1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts ...

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. pipes

    pipes Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 1080 ti oc lab
    but in msi-mode the key switch to 0x000000?
    Truth?
     
  2. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    In MSI mode the numbers we have in (#) change to (-#)
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Numbers showed in this window are not the keys. They are just presenting IRQ numbers in hexadecimal form.
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Why not to? I`d switched all that could be.
     

  5. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,360
    Likes Received:
    288
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    Sata and nic are in this msi mode. Is reason to even do any this if one has no issues or problems
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Generic reasons like curiosity, feeling of implication, desire to achieve more... The same as with overclocking, game config-file tweaking...
     
  7. pipes

    pipes Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 1080 ti oc lab
    I switched 1 to 0, is this mode I have change in msi-mode, only my Intel(R) 5 Series 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller
     
  8. pipes

    pipes Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 1080 ti oc lab
    I have change only hexadecimal number, I switched 1 to 0, is this mode I have change in msi-mode, only my Intel(R) 5 Series 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If you changed registry value MSISupported from 1 to 0, then you disabled MSI-mode for a device.
     
  10. pipes

    pipes Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 1080 ti oc lab
    ok, that way I removed the minus sign on the hardware device
     

  11. xodius80

    xodius80 Master Guru

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX780Ti
    hi guys this is a very interesting read, but i have one question, if every device i have has its own IRQ do i need this? will it provide any benefit?
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Only that.
     
  13. xodius80

    xodius80 Master Guru

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX780Ti
    ok understood, now another question, if i enable this on the video card,will i need to do so on the pciexpress ports?

    My video card shares IRQ 16 with the x58 chipset hub and one PCIEX port. since they are sharing the same IRQ 16, my logic tells me i have to enable msi so to the 3 devices in total.

    is this correct?
     
  14. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,360
    Likes Received:
    288
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    eh i just leave it as is much like the whole hpet thing. i dont feel like falling into another what if what may or could be situation.
     
  15. xodius80

    xodius80 Master Guru

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX780Ti
    it has a nice and logical explanation, its dependencies are chipset, device and driver, wich makes a lot of sense, trying out something new never hurts, espcially if you get free performance and stability out of it.

    Now in the other hand, if your system provides the speed you crave, then just dont follow the guide. =)

    Im gonna test it myself, but since the data is here, and these great guys have been tweaking with the settings longer than me, then it doenst hurt to ask them so i can take out some problems out of the equation.

    Forums are just for that, sharing knowledge and saving time.
     

  16. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,869
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    I always crave more :p

    Anyways I'm going to give this ago when I have more time. Doesn't seem hard to do, but seems a bit of a pain in the ass ... when it doesn't work and gives you a BSOD.

    My 470 GTX isn't running in MSI for starters...
     
  17. xodius80

    xodius80 Master Guru

    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX780Ti
    mine doenst too, BUT i have 2 more devices the x58 i/o Hub PCI EXPRESS ROOT PORT 3
    and the ich10 family pci express root port 1.

    those are the ones idk to mod them to MSI or not, please share your experience.
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I have switched PCI-X root ports to MSI-mode. To give you smart answer I don`t have info niether on relationship between PCI Express root ports and connected devices nor on root ports themselvs.
     
  19. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,869
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    Successfully changed my 470 GTX to MSI-mode. For some odd reason I booted a few seconds quicker could've just been an isolated fluke.
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,325
    Likes Received:
    3,833
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Be aware that (NVidia) driver installer can revert device to line-mode. It did on my rig when I`ve installed 320.18.
     

Share This Page