Wolfenstein: The New Order

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by ALien8ed, May 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Completed game, was awesome. Added to my small list of completed sp games. Now hoping for some dlc.
     
  2. maize1951

    maize1951 Master Guru

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 8GB
    Never cared for music while playing any game as it is distracting in my point of view. I like country music, but like I said not while playing games.
     
  3. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,965
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    Anyone here running a German version? If so, is there any way to get English / original voice-over?
    The geo-lock system kinda scares me, but I wouldn't want to run the game with localized language.
     
  4. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,994
    Likes Received:
    509
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    The game runs flawlessly on the PS4 at 1080p60 (with no framerate drops whatsoever) yet that doesn't have an i7 CPU. In fact, both the Xbox One and PS4 have very weak CPUs and only low-to-mid range GPUs. They do use some dynamic horizontal resolution scaling to maintain the framerate but the PS4 version only drops down to 1760x1080 from the Digital Foundry article I read and maintains 1920x1080 for most of the time.

    Ironically, the PS4 version of this game runs better than it does on my PC yet looks almost identical graphically (vs. 1920x1200, maxed out), where the use of Adaptive V-Sync means I have to endure bouts of screen tearing everytime the framerate dips below 59/60 FPS, even if it only drops to 57/58 FPS. I find tearing extremely distracting so I've been playing the PS4 a lot more than the PC version.
     

  5. Eero

    Eero Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    I have no problems running this 1080p60 with everything maxed expect PPF@16 anyone knows what it does anyway?
     
  6. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    363
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    Yep I agree. I finished both timelines and will start on the 999 mode soon.
     
  7. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti SLi
    I just disabled ingame vsync and enabled it in the nvidia control panel and it's been fine for me.

    It's also worth noting this game is nicely multithreaded, seeing nice even usage across all cores on my 980x.
     
  8. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,603
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    The i7 requirement is complete bull.
    The game runs at a constant 60 FPS on my PC will all settings maxed.
    And, it also runs at maxed settings on PC's lower then my mine.

    Same.
    I'm playing through on Uber right now, which sadly, is pretty easy.
     
  9. Yxskaft

    Yxskaft Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    114
    GPU:
    GTX Titan Sli
    Saying that just an "i7" wasn't that smart. The term i7 covers too many CPUs, it can mean anything from Nehalem to Haswell.
     
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,529
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    You have an Nvidia GPU though :3eyes:
    If Darren is getting better performance on the PS4 than with a 780 then i doubt you have a constant 60fps with all settings maxed.
     

  11. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,603
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Yes... because lying about performance somehow makes me better on the internet. ;)

    Wolf runs great. I have zero issues with it, occasional pop in with textures... but that's to be expected.
    If the game was giving me performance issues... I'd say it. Looking for tweaks and help. Watch_Dogs runs like balls. But Wolf runs great.

    Only issue I had was some graphical glitch, but that was fixed with the last driver update from Nvidia.
     
  12. Rumpus01

    Rumpus01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1060 3GB
    I really can't get AA working. Can someone explain how to make that work with Nvidia? I have latest drivers. I've tried putting the command at the end of the exe shortcut and forcing through inspector/control panel. While this makes my performance much worse, it does not do anything noticeable...

    Liking the game but the sound effects seem a bit weak to me; not enough umph / up frontness with the gunshots. Needs more sound power!

    EDIT: I'm noticing horrible texture loads when I quickly turn... huge black chunks that have to pop into picture. Anyone witnessed this?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2014
  13. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,603
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    It's idTech5.
    Texture pop in is normal, the faster the CPU you have to less you'll see.

    idTech5 uses texture streaming in order to keep performance up, but unlike other game engines that use texture streaming... idTech does it completely differently.
    Textures are only rendered on what's in front of you.

    Any area behind, above or below you does not have a texture rendered on it. This also means that if you jerk the camera around really fast, yes, you can see the textures pop in.
    V-sync helps with this, as do a few tweaks that are out there.

    It's something Carmack was wanting to make a key feature in the engine. As he was obsessed with control latency. Keeping memory usage to a minimum allowed him to get controls as responsive as possible.
    But, he had said that there was still a lot he wanted to do with the engine to make it better. But, after relationships fell through with ZeniMax... he left. And seems those fixes/updates will never happen.
     
  14. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    dont bother with the exe tweaks.

    Instead use this command once you've loaded a game:
    r_multisamples (2 or 4 or 8, etc etc)

    Also, setting the Nvidia Control Panel AA to 'Enhance' and 2x+ will help with aa. (Credit: someone on Guru3d, cant remember who sorry:p).

