Witcher Enchanced Edition performance

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by DZZRtt, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. DZZRtt

    DZZRtt Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD6950 1Gb
    Bought it from Steam few days ago. And now i'm getting huge fps drops. Sometimes it drops below 25 fps espesialy in Vizima Trade quarter. Is it software/hardware issue or it's just a poor optimization. Game settings 1920x1080 maxed out. CCC settings - driver default.

    And another one question about Witcher 2 performance. I'm geting 32-67 fps in different situations. (1920x1080 graphics settings profile: high) Is that ok for my rig?
     
  2. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,188
    Likes Received:
    2,554
    GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    strange..for me the Enhanced Edition runs butter smooth..
    i have yet to buy/install Witcher 2...
     
  3. DZZRtt

    DZZRtt Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD6950 1Gb
    Update. I have just noticed that the GPU load never goes above 52 % (Witcher EE)
     
  4. BULLBOYKENNELS

    BULLBOYKENNELS New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x XFX HD 6970 2GB
    Ubersampling will kill your fps plus I only notice a small difference with it on, but then again my eyes are kinda old.
     

  5. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    ubersampling is not in the old witcher which this thread is about
     
  6. ToolJar_80

    ToolJar_80 Master Guru

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX970 G1x2 SLI
    I had the same problems. I was loving the game but it killed the experience so I stopped playing it. Installed it again recently and same issues. This seems to be a common problem with the game. If you find a solution I would love to know.
     
  7. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
    could be cpu limitations (or issues, try using only 2 cores, i think that improves a few older games like doom 3)

    & make sure nothing is throttling itself down to 'idle' speeds
     
  8. BULLBOYKENNELS

    BULLBOYKENNELS New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x XFX HD 6970 2GB
    The OP's second part of his ? was:

    And another one question about Witcher 2 performance. I'm geting 32-67 fps in different situations. (1920x1080 graphics settings profile: high) Is that ok for my rig?

    Which is what I was replying too not sure if High gives ya that option as I just run it all maxed out aside from uber, but thanks anyways.
     
  9. Anvirol

    Anvirol Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970
    Make sure that u aren't forcing AA via CCC in Witcher 1. It's mighty buggy.
    Also try other graphics settings. Might help you find the source of the problem.
     
  10. slckb0y

    slckb0y Banned

    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GV-N470SO-13I@900/2000 x3
    got the very same problem a couple years ago and even stopped playing the game because of that. had a E8400@4.2ghz+4gbram+4870x2 and yet the game going under 40fps in some place, just like you with only 40% load on both GPU.

    should try on my I7/nvidia now but IMHO the game is just poorly optimised for multi core/gpu.
     

  11. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    I've got the same problem. Running a shader unlocked 6950 with Cat 11.7.

    Only getting between 25-40fps depending on where I'm looking, and around 30% GPU usage. In cutscenes, it goes up to 60fps and 40+ GPU.

    In the intro/logo movies, it's 900fps and 94% GPU!

    This is my current RadeonPro profile:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <Profile>
      <Property name="_ForceVSync" value="0" />
      <Property name="_VSyncControl" value="3" />
      <Property name="_ForceRefreshRate" value="0" />
      <Property name="_ForceDoubleVsync" value="0" />
      <Property name="_ForceTripleBuffering" value="0" />
      <Property name="_DisableAero" value="0" />
      <Property name="TemporalAAMultiplier" value="0" />
      <Property name="TemporalAAFrameThreshold" value="xxx" />
      <Property name="GI" value="1" />
      <Property name="MVPUMode" value="-1" />
      <Property name="MVPUVisualConfirm" value="0" />
      <Property name="_ForceRefresh" value="0" />
      <Property name="_ForceWindowed" value="0" />
      <Property name="_Affinity" value="15" />
      <Property name="_ForceHighPriority" value="0" />
      <Property name="AntiAlias" value="0" />
      <Property name="AntiAliasSamples" value="0" />
      <Property name="MLF" value="0" />
      <Property name="AAF" value="0" />
      <Property name="ASTT" value="0" />
      <Property name="ASD" value="-1" />
      <Property name="ASE" value="0" />
      <Property name="ATMS" value="-1" />
      <Property name="AnisoType" value="1" />
      <Property name="AnisoDegree" value="0" />
      <Property name="AreaAniso" value="0" />
      <Property name="Tessellation_OPTION" value="0" />
      <Property name="Tessellation" value="64" />
      <Property name="TFQ" value="0" />
      <Property name="CatalystAI" value="0" />
      <Property name="TextureLod" value="0" />
      <Property name="TextureOpt" value="0" />
      <Property name="LodAdj" value="0" />
      <Property name="EnableTripleBuffering" value="1" />
      <Property name="AnisotropyOptimise" value="1" />
      <Property name="TrilinearOptimise" value="1" />
      <Property name="_UseAAProfile" value="" />
      <Property name="_UseCrossfireProfile" value="" />
      <Property name="_Exes" value="" />
      <Property name="VSyncControl" value="0" />
      <Property name="SurfaceFormatReplacements" value="0" />
    </Profile>
    I've also tried with Surface Format Optimisation enabled, dropping the lighting in game from High to Low and setting AA and AF to minimum in the game options.

