Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. bbacks26

    bbacks26 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    What’s the general consensus on using Hardware Accelerated GPU Scheduling with MSI mode? On/off?
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I suspect no one made such investigation.
    I disabled HAGS for now...
     
  3. empleat

    empleat Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    geforce 780
    Weird MSI_util_v3 checksum doesn't match. I tried even vpn and I get always this: 8D14BF0E4C4DA80E9DEE83763977FD37 for MD5 in PS

    While v2 matches!

    I recently got RTX 3070, finally by default in MSI :D
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I use that site to calculate http://onlinemd5.com and there the checksum for v3 is DC46BBB8CA57B722D0CA1BF38F110683.
     

  5. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    285
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I to checked after seeing post and for me V2 matched fine but V3 didn't. I used Nirsoft HashMyFiles, this too also gives SHA-1 and SHA-256.
    So I also checked Virustotal as I remember they give a number, and that seems to be SHA-256 as it matches with Nirsoft tool values.
    that's weird to get two values from the same file, right?

    PS: as long as it matches your files, that is all that counts.
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  6. Ancymon

    Ancymon Active Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    GTX 1070

    I checked a few sites and only 'onlinemd5.com' calc DC46BBB8CA57B722D0CA1BF38F110683...

    ...and i found this:
    Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/ps3homebrew/wiki/md5

    - - -

    Btw, about the limit value...

    AMD ( probably all cards ) & NV ( not all cards use MSI support add reg code by def ) set it to '1'.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2021
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    It can be, but using the same site (for hash) guarantees the secure state of files. (I added that sentence to OP.)
     
  8. dweed

    dweed New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi R5770 Hawk 1Gb
    Should I enable both HD audio controller and Broadcomm NIC ?
    I read few pages back, that SB card and Killer nic are known for causing troubles.
    On my system SB Z on MSI mode, randomly loud buzzing sound then BSOD
     

    Attached Files:

  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Try them with MSI mode.
    Also you can turn "High Definition Audio Controller" and Broadcom WiFi controller.
     
    dweed likes this.
  10. AlexRuston

    AlexRuston New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GEFORCE RTX 2080 8G

    hey dude, the link you posted for the interrupt affinity policy tool no longer works http://download.microsoft.com/downl...ef1dae939e/interrupt_affinity_policy_tool.msi it says " 404 - File or directory not found. The resource you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable " I can't find any other working links anywhere, is there any other way to install interrupt affinity policy tool or do you know of any working links ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2021

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super

    https://www.mediafire.com/file/6ma71e86cg27wmd/Interrupt_Affinity_Policy_Tool.msi/file
     
    AlexRuston likes this.
  12. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 FE
    Hu guys

    This tool was working fine even only a week ago.

    Now when launching it I get "Requested registry access is not allowed" and it only shows gpu + soundcard, other devices missing.
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Do you launch it as administrator (just in case)?

    I just checked and it is working fine here...
     
  14. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    Probably OK.

    FYI The NVIDIA drivers put my 3090 FE in MSI mode by default.
     
  15. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 FE
    yep its as admin, I get the UAC prompt and approve it.

    If I dont run as admin I get the same error and see nothing at all, if I run as admin I get the error and see gpu, soundcard and hdmi audio.
     

  16. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 FE
    Yep for me I actually dont need to touch anything, by default gpu, sata, usb, network all MSI mode. My soundcard isnt but that isnt compatible.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Then registry keys for some PCI-E devices became unavailable due to access level.
    I already wrote a workaround for such registry cases in large page tweak tool, and theoretically speaking I can paste that workaround code here in MSI tool...
     
  18. Chrysalis

    Chrysalis Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 FE
    That would be awesome if you can do that thank you.

    It is odd as it used to work on this pc and is fine on my other two win10 devices.
     
  19. Stefan Ganderils

    Stefan Ganderils New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6G
    Hello. Are the parameters set correctly? Better not to edit PCI Root?
    [​IMG]
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    9,259
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    You can check registry (sub)keys under the "Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\PCI" for access level (manually).
    I will do workaround (soon)...
     

Share This Page