    As for texture popins, try this config below (-Tj-'s pretty much) and paste into wolfConfig.cfg (backup your current one first)
    configVersion 1
    //========================================
    bindset 6
    unbindall
    bind "JOY1" "_menuaccept"
    bind "JOY2" "_menucancel"
    //========================================
    bindset 5
    unbindall
    //========================================
    bindset 4
    unbindall
    bind "ESCAPE" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "W" "_moveforward"
    bind "E" "_use"
    bind "A" "_moveleft"
    bind "S" "_moveback"
    bind "D" "_moveright"
    bind "J" "_inventory"
    bind "M" "_map"
    bind "JOY3" "_useandreload"
    bind "JOY5" "_moveleft"
    bind "JOY6" "_moveright"
    bind "JOY9" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "JOY10" "_inventory"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_UP" "_lookup"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_DOWN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_LEFT" "_lookleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_RIGHT" "_lookright"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_UP" "_lookup"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_DOWN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_LEFT" "_lookleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_RIGHT" "_lookright"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER1" "_moveback"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER2" "_moveforward"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_DOWN" "_map"
    //========================================
    bindset 3
    unbindall
    bind "ESCAPE" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "1" "_weap0"
    bind "2" "_weap1"
    bind "3" "_weap2"
    bind "4" "_weap3"
    bind "5" "_weap4"
    bind "6" "_weap5"
    bind "7" "_weap6"
    bind "Q" "_togglefiremodeleft"
    bind "W" "_moveforward"
    bind "E" "_togglefiremoderight"
    bind "R" "_reload"
    bind "A" "_moveleft"
    bind "S" "_moveback"
    bind "D" "_moveright"
    bind "J" "_inventory"
    bind "M" "_map"
    bind "LALT" "_covermode"
    bind "PGUP" "_lookup"
    bind "LEFTARROW" "_lookleft"
    bind "RIGHTARROW" "_lookright"
    bind "PGDN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY3" "_useandreload"
    bind "JOY4" "_prevequipweapon"
    bind "JOY5" "_covermode"
    bind "JOY6" "_quickgrenade"
    bind "JOY9" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "JOY10" "_inventory"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_UP" "_moveforward"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_DOWN" "_moveback"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_LEFT" "_moveleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_RIGHT" "_moveright"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_UP" "_lookup"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_DOWN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_LEFT" "_lookleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_RIGHT" "_lookright"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER1" "_attack1"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_UP" "_toggledualwield"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_DOWN" "_map"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_LEFT" "_togglefiremodeleft"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_RIGHT" "_togglefiremoderight"
    bind "MOUSE1" "_attack1"
    bind "MOUSE2" "_zoom"
    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "_weapprevinv"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "_weapnextinv"
    //========================================
    bindset 2
    unbindall
    bind "ESCAPE" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "W" "_moveforward"
    bind "E" "_use"
    bind "A" "_moveleft"
    bind "S" "_moveback"
    bind "D" "_moveright"
    bind "J" "_inventory"
    bind "M" "_map"
    bind "SPACE" "_sprint"
    bind "JOY2" "_sprint"
    bind "JOY3" "_attack1"
    bind "JOY7" "_use"
    bind "JOY9" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "JOY10" "_inventory"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_LEFT" "_moveleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_RIGHT" "_moveright"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_UP" "_lookup"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_DOWN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_LEFT" "_lookleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_RIGHT" "_lookright"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER1" "_moveback"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER2" "_moveforward"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_DOWN" "_map"
    bind "MOUSE1" "_attack1"
    bind "MOUSE2" "_zoom"
    //========================================
    bindset 1
    unbindall
    bind "ESCAPE" "_menucancel"
    bind "ENTER" "_menuaccept"
    bind "DEL" "_menualtaction"
    bind "JOY1" "_menuaccept"
    bind "JOY2" "_menucancel"
    bind "JOY3" "_menualtaction"
    bind "JOY5" "_menutableft"
    bind "JOY6" "_menutabright"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_LEFT" "_movestick"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_RIGHT" "_lookstick"
    //========================================
    bindset 0
    unbindall
    bind "ESCAPE" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "1" "_weap0"
    bind "2" "_weap1"
    bind "3" "_weap2"
    bind "4" "_weap3"
    bind "5" "_weap4"
    bind "6" "_weap5"
    bind "7" "_weap6"
    bind "8" "_weap7"
    bind "Q" "_prevequipweapon"
    bind "W" "_moveforward"
    bind "E" "_use"
    bind "R" "_reload"
    bind "LCTRL" "_crouch"
    bind "A" "_moveleft"
    bind "S" "_moveback"
    bind "D" "_moveright"
    bind "G" "_quickgrenade"
    bind "J" "_inventory"
    bind "LSHIFT" "_sprint"
    bind "Z" "_togglefiremodeleft"
    bind "X" "_toggledualwield"
    bind "C" "_togglefiremoderight"
    bind "M" "_map"
    bind "LALT" "_covermode"
    bind "SPACE" "_jump"
    bind "F10" "devgui 1"
    bind "F12" "screenshot"
    bind "UPARROW" "_lookup"
    bind "LEFTARROW" "_lookleft"
    bind "RIGHTARROW" "_lookright"
    bind "DOWNARROW" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY1" "_jump"
    bind "JOY2" "_crouch"
    bind "JOY3" "_useandreload"
    bind "JOY4" "_prevequipweapon"
    bind "JOY5" "_covermode"
    bind "JOY6" "_quickgrenadeandweaponsel"
    bind "JOY7" "_sprint"
    bind "JOY8" "_melee"
    bind "JOY9" "toggleMainMenu"
    bind "JOY10" "_inventory"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_UP" "_moveforward"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_DOWN" "_moveback"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_LEFT" "_moveleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK1_RIGHT" "_moveright"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_UP" "_lookup"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_DOWN" "_lookdown"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_LEFT" "_lookleft"
    bind "JOY_STICK2_RIGHT" "_lookright"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER1" "_zoom"
    bind "JOY_TRIGGER2" "_attack1"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_UP" "_toggledualwield"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_DOWN" "_map"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_LEFT" "_togglefiremodeleft"
    bind "JOY_DPAD_RIGHT" "_togglefiremoderight"
    bind "MOUSE1" "_attack1"
    bind "MOUSE2" "_zoom"
    bind "MOUSE3" "_melee"
    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "_weapprevinv"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "_weapnextinv"
    //========================================
    m_smooth "8"
    g_showHud "0"
    r_mode "19"
    r_multiSamples "4"
    jobs_numthreads "8"

