1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[World of Warcraft] What's the (possible) bottle neck?

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by yrhi, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. yrhi

    yrhi New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8600 GT 512 MB
    Cheers,

    so, today Ive bought myself a 20" Widescreen display today, after I couldn't bare with my old fat one anymore...

    Together with my new display, I plan to buy either a new CPU or a new GPU (no money for both at the moment), so I thought which might be the better upgrade - which might bring a real FPS increase...

    Concerning FPS, I only really care about World of Warcraft performance, as that's the game I mainly play!


    My System:

    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 32-bit
    Motherboard: GeForce6100PM-M2
    Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ (2 CPUs), ~2.3GHz
    Memory: 2048MB RAM
    GPU: Elitegroup GeForce 8600 GT 512MB | PCIe



    So, I got the choice between either a:

    - Nvidia Geforce GTS 250 with 512 MB

    or a

    - AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 6000+ (2x 3.1GHz)



    My questions would be:

    - Taking my new display and its higher resolution (1680 x 1050) into account, which of the two brings me the better FPS increase in World of Warcraft (or generally?)
    (If it is the CPU, is the 8600GT capable of handling a 1680 x 1050 resolution?)


    - Is a Geforce GTS 250 with 1024 MB necessary for a 1680 x 1050 resolution, or are 512 MB enough?



    Thanks for the help!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2009
  2. anticitizen013

    anticitizen013 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x R9 280X CrossFire
    WoW basically runs off your CPU... so even if you have a supar awesome l33t GPU, you'll be very limited by your CPU.

    Solution: Get AION when that comes out :)
     
  3. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,066
    Likes Received:
    628
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
    QFT, I never noticed a diffrence jumping from 8800 Ultra to GTX 280 in WoW, so if you upgrade just for that game go for CPU.
     
  4. LinkDrive

    LinkDrive Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toaster
    I noticed a relatively decent increase when going from my x1600xt to a HD4870 under the same CPU, but I'm inclined to believe that it's because of the massive difference between the two cards. But yeah, anything beyond a x1900xt/7900GT won't show any improvement. The graphic engine on WoW is outdated and broken, so don't worry about it.
     

  5. Tat3

    Tat3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,513
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    HIS R9 380 4gb
    What fps are you getting ? Turning off shadows will increase your fps nicely ( if you even had that turned on).

    I would vote for new cpu or try to overclock that current cpu and see if you still need better cpu and higher fps.
     
  6. yrhi

    yrhi New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8600 GT 512 MB
    [​IMG]
    The first picture displays the CPU when Shadows are at max, at resolution at 1600x1024!

    (the orange line is only the wow.exe process)




    [​IMG]
    The second picture displays the CPU when everything is at max, at resolution at 1600x1024!

    (again, orange line = wow.exe process)







    Strangely CPU usage doesn't reaally increase, it's never more than 65-70%, would this mean I should rather upgrade the GPU?

    Or is it normal that the CPU never wants to go to more than 65-70% for WoW?



    Thanks for the help!
     
  7. MadGizmo

    MadGizmo Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290X 8GB 2560*1440
    If your CPU is dual core and the graph doesn't exceed 65-70% then that desn't mean that the CPU isn't the bottleneck. The graph is probably an average of both. So, if one is at 100% and the other at 40% it will end up as 70%. :)
     
  8. yrhi

    yrhi New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8600 GT 512 MB
    [​IMG]
    This is a pic of the ressource monitor, while standing with full details, 4x AA and 1680x1050 resolution in Dalaran!



    [​IMG]
    Now this is a pic while standing with shadows at half, 4x AA and 1280x1024 resolution in Dalaran!





    Ok, what I've found out:

    - Whenever I set the shadows and sight distance to half, the CPU usage is nearly at max!

    - Whenever I set the shadows and sight distance to max, the CPU usage is at 70%, generally a bit lower than before!

    - Resolution doesn't have a big impact, only a few FPS!


    Now what does this mean :confused:
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2009
  9. nutyo

    nutyo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870
    It means the engine is a dog that doesn't do what it is told.
     
  10. Flakk

    Flakk Master Guru

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980
    An 8600 GT would absolutely be able to run WoW on a 1680 x 1050 and i have the same GPU and a 22inch and WoW runs very smooth on that res no problems here.
    When i first bought my 22incher i thought the same but i decided to try my 8600GT first and apparently it still works good. So i havent bought any newer GPU's cause im on a very low budget.
     

  11. MadGizmo

    MadGizmo Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290X 8GB 2560*1440
    If the GPU has a lot of work to do then the CPU has to wait for the GPU to finish its job and thus the CPU eats less cycles. That explains your 70% (case two). If the CPU can keep up with the GPU it doesn't have to wait and goes as fast as it can. That explains your 100%.
     
  12. wiskerbizkit

    wiskerbizkit Master Guru

    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5850
    get the video card first man. trust me.
     
  13. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX
    why not overclock the CPU?


    PD: Get AMD 7850 x2, they are cheaper and better.
    http://www.pccomponentes.com/AMD_ATHLON_X2_DUAL_CORE_7850_2_8GHZ_AM2__BOX_BLACK_EDITION.html

    With your current CPU you wont get higher performance with a 250GTS than with a 9600gt (trust me, i have almost that cpu and had a 9600gt).

    Maybe OC the CPU more if possible and get a 250gts/ati 4770 (i suggest the ati one, cheaper and you wont notice any difference with that cpu, even with a better cpu there wont be any big difference)?.

    My suggest its get the 7850 and ati 4770/4850.


    PD: Are ALL AM2 mobos, AM2+ Compatible?


    If you desesperatly want the items you said, first get the GPU. Its where you can get more performance.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2009
  14. yrhi

    yrhi New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 8600 GT 512 MB
  15. MAD-OGRE

    MAD-OGRE Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI EVGA 780 Classifieds
    Get the CPU, then later the GPU, both of your are rather dated and need upgrading.
     

Share This Page