Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. XTCfly

    XTCfly New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    so is msi better as legacy mode ?
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Of course it is better - it is a native mode for PCI-E bus and devices. But some devices (or their drivers) can glitch in MSI mode. And some devices can even support only legacy mode - like USB2 controllers, like SATA controllers in Windows 7 and 8.
     
  3. XTCfly

    XTCfly New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    is this good so ? and thx for the tool :3 [​IMG]
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    You can switch High Definition Audio Controller into MSI mode too.
    And be aware that each installation of NVIDIA drivers reverts videocard (its drivers) back to legacy mode.
     

  5. XTCfly

    XTCfly New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    if i switch High Definition Audio Controller into MSI whats the effect then ? thx mbk1969
     
  6. Cippo95

    Cippo95 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6GB
    I have registered just to thank you @mbk1969 for the useful info about IRQ vs MSI.
    I have fixed my audio randomly glitching on Windows 10 enabling it for my GTX 1060.
     
    Smough and mbk1969 like this.
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Probably, you will not notice the effect, but the device will work a bit more efficiently. I mean if you decided to switch one device to MSI mode, why not try all devices that report the compatibility with MSI mode?
     
  8. Smough

    Smough Master Guru

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    Don't go setting all drivers to "high" thinking you will get a super boost in performance. On "high" it made things worse for me, just leave the priorities as they come and just set the GPU and Audio devices to MSI and leave them as undefined, then try your system. Then try the GPU MSI Mode on high and see what results you get. Don't set it on high from the get go or it will be hard to troubleshoot for you.
     
  9. XTCfly

    XTCfly New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    ok thx trying it out ^^
     
  10. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    hey,

    i now also used this fine tool..

    [​IMG]

    I only activated it for the SOUND and GFX Card so far, the rest was allready set at MSI mode..

    so far everything is ok.. but, could someone explain what exactly does teh interrupt priority?
    What is is set when on undefinied?
    should i set all of em to high? or medium?


    Thanks for teh Answers.. :p
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @BetA

    Do not set them all to high.
    "Undefined" means priority default for that device.
    Priority means literally priority of interrupts from this device - interrupts from devices with high priority should be serviced with higher priority.

    PS Be aware that each NVIDIA drivers installation reverts videocard back to legacy mode.
     
    Smough and BetA like this.
  12. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ok, thank you very much..

    i guess GFX and SATA AHCI should be at high...
    lets test.
     
  13. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    ok, so far its all good i guess. But i knew i shouldnt start going into that rabbithole again.. still i did..
    the latency issues.....

    Latency is not ok it seems.. something is freaking out the system.. and i dont know what it is.
    here are some screens... maybe someone knows where i can solve teh clear Problem with the "Wdf01000.sys". this is freaking me out^^

    sorry, some pics are blurry.. (DSR)

    First one. All is good from what it looks like.. really nice and all...
    [​IMG]

    Then, as soon as i press a button on the keyboard or move the mouse, this happens:
    [​IMG]

    Wdf01000.sys acting out.. and its worse..
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    ISR Count is bad i guess...



    I tried diff. USB Ports since my Keyboard and mouse are via USB. i tried diff. drivers, etc. i even disabled teh usb hardware in device manager and BIOS wich i dont need.. still the same..

    If anyone knows something i really apprichiate all teh help i can get.


    Best Regards^^
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @BetA

    Relax, there are no bad readings in your screenshots.
    And Wdf01000.sys is just part of driver framework (offered to developers by Microsoft). So it is not a driver for some device. Any drivers can utilise it.
     
    BetA likes this.
  15. franpa

    franpa Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyt 760 4GB WForce x3
    Feature Request: Keyboard navigation support for reaching the "Apply" button.

    Also forewarning to everyone else, don't disable MSI for your USB 3.2 hardware unless you have some USB 3.0 or older hardware accessible.

    Cool to see you still offering support for this stuff 7 years later mbk1969.
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/2kkkvko7e75opce/MSI_util_v2.zip/file

    Press "Alt" and you will see the first letters in both buttons became underscored. So pressing "Alt+R" will refresh, and "Alt+A" will apply. Not navigation support but should do the trick.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Also I have added MD5 hash for zip-file at the OP.
     
  18. Mike6T

    Mike6T New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Ti
    Should i change something?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    8,048
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Not "should", especially if your system works fine for you. But if you are curious then the priority would be the Ethernet controller. Audio controllers could too.
     
  20. Mike6T

    Mike6T New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Ti
    I changed a bit and took the second test.

    When I change Audio to MSI Mode then the system doesn't see my AIM SC 808.

    Also, I read on this thread I shouldn't mess with killer network.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page