Witcher 2 technical issues

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Carfax, May 17, 2011.

  1. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    This thread is for discussing technical issues with the Witcher 2..

    Personally, I've been having a very difficult time with my retail copy of this game so far.

    First off, the serial code was printed incorrectly. The 0 was in fact, an O. Once I figured that out, I got the game activated and thought I was finally going to be able to start playing.

    But now the ****ing game hangs after clicking on launch game! The Wolf's head shows up, but nothing more.....then after a while, it just disappears.

    On top of that, it appears that I can't even register the game either, and their main forum is also at this moment, disfunctional! :bang:
     
  2. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Great, so I'm the only guy on these forums that can't get the ****ing game to run :bang:
     
  3. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Finally got the game to start!! :banana:

    Had to run it @ 1920x1080 (native rez 2560x1600) with fullscreen disabled, but at least it's running..

    Man, next time, I'm going to wait on the enhanced edition.. :bang:
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2011
  4. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    -If you have 3dvision installed uninstall it (im assuming you dont need it), also disable ubersampling..
    -If this doesn't help try newest 275.27 driver and/or also update visual c++redist 2008-2010..


    I dont own the game so i can't think of anything else.


    edit: ah i see you sorted it out..
     

  5. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Thanks for trying to help Hunter..

    It seems the game has a problem with running in fullscreen mode regardless of resolution or aspect ratio.

    I just tried 2560x1600, and I was able to start the game, but only in windowed mode!
     
  6. The Sleeper

    The Sleeper Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI FE
    Just remove the Nvidia 3D driver and all is good ...

    What a shame tho ... :0(

    80 - 110 FPS ULTRA settings, Ubersampling off ...

    This game is beautifull ...
     
  7. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    what if you start in windowed mode and then pres alt (or altgr)+enter to switch to full screen?
     
  8. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    I don't have the Nvidia 3D driver installed.... Are you able to run in fullscreen mode?
     
  9. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    I think that only works on DX10/11 games, not DX9. I'll try it out though..
     
  10. blesner

    blesner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 690
    TWEET From CAT Creator:

    CatalystCreator Andrew D
    Stay tuned on the Witcher 2 CAP - we're currently looking at it (for most games the final release is usually different from beta)
     

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,187
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Fix the goddamn grainy shadows!!! Some of us do not need the glasses u know.
     
  12. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,115
    Likes Received:
    609
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    I've been playing this game for over nine hours across two sessions and haven't encountered any issues or crashes with the game (other that the odd framerate 'hiccup' when saving or streaming data) using the 270.61 and 275.27 drivers. It's a surprisingly polished game. Very impressed.
     
  13. The Postman

    The Postman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980 TI Gaming
    not very polished for me. I cant play it fullscreen (2560x1600). Alt+enter doesnt work either.
     
  14. Jeparisoe

    Jeparisoe Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Anyone else having some serious rendering issues with this game? I already tested my other games and installed the latest drivers, this is the only one that is screwing up.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Disable any Antialiasing settings you have in your control panel.
     

  16. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    2080ti
    Yeah, had that problem too. It's not the first game that has issues with forced AA unfortunately.........
    Easely fixed though.
     
  17. Rytir

    Rytir New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Asus GTX 590
    For those who cant run full screen this is what worked for me. I use driver 275.27 and I have 2x Asus GTX 590 with a Dell U3011. If you run windows at 2560x1600 change it to 1920x1200 and run the game at either 2560 or 1920 and it will load full screen. If you run desktop at 2560 and put game at 1920 it will not work you haft to lower desktop res down to 1920. Well this worked for me hope it helps someone out.
     
  18. The Sleeper

    The Sleeper Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI FE
    Yep ...
     
  19. grey

    grey Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 275
    Is there a way to make the enemies bodies and blood decals stay longer? That´s my only complain about the game until now, it kind breaks the immersion a little in my opinion. The bodies disappear too fast!
     
  20. Iggyblack

    Iggyblack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 960 1330/1790
    damn, im only getting 28-50 fps :/


    what are your settings? and im also using the latest drivers.
     

Share This Page