Windows power plan settings explorer utility

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Aug 3, 2017.

  1. gregoire

    gregoire New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1050TI
    Sorry for the time I took to reply. Indeed, that's what I was looking for ; on my computer, 99% of the power options are hidden. I did uncheck every rows that was set as "hidden" in your utility but "apply" stays greyed out. That being said, when I re-launch your software, everything is still unchecked, even if nothing has been unhidden in window's popup dialog. I'm on windows 10, I have a 2018 Dell XPS 15 9570. That's really weird...
    I succeeded editing what I wanted to edit (my computer used to get into sleepmode while in video-playback) by downoading a reg file but I'm still interested if you have any clue on what could be happening here.

    Thanks
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Utility doesn`t need "apply" button to hide/unhide settings.
    I have no clue either. Utility uses Win API functions to enumerate and to hide/unhide settings, so from Win API point of view settings were unhidden successfully.
    There is way to hide/unhide settings from command line with the help of powercfg.exe. Interested to experiment?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  3. gregoire

    gregoire New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1050TI
    I also downloaded a cmd file that had lots of power options to unhide and it didn't work neither. That's strange. I'm wondering if it'd work if I do it manually with the cmd but unhiding every settings one by one... well, this sounds like a pain in the a...
     
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I wonder if some OEM laptops makers have the ability to lock some power plan options out. I know they make there own optimized ones many times.
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I have never seen locked power plan setting. User can create any number of power plans, but all of them will have the same set of settings (available for changing).

    PS And to introduce new power setting OEM have to implement it in BIOS and in some power management driver (module).
     
  6. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Why did it take until now until I see this? :D

    Nice tool, very handy. Thank you very much!
     
    Tiny_Clanger likes this.
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    "Use it well" :cool:
    A hint: go to my profile page and select "Information" tab. May be there you will find something useful for you.
     
    386SX likes this.
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @gregoire

    Command (in elevated command prompt) "powercfg /Qh" prints all hidden settings. And command "powercfg /Q" prints all visible settings.
     
    Tiny_Clanger likes this.
  9. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    igpu
    @mbk1969 is the link in post no1 for the latest version? Thanks for the info in the post above :)
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Yes. There were no different versions of this tool. (Except for one guru with Win7.) I just fixed the code, and re-uploaded zip-file.
     
    Tiny_Clanger likes this.

  11. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    igpu
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Yep.

    PS Hey, wait a minute... You both share a whole word in your account name... (Sherlock mode on!) Relatives?
     
  13. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    igpu
    Yeah its me mate:). A member of staff said something to me and for the first time in a bloody long time i kept my gob shut and just asked them to close my account. I wasnt banned as it says. Trouble is Clanger account is still partially active and Tiny was a clanger too. :) Its why i am recommending this utility, i know itza goodun :cool:
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  14. lightzoo

    lightzoo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270 2048
    Very cool.
     
  15. empleat

    empleat Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    geforce 780
    If you have selected Ultimate Performance plan and disabled idle saver, that's it right? There are no other performance settings, that would affect processor performance right? I have intel.
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    P-states, C-states, core parking, autonomous mode (if supported) - that`s all for CPU.

    On my rig with SkyLake-X CPU the hardware P-states - autonomous mode - are in use. But ACPI is implemented (in BIOS) in such way that I can`t switch autonomous mode on/off by the power plan.

    Other things affect processor performance though. Like how many processes (services) are running on background, how many devices are in use (the more devices the bigger impact on CPU).
     
  17. empleat

    empleat Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    geforce 780
    Yeah that's the thing, i used Ultimate performance mode with disabled idle saver and frequency, or load wasn't dipping with c-states on. Still i have feeling mouse is sluggish with c-states on. What is autonomous mode btw ?

    And i was asking more if there aren't any other hidden cpu power profile settings, that would affect performance, so you say there are not ? I found large list on github and tried to google these and it seems they were already set on highest performance, since i am using Ultimate power performance plan, so it makes sense.
    https://gist.github.com/Nt-gm79sp/1f8ea2c2869b988e88b4fbc183731693
    I initially didn't know about ultimate power plan and idle saver, so i wonder if there are any more hidden power plan settings, that could affect cpu performance.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    https://www.anandtech.com/show/9751/examining-intel-skylake-speed-shift-more-responsive-processors

    Speed Shift mode is called "autonomous" in power plans.


    I don`t know. Power settings explorer operates only on settings returned by Windows API functions.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/wt37sbsejk7iepm/PowerSettingsExplorer.zip

    I updated layout of the window just to be more clean/usable on small screens.
    Changes:
    - the size of the column "description" is not limited now, so it can span beyond the screen edge;
    - the main grid is now scrollable horizontally;
    - the (fake) grouping of settings by subgroup is more distinct now - column "subgroup" has one big cell per all settings in subgroup;
    - the detailed text about currently selected (in main grid) setting is displayed in (new) dedicated pane (editor in read only mode) between the main grid and the grid with values (text can be selected and copied to clipboard);
    - there are two splitters now - between main grid and the "detailed text" pane, and between "detailed text" pane and grid with values - both can be grabbed by mouse and moved up and down to resize corresponding parts of the window;
    - the column "group" is renamed to "subgroup" to match the power plan settings terminology (just in case, and not related to layout).

    Recently I tried to use this program on laptop with 1366x768 screen and I was (instantly) irritated by the layout of the window. So I decided to fix the layout to allow easier usage.
    Gurus with small screens can try it and comment on whether I succeeded.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
    EdKiefer and BetA like this.
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,434
    Likes Received:
    7,571
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Btw, I have noticed 3 new settings in hard disk subgroup on my Win10-2004:
    Code:
    Setting
        NVMe NOPPME (fc7372b6-ab2d-43ee-8797-15e9841f2cca)
    Description
        Enable or Disable NVMe Non-Operational Power State Permissive Mode.
    Possible values
        Off
        On
    
    Code:
    Setting
        Primary NVMe Power State Transition Latency Tolerance (fc95af4d-40e7-4b6d-835a-56d131dbc80e)
    Description
        When the NVMe device has been idle for a certain amount of time, transition to the lowest non-operational power state whose ENLAT+EXLAT value is less than or equal to the value specified by this setting.
    Range, Units
        0 .. 60000 milliseconds
    
    Code:
    Setting
        Secondary NVMe Power State Transition Latency Tolerance (dbc9e238-6de9-49e3-92cd-8c2b4946b472)
    Description
        After the NVMe device has been in the primary non-operational power state for a certain amount of time, transition to the lowest non-operational power state whose ENLAT+EXLAT value is less than or equal to the value specified by this setting.
    Range, Units
        0 .. 60000 milliseconds
    
    Before Win10-2004 there were only these two settings related to NVMe:
    Code:
    Setting
        Primary NVMe Idle Timeout (d639518a-e56d-4345-8af2-b9f32fb26109)
    Description
        Specifies the amount of time the NVMe device must be idle before transitioning to the primary non-operational power state.
    Range, Units
        0 .. 60000 milliseconds
    
    Code:
    Setting
        Secondary NVMe Idle Timeout (d3d55efd-c1ff-424e-9dc3-441be7833010)
    Description
        Specifies the amount of time the NVMe device must be in the primary non-operational power state before transitioning to the secondary non-operational power state.
    Range, Units
        0 .. 60000 milliseconds
    
    I don`t know whether new settings extend or replace old ones.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2020
    BetA likes this.

Share This Page