1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. lllFATAL1TY

    lllFATAL1TY Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N780 Lightning
    i didn't know that, understood now


    so, may i uninstall them? (i'm using 2 pci slots on my mobo: 1 PCI-E 16x 3.0 for GFX + 1 PCI-E 1x 2.0 for sound card)

    i installed Intel RST Driver during Windows 8.1 installation (clicking in Load Driver in this screen > hxxp://i.imgur.com/OA8EGIS.jpg )
    this > hxxp://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=23496

    is that what you mean? or you mean the INF:
    hxxp://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=20775

    INF i don't installed, i have to?

    right, i got the exe


    and what about the "bcdedit /set" optimizations? have to change something? or left default/untouched?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You can disable them first (to check). You can switch Device manager to view "Devices by connection" to be sure that no devices dongle at bridge.

    You have to. Fisrt - chipset drivers, next - RST

    All those strange devices could be eliminated by inf installer.


    I wouldn`t...
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2014
  3. spyknee

    spyknee New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260/896
    Please to explain? ie msi at 1 vs 2.

    I have put into MSI mode what I can. Even tho my machine is only PCI-e 1.0, it allowed me to switch over most PCI devices but my USB, which is only 2.0.
    I use HPET enabled. There was no measurable latency improvement. But it certainly did not hurt.
    Just wondering what else I can do for online mmo gaming improvement.
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    So guess I can keep all alone then?
    [​IMG]

    It was already enabled by Nic, Sata, IME and main usb host
     

  5. lllFATAL1TY

    lllFATAL1TY Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N780 Lightning

    ok, i have installed INF and disabled useless devices


    i have to install Intel Management Engine Interface (9.5.15.1730) too? > gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4483#dl
    *i don't know its purpose


    and as i use iGPU only for record gameplays, can i install Intel VGA Driver doing this > tny.cz/623d6fbe
    instead install by run .exe ? (it's because i don't want any "extra" - Intel Control Panel, etc. - only want the "raw" driver)


    Thx and sry for my poor english :)
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  7. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Still alive lol, worked ok

    [​IMG]
     
  8. iafro89

    iafro89 Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    HD 6950/70
    Does your audio work, cause when I switch my creative driver to msi mode I get no audio.
     
  9. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Was just about to edit my post,

    yeah XFI doesnt like it, no sound.
     
  10. tappingbowl

    tappingbowl Master Guru

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    -Tj-, also try turning on MSI-mode for 'High Definition Audio Controller'. It is Nvidia Audio, coming from GPU.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Also if you actually use Asmedia SATA controller you can try to tweak it too, because I see both of them share IRQs (16 and 17) with another devices .
     
  12. lllFATAL1TY

    lllFATAL1TY Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N780 Lightning
    "So download the latest IMEI drivers from Intel's website, open the EXE with WinRAR or 7-Zip, and extract the Drivers folder. Inside, you'll find a subfolder containing HECI.inf, and that's what you can install using Device Manager."

    this is it?


    Thx :)
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Upgrade?
    Direct connection to the game server?
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  14. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I have it "disabled" in audio control panel, dont use it. I think it won't make a difference or will it?

    Hm ok will try, although im not using it, only for dvd-rw. Tnx :)

    Edit: nah not good, it disabled basic ATA channel0, 1 and says device couldn't start.


    @lllFATAL1TY

    Its up to you which you want, I just showed you the latest version.

    I updated mine via device manager, just extracted main folder and then pinpointed that in IME "update driver..."
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It has IRQ (17) shared with other devices. To avoid the sharing you can disable it or switch to MSI mode. Other devices will be glad.



    Out of curiosity - have you installed latest Asmedia drivers? This MSI mode is no big deal.
     

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,384
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I tried some new v2.0 once but it could bsod, so I reverted to old 1.04?..


    Yeah I enabled hdmi anyway. :)
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If they work don`t bother. Ancient wisdom - if it works don`t touch it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  18. drbaltazar

    drbaltazar Banned

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7950 3gb
    When you set MSI in regedit ?(as ms recommend)in most occasion it reset said component .so make sure you have a way to remember your personalization.ya its like starting fresh .what I recommend ?dont touch anything but those that can read and write simultaneously!set those enabled(1)and max message to 2 should be plenty(CPU ,GPU mostly )sorry if I don't repeat the step ,it was covered in all possible ways in this thread ,if I recall I even supplied ms link.

    PS:about the Intel software (rst or whatever)read their advice in there!one of them :if you update something disable rst first.which will likely need a restart!

    My wisdom:clean install at the end or start of gaming season (and use ms tool to keep your setting if you use windows)
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2014
  19. spyknee

    spyknee New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260/896
    Not needed.
    Its an internet game, 350 players real time.

    But the question is, what does using the value of 2 do concerning the MSI adoption? Its not MSI-X. I manually input the registry for all possible pci devices.
    LAT Mon 6 has ISR values at 25/- pico secs.

    or maybe I misunderstood where/how the value 2 is being applied.

    Not a programmer or developer. Just an enthusiast. Did the initial MSI adoption several weeks ago. Didn't hurt, wondered about 2?
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2014
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    4,540
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It was humor...


    Don`t waste your time on other MSI mode aspects tweaking. You should optimize network stuff. And also get rid of unneeded applications/services running on background.

    Heve you browsed Von Dach`s thread?
     

Share This Page