Windows timer resolution tool in form of system service

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    Thanks!!

    So, regarding using this second version, I'm interested in these two behaviors:
    Code:
    If ini-file doesn`t exist service just sets maximum timer resolution (old behaviour).
    ...
    If ini-file contains names of processes (with or without ".exe") - either comma-separated or space-separated or one-per-line -
    For the fist point, if I don't create any .ini file, at Windows startup I get always maximum timer for everything, in all Windows..right?

    For the second point, if I'd like to have maximum timer for selected processes, I must create a .ini file, and inside place my executable file names...and that's just it? Anything else?

    I don't understand well the part down here:
    Code:
    then service does:
    - for all specified processes (names) create WMI event handler on Win32_Process class instance creation
    - if WMI event handler is triggered then:
    --- increment counter of maximum timer resolution and if its value is less or equal 1 then set maximum timer resolution
    --- obtain handle of a started process and wait on it until porcess is stopped (through win API functions)
    --- decrement counter of maximum timer resolution and if its value is less then 1 then set default timer resolution
    
    Lets say i have two executable: a.exe and b.exe
    Should I just create a .ini file as "SetTimerResolutionService.exe.ini" and write in it or example:
    Code:
    a.exe
    b.exe
    Thank you again.
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Yes, and yes.

    And yes.
    Also you can write "a.exe,b.exe" or "a.exe b.exe" or "a.exe;b.exe" - if executable name has no ',' or ' ' or ';'.

    Ignore it. That's just short description of implementation.

    I will re-format OP to decrease the confusion.
     
    PIRATA! likes this.
  3. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Thanks a lot for this thread, got the service working first try!
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    You are welcome.

    So do you see any benefits from using timer resolution tweak?
     

  5. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Well I have a long history with Timer Resolution. The creator's story resonates with mine. I was having bad stuttering issues in World of Warcraft back in 2008 and also figured out if i ran a flash video all the problems would go away. I found other people had the same issue and the flash solution helped them as well. So when I learned about TimerResolution a few years back I've been running it ever since.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I met only one game where stuttering was cured by timer resolution tweak. It is good to have means to try for troubleshooting.
     
  7. zerixx

    zerixx New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX570
    Yeah, it's more of a peace of mind thing than anything else.
     
  8. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    Do you always keep it active at maximum, or only for selected applications?
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I keep it at manual start and start only when I play that particular game.
     
  10. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    944
    GPU:
    Null
    Just a reminder. Useless tweak for windows 10. My system is always at maximum timer resolution.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Only because some program (service, driver) requested it. And there is a way to discover which one.

    Also it is not a tweak for Windows. It is a tweak for badly coded programs. I have one such program.

    I understand that this is your motto on this forum - to praise Windows10, but posting something out of your expertise gives bad impression. (And in the thread where no one bashes Win10.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
  12. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    944
    GPU:
    Null
    I just mentioned it. And I have normal drivers after a fresh installation nothing special about here. It wasn't my intention to brag about w10.

    In windows xp and seven that never happened under my inspection by the way Mr. Expertise. :)
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    And on my Win10 (1803) I have default 15.6 ms timer resolution.
    If you want to see what process requested higher timer resolution execute "powercfg /energy" in elevated command prompt, it will create html file with report.
     
  14. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    But should I activate it for all games, or only on some games where it happens something?
    I mean...how to understand if I need it in a game? How to understand what benefits have brought to the game-play?
    Thank you.
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Only by trying the game with and without the tweak.
    I had severe stuttering in one particular game, I played it with stuttering for a long time until I decided to turn the maximum for timer resolution - and stuttering was gone.
    So if I play a game and I have no problems I do not bother with timer resolution.
     

  16. PanosXidis

    PanosXidis Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti SLI
    sorry my english guys @mbk1969 what is this???i enabled this tweak and services show running!!!this is for stuttering games?????thank you
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If you have a stuttering in game you can try this timer resolution tweak.
     
    PanosXidis likes this.
  18. PanosXidis

    PanosXidis Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti SLI
    is same like this http://prntscr.com/mr1ejn???? hes put the timer 0.500? or something?
     
  19. Dj_ALeX

    Dj_ALeX Master Guru

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 Super
    It helps a lot along with MSI mode ON and some minor tweaks in the NVCP as well! :)
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,852
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Yes. All timer resolution tools use the same Windows API.
     

Share This Page