Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Was MSI tool listing MSI mode in supported modes column for IDE controller? I doubt it...
     
  2. elaganza

    elaganza Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380

    https://ibb.co/Lrx6QKb
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2021
  3. FronteRBumpeR

    FronteRBumpeR New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 2070 Super

    Thank you, I will get back to you shortly with the text reports. In the meantime, I'm slightly confused on the 'actual' IRQ # of a driver / device put into MSI mode.
    Is the negative number in the v3 utility just to signify that it is in MSI mode?

    or is the entire number / numerical value under system.info the true value?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    IDE is an legacy interrupt based controller, there is no support for MSI's in the system IDE drivers.

    XFI has no support what so ever for message signalled interrupts, so this is unlikely.
     

  5. elaganza

    elaganza Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380

    https://ibb.co/Lrx6QKb

    You can see here that X-Fi set to Msi mode and it worked ~1 hour but it made some noise and stopped play music. After a while it play again. I think last driver on this card either latest windows 10 drivers model made it possible. Anyway i back x-fi to linebased(( And maybe this is my bug)) but it seemed to me that a micro-delay appeared when open window, apps, explorer.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2021
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    only the UAA driver is capable of running with MSI's because its effectively in Intel HDA configuration.

    the WDM multikernel driver is not capable of operating in MSIs.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2021
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    System Info shows the same value as MSI tool just in unsigned format of integer number. You can see hexadecimal representation of negative integer IRQ number in Device Manager (switch the view to "Resources by type").
    For signed 32 bit integer: -20 = 0xFFFFFFEC
    For unsigned 32 bit integer: 0xFFFFFFEC = 4294967276.
    You can translate yourself.
    Run calculator, switch the view to "Programmer", select the width of the number "QWORD" (64 bits), switch the input to hexadecimal ("HEX") and input "FFFFFFEC" - you will see "4 294 967 276" in decimal format.
    [​IMG]

    Then click on "QWORD" to switch to "DWORD" (32 bit) and you will see "-20" in decimal format ("DEC")
    [​IMG]

    System Info is legacy software, so I guess they did not update it to reflect negative IRQ numbers.
    Use Device Manager instead.
     
  8. bbacks26

    bbacks26 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    What priority should I use for my 2080ti in MSI mode? High or Undefined? Please explain
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Better no mess with interrupt priorities. You can try, of course, but we have not seen any gain.
     
  10. JimmyThunder

    JimmyThunder Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3070
    Ive had insane lag and stutter with my 3070. Seems to be having conflicts with my audio and internet.

    I played around with the priorities and it's dropped my spikes a massive amount in latencymon. I'm hoping to fix my interrupts..

    Are there any ideal priorities or is it better to leave it as default?
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If you managed to improve situation then stay on your settings.
    There can`t be ideal interrupt parameters because all rigs are different.
     
  12. Morini

    Morini Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    6900XT 16GB
    This is probably the wrong place to look for help, but I'm kinda desperate. Ever since I swapped my GTX970 to a 6900XT (quite the leap) I've been having problems with freezes/audio pops. My DPC latency spikes up to an insane 27k usecs caused by dxgkrnl.sys when the problem occurs. I've tried all of the basic troubleshooting steps, clean Windows and driver installs, different settings and drivers, but found nothing that would fix the problem. The only thing that eliminates the lag spikes completely is swapping the GPU back to the GTX970. Although I've found some weird things that seem to make the spikes occur less often, like using only one monitor and playing in windowed / borderless instead of full screen.

    I'm thinking of RMAing the card but I'm not sure if the problem is in the card, or is something else in my system busted and the increased stress on the components from the more powerful card breaks something.

    Any advice?

    My specs:
    Windows 10 Pro 21H1
    MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
    Ryzen 5 5600X
    32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600Mhz
    PowerColor Red Devil 6900XT
    Western Digital 1TB WD Black SN750 NVMe SSD
    Fractal Design Ion+ 860W Platinum

    Trace report: https://pastebin.com/iYD0RQ30
     
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    RMA the CPU, it has a bad IO Chiplet. (or lock PCIE to 3.0)
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @Morini

    Have you tried to clean NV leftovers with DDU?
    Also you can do following steps:
    - while on NV card go to device settings (in Device Manager) and force driver change to ""Standard VGA" (or something like that);
    - reboot;
    - uninstall NV software through Control Panel (or Settings);
    - turn power off;
    - swap to AMD card.
     
  15. Morini

    Morini Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    6900XT 16GB
    I have used DDU multiple times and also a clean Windows install. I also tried multiple driver versions and tried installing while offline to stop Windows from interfering.
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,151
    Likes Received:
    8,686
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Then something is wrong in your rig (at least for AMD card).
     
  17. Morini

    Morini Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    6900XT 16GB
    I've tried locking the PCIE to 3.0 and disabling/enabling ReBAR, but neither seemed to help.
     

Share This Page