Windows timer resolution tool in form of system service

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    201
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    CPU-Z has a new tool named: " Timers " You will find this tool in the " Tools " drop down box located at the bottom middle of the program window.

    This Tool displays the clocks, their values and allows you to run a test upon them.

    This tool was introduced in V1.84 and is available in any newer version of the software.

    Start the tool and let it run. When you stop the test all your timer values should match.
    If they do not match, that is when the troubleshooting begins.

    https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html#version-history
    https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html
     
    SputNick and oldgregg like this.
  2. PIRATA!

    PIRATA! Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800 ULTRA
    This is very interesting.
    All my timings match....but what does this mean??

    Any help and explanation would be appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,105
    Likes Received:
    6,004
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    226
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I tried CPU-Z timer tool and not really sure I understand, when I open it I get at top


    ACPI timer 3.580 MHz
    Perf timer(QPC) 10.000 MHz
    Sys timer(RTC) 1.000 KHz
    running test just shows the time increase and the same values above.

    PS: "save report" has a lot of info in it.
     

  5. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,554
    Likes Received:
    201
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Think of these timers as the beat in a song. The beat keeps all the other instruments in time with each other.
    The clocks above have to work together in the same way to keep the software and hardware in sync to move the data around inside the motherboard and the exterior components connected to it.

    Have the test running in the back ground while you put your computer through it paces. After you are done using your computer (such as playing a game) stop the test. All the test values shown below each clock frequency should be the same value.

    If they are not then some troubleshooting may be required. It may be a particular piece of software, It may be that your overclock on your PC is to severe. It might be an issue with your motherboard or insufficient power from the power supply. it could even be a bad clock module.

    This is a test to see if anything might be happening in the background that may be affecting your computer performance.
     
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    226
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Ok, Thanks for the explanation.
     
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,105
    Likes Received:
    6,004
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I just noticed in powercgf.exe energy report - Origin requests 1ms timer resolution:

    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 9180
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume8\Program Files (x86)\Origin\Origin.exe

    I will check the Steam and UPlay...

    Update:
    UPlay does it too:

    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 8248
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume8\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\UplayWebCore.exe

    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 3116
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume8\Program Files (x86)\Ubisoft\Ubisoft Game Launcher\upc.exe

    Update:
    Steam does it too:

    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 2252
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume8\Program Files (x86)\Steam\bin\cef\cef.win7x64\steamwebhelper.exe
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
    Xtreme512 and akbaar like this.
  8. Wagnard

    Wagnard Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    282
    GPU:
    MSI Geforce GTX 1080
    Usually the lowest timer requested is applied. If you apply 5ms with ISLC and run steam, the timer will be at 1ms because steam requested a lower timer.
    I recommend to not play with this setting as most app/games are dealing correctly with this and is not really necessary anymore.
     
    Xtreme512 and Jackalito like this.
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,105
    Likes Received:
    6,004
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I saw people using your ISLC to experiment with different timer resolutions and stating that it is not necessary to crank the resolution to the maximum ("0.5"), that "2.0" or even "4.0" ms is enough. And then they launch game from Steam, UPlay or Origin being unaware that their selected sensible resolution was overwritten to "1.0".
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  10. Ema prowler

    Ema prowler New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd radeon hd 7770
    error whit first.
    "Cannot start service from the command line or debugger. A windows Service must first be installed(using installutil.exe) and then started with the ServerExplorer, Windows Services Administrative tool or the NET START command."
    I can't install any,
    none works, I'm on Windows 10
    error STR:

    -----------------------------------------------
    sábado, 30 de mayo de 2020 19:14:21


    PowerShell version = 5.1.18362.752
    CLR version = 4.0.30319.42000

    ------------ Setting current working location ------------
    'C:\timeresolution'

    ------------ Checking binary file ------------
    SetTimerResolutionService.exe

    ------------ Installing new instance of service 'STR' ------------
    [SC] OpenSCManager ERROR 5:

    Acceso denegado.

    Unexpected error
    New instance of service 'STR' failed to install
    En C:\timeresolution\Install-STRService.ps1: 109 Carácter: 11
    + { throw "New instance of service '$servicename' failed to ins ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : OperationStopped: (New instance of...iled to install:String) [], RuntimeException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : New instance of service 'STR' failed to install


    ------------ Collecting events generated since script started ------------
     

  11. empleat

    empleat Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    geforce 780
    Wow this is so good, i am gonna try this. Microsoft should implement this, because according to some article megawatts are wasted, because timers running on low resolution (0.5ms), because browsers like chrome e.g. And it is true, on global scale, it will be megawatts probably. I checked wattage and it was like 5 wats difference, or something Problem is how many people download this, or even be willing to be to try this, like 5000 ? Normally windows has dynamic tick by default, but i don't know if browser is open, it will probably still crank it up. Like you alone > microsoft don't know what to say... Actually it is kinda mind boggling, that they don't introduced it.

    Games usually put it to 1ms, like cod, or cs go for example. I used between 0.5 and 1 ms and i prefer 1ms, 0.5 ms capture even smallest movement and makes mouse hard to control. But i wouldn't go above that, that's to high input lag!

    Btw there is also gaming utility GameFire lets you change power plan upon game launch and restore after, there are some free programs, but they had absent Ultimate Performance plan. And problem is in games, if you don't use ultimate power plan with disabled idle saver, which keeps cpu at 100% load at c0 state, switching between states introduce input lag.

    Also i don't use c states, because even if i put Ultimate Power performance plan, i felt more input lag.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,105
    Likes Received:
    6,004
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You have to launch PowerShell as administrator, and then execute "Install-STRService.ps1" script from within PowerShell session.
     

Share This Page