    EDIT: It's suddenly improved and I'm getting 50-60fps when looking straight ahead with around 50% GPU, 110fps and 80% when looking at the sky and 150fps and 90% when looking at the ground.

    EDIT2: Nah, it's still running mostly in the 30s when outside. It can be at 70fps looking in one direction, then I turn round and it drops to 33fps! Went up to 120+ in the crypt (in Chapter IV) though.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2011
  12. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    Now I'm in Chapter V and outside the field hospital in Old Vizma, where the battle is, it's 17-25FPS! Even after the battle, walking around Old Vizma it mostly in the 20s.

    Much as I love this game, I think I'll be avoiding Witcher 2 unless I find out it's definitely going to run much better, as it's been too much hassle and stress trying to get this game to run smoothly.
     
  13. kevnb

    kevnb Master Guru

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070
    witcher 2 runs like it should for the most part.
     
  14. Whiplashwang

    Whiplashwang Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 FE
    The Witcher 2 is way more optimized compared to the first game. It utilizes quad cores and maxes out GPU usage. Now that doesn't mean you will not have FPS trouble. The Witcher 2 is a hardware demanding game and way more GPU dependent than CPU. Judging from the your GPU though, I think you would run the game just fine, not 60 FPS mind you, but well above 30 in demanding areas and above 40-50 in non-demanding areas.

    As for the first Witcher, everyone had FPS trouble in that game. Reason was it only utilizes one CPU core, thus the reason for only 40-60% GPU usage. Don't let the first game turn you off from getting the second game. The Witcher 2 is a masterpiece and is one of the greatest games this year IMO.
     
  15. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    Thanks, but what does that actually mean for a Phenom II X4 955 (I'm in the process of upgrading), 6950 2GB and 8GB RAM?

    Because the recommended requirements for The Witcher are "Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz or AMD X2 5600+" and I only get 20-25fps a lot of the time, even though I'm running a Athlon II X4 630 and only playing at 1024x768, but people keep telling me that's normal.

    So if it's normal for The Witcher to be like this on a system that exceeds the recommended requirements, it makes me wonder what is considered normal for The Witcher 2 on a system that is only equal to the recommended requirements ( "Intel Core 2 Quad or AMD Phenom X4").
     

  16. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    Ah, thanks. That reassures me somewhat :)
     
  17. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    Hey, I have GOG edition and after intor scene there is no menu but black screen. After 3 min menu apears.
    Then when I switch resolution to another screen waits again about 3 min.
    When I click new game it loads about 8 min.
    Note:
    The thing is when I played it on older computer with radeon 9800 pro game runs without this problems.
    I have updated everything. Please help.
     
  18. Marcin89

    Marcin89 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 680
    Also have performance problem in witcher enhanced edition, but this game is very old and have old limited graphic engine.
    Always have 40-50 fps but in Wizima trade i`ve got 30 fps xD
     
  19. gogetas

    gogetas New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx670 jetstream 2gb
    I have noticed that with msaa4x in game options the game runs very choppy, but with msaa2x the game runs almost always at 60fps
     
  20. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    Wish it was that simple for me, but it doesn't make any difference here.
     

Share This Page