Windows power plan settings explorer utility

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Aug 3, 2017.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    You can check the registry value by editing same setting in Windows own dialog.
     
  2. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,157
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    I tried that but that top subgroup (none), even though you can unhide the power plan type you can't get it to show in windows power plan setting window.
    even if you set attributes to 2
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    If you unhide any other setting in that group then you will see them in dialog but the power plan type setting just gives the name of group`s root node:
    Screenshot (6).png
     
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,157
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    Ok, good to know.
    it is all good, thanks.
     

  5. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    That is expected, Windows Internals says some interrupts, such as timer ticks, are affinitized to cpu0.
     
    Chrysalis likes this.
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    I have an itch to rewrite app with WPF UI, just for practise and WPF can give much more smooth interface and WPF allows to use external file with main form markup (XAML), so that people can attach their own interface instead of mine.
     
    MerolaC likes this.
  7. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    You could consider adding the function of modifying power profiles and QoS levels. If you import OverrideA(D)cSettingIndex instead of ProvA(D)cSettingIndex, you can override preinstalled settings or remove custom settings easily without affecting anything else. Only problem is that it requires reboot to apply, which is what I missed to do long ago because power plans and overlays could apply right away.
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    And you know API for that?
     
  9. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,157
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2023
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070

  11. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    No API, but importing registry keys. For example this would set profile EcoQoS/background/utility to EPP 100 on DC, the property is override index instead of prov index, it could be added or removed without affecting any preinstalled settings:
    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\36687f9e-e3a5-4dbf-b1dc-15eb381c6863\336c7511-f109-4172-bb3a-3ea51f815ada\381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e]
    "OverrideDCSettingIndex"=dword:100
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\36687f9e-e3a5-4dbf-b1dc-15eb381c6863\33cc3a0d-45ee-43ca-86c4-695bfc9a313b\381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e]
    "OverrideDCSettingIndex"=dword:100
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00\36687f9e-e3a5-4dbf-b1dc-15eb381c6863\c04a802d-2205-4910-ae98-3b51e3bb72f2\381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e]
    "OverrideDCSettingIndex"=dword:100
    Adding override index is everything that powercfg /seta(d)cprofileindex does.
    Since power profiles and QoS levels are typically configured via provisioning package, every setting would only be stored in HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2023
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    And what other 3 GUIDs - 36687f9e-e3a5-4dbf-b1dc-15eb381c6863\336c7511-f109-4172-bb3a-3ea51f815ada\381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e - are? profile/group/setting?

    What I can add is the button to save currently changed settings into bat-file which sets registry values for one profile.
     
  13. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    36687f9e-e3a5-4dbf-b1dc-15eb381c6863: power setting
    336c7511-f109-4172-bb3a-3ea51f815ada: power profiles/QoS levels, obtained from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\Profile\Events\{54533251-82be-4824-96c1-47b60b740d00}
    381b4222-f694-41f0-9685-ff5bb260df2e: balanced plan or overlays
     
  14. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,157
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    @mbk1969
    I was wondering if your tool or you might know of an easy way to view POW plans files w/o actually installing them?
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    No. I have looked inside such file - it is not text format. And I saw no API for such files.

    But why? Install power plan and then edit it with usual means.
     

  16. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,157
    Likes Received:
    401
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    Ok, thanks.
    Just to save time and compare changes w/o installing.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
     
    BetA and даа like this.
  18. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    Obviously Windows generates DPCs for performance check…… And I doubt the necessity of doing this tweak, use a lower DPI mouse is even better for lowering latency.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,770
    Likes Received:
    13,746
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070

    For example on my rig I use hardware P-states, so those DPCs for performance check should no be generated. But if they do, then I will set that 5000ms time interval...


    And another video from that guy
     
  20. Donduck

    Donduck Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    Radeon RX Vega 7
    I won't say doing core affinity is ultimate scheduling guide, I wish people could read Windows Internals and all those boring documents before commenting on how Windows works.
     

Share This Page