Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. drbaltazar

    drbaltazar Banned

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7950 3gb
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff544246(v=vs.85).aspx

    You can also use the registry to specify the maximum number of MSIs to allocate for their device. The MessageNumberLimit entry of Interrupt Management\MessageSignaledInterruptProperties is a REG_DWORD value that specifies the maximum number of MSIs to allocate. For PCI 2.2, MessageNumberLimit must be 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16. For PCI 3.0, MessageNumberLimit can be any number up to 2,048.
    my 2 is going to MessageNumberLimit
     
  2. drbaltazar

    drbaltazar Banned

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7950 3gb
    I got a question tho ~
    is cpu turbo setting (in bios)affecting video ,pace of the sound video etc
    I aint sure here but it seems like the variance turbo apply ,also vary the tempo (or whatever the term is)of a video ,music pretty much everything ?
     
  3. spyknee

    spyknee New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260/896
    Turbo in bios, with some boards, selection of turbo allows a higher multiplier for cpu OC'ing.
    Turbo in regards to ram means an adjustment to ram timings.
    ie: Standard, Turbo, Extreme

    My board has both designations.
     
  4. bubbaganoush

    bubbaganoush New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4000
    I tried this but everything that wasn't on MSI mode already didn't work when I enabled them. There was no noticeable adverse effect when enabled.

    I saw some in the thread with the PCI Express Root Port working in MSI mode but these did not work for me.

    [​IMG]
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    No big deal. Most intensive devices are in MSI-mode.
     
  6. n1hilist

    n1hilist Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 OC 2GB
    Hi, just want to express my thanks for the OP and the guy who made the MSI tool.

    Apart from my already tweaked system, this guide helped me get my audio latency even lower! Apart from gaming, I do a lot of high end audio production. If it matters to anyone, the 'next' step in my latency battles was installing the Intel RST AHCI drivers (from device manager) which default to MSI mode.

    I'm now working at super low audio latency (5ms round trip) in my audio workstation with 105 audio plugins, in realtime.

    I'm uncertain how much of a help it is for gaming, but for audio work, it's great!
     
  7. elveda

    elveda New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    P8P67 LE
    hi mbk1969,

    does it work with my mainboard or is it too "old"
    P8P67 LE
     
  8. n1hilist

    n1hilist Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 OC 2GB
    Should be fine, my board is an ASUS P8P67 M Pro which is the same chipset, I have MSI enabled on everything except USB and Firewire.
     
  9. elveda

    elveda New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    P8P67 LE
    but my mainboard dosn't have PCI 2.2
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Your board has PCI-Express which is much newer.
     

  11. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    Hi, I wanted to bump this thread with my experience , I still have sound btw.
    Default

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2014
  12. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    A question, is it possible to add MessageNumberLimit for all devices ?

    Some devices are set to 1 or 3 and changing them to max 16 gives better performance, but some devices doesn't have this key at all, would it default to 1 ?

    There is no possible to check it.
     
  13. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    I would assume default of 1.

    Never seen someone with audio that still works in MSI mode
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Do you mean manual registry editing? Or MSI-utility?

    Which devices achieved better performance with MessageNumberLimit = 16?

    If device`s registry key has no MessageNumberLimit value, and number of IRQs for this device is 1, then only one IRQ is supported. I think that in such case it doesn`t matter whether MessageNumberLimit is present or not.

    Edit: The meaning of MessageNumberLimit is limiting for those devices which supports multiple IRQs.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014
  15. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    Manual editing.

    what would give MessageNumberlimit for a network card ? cause Intel CT 1Gb has like 4-5 and is default at 3.

    By the way, the sound card worked fine in MSI mode but was going crazy when trying to change settings in the Creative Control Panel everything freeze or being terribly slow, removing MSI mode bring it back to work without issues.
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Afaik, number of IRQs (i.e. number of messages) shows how many independent simultaneous interrupts can be issued by card. If device without MessageNumberlimit uses multiple IRQs but works wrong you can set limit at which all is ok.

    I think you as a home user will unlikely gain big performance improvement for a NIC because its load is unlikely huge. But in case of any enterprise or internet server improvement can be huge.
     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,341
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I had weird issue with a USB keyboard (generic Dell) last week .
    I kept getting messages of driver updating and device unknown for KB .

    unplugging and repluging didn't help it was like KB was getting disconnected and reconnected every sec .
    A reboot fixed it temporary but then after few days came back . I moved it to a usb3 port and i was expecting it not to work in bios but it does work fine .

    Didn't try unplugging power cord .

    Anyway, here my IRQ i have a lot on #16 , just updated SATA which moved from 19>-2 .

    http://i.imgur.com/jpHakft.jpg

    to bad can't change the USB host controller IE2D one .
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Have you tried the tweak on videocard? I see it shares IRQ with many other devices.
     
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,341
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    not yet and do you do just the vid or the PCI express port controller(0151 )connected at same time ?

    Seems others have not had any issue with NV vids and I figure the worst would be to run off i5-3570k integrated graphic if vid didn't display .

    I am just thinking if new driver coming out, might wait an see on that.
    System run fine since moving to USB3 , I didn't move back yet to see how that goes .
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If videocard works OK you may not be of great concern about that tweak.
    I did all PCI express root ports and all other PCI stuff (only USBv3 controllers were switched successfully). At home rig I did tweak out of sport interest, but work rig is quite weak so it gained a little by this...
     

Share This Page