    //main settings
    com_allowconsole "1"
    seta com_videoRam "1536"
    seta jobs_numThreads "8"

    //Virtual Textures
    vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 "8192"
    vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly "8192"
    vt_pageimagesizeunique "8192"
    vt_pageimagesizevmtr "8192"
    vt_maxaniso "16"
    vt_maxlockedpages "2048"


    //virtual textures format
    vt_qualityHDPLossless "1"
    vt_qualityHDPDiffuse "0"
    vt_qualityHDPNormal "0"
    vt_qualityHDPPower "0"
    vt_qualityHDPSpecular "0"
    vt_qualityDCTChroma "100"
    vt_qualityDCTLuma "100"
    vt_qualityDCTNormal "100"
    vt_qualityDCTPower "100"
    vt_qualityDCTSpecular "100"
    seta vt_preload "1"


    //cuda settings
    vt_cudaRLE "1"
    vt_maxPPF "64"
    vt_cudaBudget "10"
    vt_usecudatranscode "1"


    //Render
    //vt_minlod "-1"
    //vt_lodBias "-1"
    //image_lodbias "-1"
    r_useNewPrivateLighting "1"
    r_useHardwareTextures "1"
    r_useSMP "1"
    r_noBreakableShadows "0"
    r_swapinterval "0"

    //Image
    seta image_preload "1"
    image_blend "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
    image_filter "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"


    //Noskip forceON
    md6_generateDamageTextures "1"
    r_lazyBindParms "0"
    r_lazyBindPrograms "0"
    r_lazyBindTextures "0"

    //vt_restart
    seta r_forceVmtrReload "1"

    //========================================

    C:\Users\YOUR-NAME\Saved Games\MachineGames\Wolfenstein The New Order\base - wolfConfig.cfg

    Also try lowering PPF to 16, either in-game via the setting menu or command at the Main Menu using vt_MaxPpf 16 (this can go up to 256)

    Then theres disabling DOF
    cvaradd r_postProcessDofMode 0 (0 = OFF, 1 = ON) though this this cant be turned back on once in-game sometimes (for me anyway) an requires a restart if you want it back on.

    Adding tweaks such as AA and DOF (DOF - off, that is) into the wolfConfig.cfg dont always load with the game, for me anyway, so thats the reason im saying to use the in game console (Ctrl + Alt + `) and not bother with using the above tweaks (DOF, AA) in the .cfg.

    I think it just comes down to Windows permissions whether or not some cmds will get read from the .cfg.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2014
  15. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,708
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Performance drops are very minimal (tbh i only get it when its loading a video for a split second) on pc but vsync seems to be bugged that was the main thing. the game really does run very good,but it needs a patch for sure.
     

  16. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Ive left vsync alone ingame then forced Vsync in control panel alongs with Frames Ahead 3/

    Smooth as until i got above 1080p 4xAA or 1440 with no AA. Though it feels like 60-fps, i thinks its more to do with the mouse smoothing ive set to 8 and the frames ahead. Lag is there, but its not affecting twitch head shots with the pistol. (if thats of any help.)

    I think the min Vram needed is 2gb, my 1.5 is just a touch to low i think.
     
  17. fragba1t

    fragba1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX Strix 1060 6GB
    Even though the latest (14.6) AMD drivers didn't mention any performance fixes for Wolf, I can finally play @60fps! Time to kick some Nazi butt :D
     
  18. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,708
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    If i force vsync in nvcp i get FPS drops to 45 fps at times.
    triple buffering gives me white flashes somehow
     
  19. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I can use Triple buffering with 337.82's and .50. have you tried either.
     
  20. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,708
    Likes Received:
    1,567
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    no I haven't, think ill give 337.82 a try
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page