1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows timer resolution tool in form of system service

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    Thanks!!

    So, regarding using this second version, I'm interested in these two behaviors:
    Code:
    If ini-file doesn`t exist service just sets maximum timer resolution (old behaviour).
    ...
    If ini-file contains names of processes (with or without ".exe") - either comma-separated or space-separated or one-per-line -
    For the fist point, if I don't create any .ini file, at Windows startup I get always maximum timer for everything, in all Windows..right?

    For the second point, if I'd like to have maximum timer for selected processes, I must create a .ini file, and inside place my executable file names...and that's just it? Anything else?

    I don't understand well the part down here:
    Code:
    then service does:
    - for all specified processes (names) create WMI event handler on Win32_Process class instance creation
    - if WMI event handler is triggered then:
    --- increment counter of maximum timer resolution and if its value is less or equal 1 then set maximum timer resolution
    --- obtain handle of a started process and wait on it until porcess is stopped (through win API functions)
    --- decrement counter of maximum timer resolution and if its value is less then 1 then set default timer resolution
    
    Lets say i have two executable: a.exe and b.exe
    Should I just create a .ini file as "SetTimerResolutionService.exe.ini" and write in it or example:
    Code:
    a.exe
    b.exe
    Thank you again.
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Yes, and yes.

    And yes.
    Also you can write "a.exe,b.exe" or "a.exe b.exe" or "a.exe;b.exe" - if executable name has no ',' or ' ' or ';'.

    Ignore it. That's just short description of implementation.

    I will re-format OP to decrease the confusion.
     
    PIRATA! likes this.
  3. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Thanks a lot for this thread, got the service working first try!
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You are welcome.

    So do you see any benefits from using timer resolution tweak?
     

  5. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Well I have a long history with Timer Resolution. The creator's story resonates with mine. I was having bad stuttering issues in World of Warcraft back in 2008 and also figured out if i ran a flash video all the problems would go away. I found other people had the same issue and the flash solution helped them as well. So when I learned about TimerResolution a few years back I've been running it ever since.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I met only one game where stuttering was cured by timer resolution tweak. It is good to have means to try for troubleshooting.
     
  7. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Yeah, it's more of a peace of mind thing than anything else.
     
  8. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    Do you always keep it active at maximum, or only for selected applications?
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I keep it at manual start and start only when I play that particular game.
     
  10. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    777
    GPU:
    Null
    Just a reminder. Useless tweak for windows 10. My system is always at maximum timer resolution.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Only because some program (service, driver) requested it. And there is a way to discover which one.

    Also it is not a tweak for Windows. It is a tweak for badly coded programs. I have one such program.

    I understand that this is your motto on this forum - to praise Windows10, but posting something out of your expertise gives bad impression. (And in the thread where no one bashes Win10.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
  12. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    777
    GPU:
    Null
    I just mentioned it. And I have normal drivers after a fresh installation nothing special about here. It wasn't my intention to brag about w10.

    In windows xp and seven that never happened under my inspection by the way Mr. Expertise. :)
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    And on my Win10 (1803) I have default 15.6 ms timer resolution.
    If you want to see what process requested higher timer resolution execute "powercfg /energy" in elevated command prompt, it will create html file with report.
     
  14. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    But should I activate it for all games, or only on some games where it happens something?
    I mean...how to understand if I need it in a game? How to understand what benefits have brought to the game-play?
    Thank you.
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Only by trying the game with and without the tweak.
    I had severe stuttering in one particular game, I played it with stuttering for a long time until I decided to turn the maximum for timer resolution - and stuttering was gone.
    So if I play a game and I have no problems I do not bother with timer resolution.
     

  16. PanosXidis

    PanosXidis Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti SLI
    sorry my english guys @mbk1969 what is this???i enabled this tweak and services show running!!!this is for stuttering games?????thank you
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If you have a stuttering in game you can try this timer resolution tweak.
     
    PanosXidis likes this.
  18. PanosXidis

    PanosXidis Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti SLI
    is same like this http://prntscr.com/mr1ejn???? hes put the timer 0.500? or something?
     
  19. Dj_ALeX

    Dj_ALeX Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    G1 GTX 980 OC
    It helps a lot along with MSI mode ON and some minor tweaks in the NVCP as well! :)
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,892
    Likes Received:
    4,525
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Yes. All timer resolution tools use the same Windows API.
     

Share This Page