Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  2. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,787
    Likes Received:
    1,329
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    The latest cards support it by default.
     
  3. xShino

    xShino Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Can I safely disable MSI Mode on my M2 NVME which has the OS installed?

    Sorry if this has been asked before, I couldn't find an answer.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2021
  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Why? It does not work in legacy mode?
     
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    many nvme controllers don't actually support IntX emulation or are significantly impared by using it due to the lack of Interrupt aggregation.

    So i can't reply with "Yes" to the question of it being safe without knowing the devices controller, history of issues, etc.
     
  7. xShino

    xShino Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Ok I guess I won't touch it for now.

    But is it normal that every device shares IRQ 16 after disabling MSI Mode? GPU, LAN, Audio, IMEI, USB ... seems a bit weird to me.
     
  8. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Why disable it though?
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    3,890
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Yes, your mainboard manual has a picture of the physical irq's that are used.

    Common X2Apic platforms have 2 independant irq providers that permits usage of the same IRQ without the same levels of issues (as well as irq steering).

    all of these parts are natively all msi's though so you've just turned on emulation rather than turned off msi (excluding usb 2.x, which is an irq signalled controller)
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If Windows is working without issues with IRQ 16 shared among all those devices then it is normal.
    It is not normal from performance point of view, because IRQ sharing adds latencies.
     

  11. Matrixqw

    Matrixqw New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260 1GB
    I'm using Windows 10 20H2.

    SATA interrupt priority is set to high by default, wich I can understand.
    Ethernet is also but I'm not so sure about this one. Wouldn't this deteriorate other devices while playing online since it is always transmiting?
    This makes more sense for servers but not for desktop users.

    Also, the Interrupt Affinity Policy Tool shows that SATA is set to 'SpreadMessagesAcrossAllProcessors' but it is not doing anything since SATA doesn't support MSI-X.
    Wouldn't it be better to set 'AllProcessorsInMachine' ?
    Anyway to check if affinity is working?
    All interrupts go to cpu 0. What about setting ethernet interrupts to the last cpu?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2021
  12. xShino

    xShino Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I have disabled stuff just for testing purposes. I feel like disabling most of the MSI Modes makes mouse feel more natural, but can't say much because I am still testing.

    How do I avoid IRQ sharing other than MSI Mode, are some mainboards better in that way? How can I know without buying different kind of motherboards?
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    In old days you could change IRQ number in device`s properties dialog. Nowadays you can`t.
     
  14. Yosh1979

    Yosh1979 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT
    Hi Folks,

    short Questions, when i use the MSI Tool there ist HD Audio Controller with this Subsys

    PCI\VEN_1022&DEV_1487&SUBSYS_87C51043&REV_00\4&231A312E&0&0441

    but in Device Manager there ist Realtek(R) Audio with Subsys

    HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_1168&SUBSYS_104387C5&REV_1001

    so when i change the MSI Setting for HDA Controller, has this an Effect or not? Same Root Device?

    upload_2021-5-29_8-21-5.png

    The Problem is, that i have a Audio Delay that is very annoying, especially in Games.
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    "VEN_1022" is AMD. I assume that this audio controller is on videocard. You can check that by comparing "Location: PCI-Bus 12, Gerat 0, Funktion 4" of audio controller with location of Radeon (it should be like "Location: PCI-Bus 12, Gerat 0, Funktion 0" - same PCI-Bus and Gerat but different Funktion).

    PS You can double-click on any device and tool should bring its registry key.
     

  16. Yosh1979

    Yosh1979 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT
    Your´re right but where is the Realtek Driver? It´s not there...

    i found it in Registry but there are no MSI Parameters in there
    upload_2021-5-29_13-21-22.png

    I must disable all audio enhancements , than it´s not delayed Audio. But that could not be the Solution, cause i use sonic Studio and Nahimic a lot.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Here is hardware ID of my Realtek audio controller: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_1168&SUBSYS_10438733&REV_1000
    And instance ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_1168&SUBSYS_10438733&REV_1000\4&87D3799&0&0001

    Just launch MSI tool, find instance with "HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_1168" and switch it to MSI mode (that will add MSI parameters to registry), reboot.

    PS It can be that Realtek device is not in MSI tool, because it does not live under the "PCI" registry key. I do not see it on my rig, but instead I see this:
    Code:
    Device PNP properties
        Display name    : High Definition Audio Controller
        Manufacturer    : Microsoft
        Location    : PCI bus 0, device 31, function 3
        Instance ID    : PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_A2F0&SUBSYS_87331043&REV_00\3&11583659&0&FB
        PDO name    : \Device\NTPNP_PCI0113
        Driver version    : 10.0.19041.1
        Driver inf-path    : hdaudbus.inf
        Driver provider    : Microsoft
        Driver rank    : 16719878
    Device PCI properties
        PCI device type    : PciConventional
        Interrupt modes    : LineBased, Msi
        Max MSI limit    : 1
    
    It pretends to be an Intel device.
     
  18. Yosh1979

    Yosh1979 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT
    I am on a Ryzen System and i found it under HDAUDIO in Registry. The Problem there are no Interrupt Policies. So i can´t change it right? In MSI Tool is no Entry for this Device.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,809
    Likes Received:
    8,064
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    What is written in details of "High Definition Audio Bus" (in MSI tool)?

    (You can select the text and copy-and-paste it here.)
     
  20. Yosh1979

    Yosh1979 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT
    I have two ,

    this:

    upload_2021-5-29_19-11-41.png
    upload_2021-5-29_19-11-54.png

    and this:

    upload_2021-5-29_19-12-18.png
    upload_2021-5-29_19-12-35.png
     

Share This Page