper look into this and comes up with a new patchscript.

    anyway ,here´s the log from trying to patch the vista file:


    Browsing for file ati2mtag.sys... compressed file selected
    Depacking ati2mtag.sy_... succeeded
    Browsing for file ati2mtag.sys... selected 7.01.01.658, 3375616 bytes
    Using native patch installation mode 0
    WARNING: Certified patch script not found, using common patch script...
    001c35f6> matched sequence has been replaced
    ba 67 00 00 00 e8 74 9a ff ff 85 c0 74 0d 48 8b d3
    ba 67 00 00 00 e8 74 9a ff ff 85 c0 90 90 48 8b d3
    001c3635> matched sequence has been replaced
    72 3c ba 84 00 00 00
    90 90 ba 84 00 00 00
    001c3652> matched sequence has been replaced
    74 1f eb 10 ba 0a 00 00 00 e8 88 52 ff ff 0f ba e0 0d 73 0d
    90 90 eb 10 ba 0a 00 00 00 e8 88 52 ff ff 0f ba e0 0d 90 90
    001c6f65> matched sequence has been replaced
    ba df 00 00 00 48 8b cb e8 02 61 ff ff 48 8b cf 85 c0 74 0a
    ba df 00 00 00 48 8b cb e8 02 61 ff ff 48 8b cf 85 c0 eb 0a
    001c6f83> matched sequence has been replaced
    ba 4b 00 00 00 e8 5b 19 ff ff a8 04 75 0d
    ba 4b 00 00 00 e8 5b 19 ff ff 24 fb 90 90
    ERROR: Target sequence must be replaced 1 time(s)!
    e8 8a 76 00 00 85 c0 74 32 33 c0 eb 45 44 0f b7 c0
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2007
  13. hinkge

    hinkge New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi..Did you konw if this script works even for revision 8.391 for xp x32?
     
  14. Gabo

    Gabo Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI geforce4 ti4800se
    Hi and thanks.
    I´m using this script with a X1600Pro on Xp64. En general works very well but very often I´m having random system locks using Maya 2008 64 bits. Any ideas?
     
  15. hengehog

    hengehog Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    quadro 4000
     

  16. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    Hi,
    i can't instal a driver for max, the error is:
    setup will only run in administrator mode...

    Help me
    Tnxs
     
  17. Samiam

    Samiam Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4G DDR2
    Thanks!

    Testing this patchscript now in Windows x64.

    So far, it installs fine. Going to benchmark next.
     
  18. maxpoz

    maxpoz Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati X1600
    Hi,
    i can't instal a driver for max, the error is:
    setup will only run in administrator mode...


    who can send me atiom9gl.drv via mail?
    massimo@3darea.it


    Help me
    Tnxs
     
  19. Samiam

    Samiam Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4G DDR2
    Had to reinstall and referenced this thread again. Just wanted to say thanks!
     

Share This Page