Windows Sonic and Dolby Atmos for headphones

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by Anarion, Apr 13, 2017.

  1. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 660gtx sig2
    none the less the sonic dont work for me, but your right my 24/48 reset it 16/48
     
  2. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB HBM2
    The Dolby Atmos team contact me in a email said that when Dolby Atmos is enable for Headphones, it use 2ch mode mode because Windows 10 Spatial Audio API take the 7.1ch or 5.1ch & encode it in realtime back to 2.0ch mode. enable 5.1ch mode disable Spatial Audio API.

    They said Dolby Atmos for Headphone software is in work in process since the build they ship to Windows Store was rush & they working out the bugs.

    So far Windows Sonic is doing better work in effects but Atmos has a tiny bit better in surround sound then Windows Sonic.
     
  3. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 660gtx sig2
    like said sonic dont work for me, I hear zero diffrence
     
  4. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,918
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
    I did some testing (used stereo direct mode). In Skyrim it didn't do anything. It clearly doesn't work properly. Games detect it as stereo so positioning will not be any better and the extra virtual stereo upmixing just hurts it. Audio mixing is Skyrim has always been bugged so in stereo mode everything sounds too quiet. Thus it's pretty easy to notice that the Windows Sonic thingy wasn't working.

    Not sure if it works in UWP apps - there was difference when I watched video with 5.1 soundtrack but I'm not sure if it just did virtual stereo upmixing there too.
     

  5. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
    For me i found it to work with movies, when i have them config to 5.1, Some movies not all of them. When I don't check the box to do virtual 7.1, I gotten it to work a bit better in games that allow you to set the speaker channels, even through windows forces stereo but not perfectly since it prolly conflicting with windows.

    I guess if enough people contact microsoft on how to improve it, maybe they listen and allow you to config the count of speakers, so it will work correctly and not revert back to stereo or turn it self off.
     
  6. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Master Guru

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two different furnaces
    There are tons of free better solutions..
     
  7. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
    Razer surround software doesn't work that well for me, and creative SB blaster X lite if I recall is also limited to stereo too, I have to try it again to check. but I don't like the way Razer surround work or does to the sound to use it and the amount of issues that it causes.
     
  8. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Master Guru

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two different furnaces
    For movies, most of advanced free players are able do downmix from multichannel to stereo simply via LAV filters.
    For games my Creative Titanium do a better job using CMSS-3D (note that you must set 5.1 and headphones in the creative control panel).
    Just because if branded "dolby" doesn't mean quality.
     
  9. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,928
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 FE @ 2ghz
    Yea I have used an couple of them back when I was watching just DVDs before I moved on to blu rays and 3D. Yea it is very important that people remember to config windows audio to 5.1 when there using CMSS3D headphone or SBX surround, most times people don't and then they start to wonder why every thing is sounding off.

    yea when I see Dolby or DTS labs quality doesn't pop into my mind only an logo, It just sad that Microsoft did not think this through clearly, when they decided to add this to the creator update, Unless it still not complete and maybe planning to update it at an later time, to be able to config it for 5.1 to make it work right. But that only an wishful thinking.

    This would had been great for usb external dac amp users like my self, if they done this correctly, instead of doing this half way.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2017
  10. loc

    loc New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X
    I've tried to get both Spatial sound formats to get working on ODAC+AMP combo but either of those do nothing. Tested the formats on my 2.1 desktop speakers where it had effect but to much worse than nothing. It there a way to get those to work with ODAC's?
     

Share This Page