Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @MrGTX690

    You don`t need safe mode to do MSI tweak.
    Set MSISupported=0 for both videocards.
    First you should solve the problem with drivers. Re-install drivers which worked normally with clean install option checked. May be use DDU before.

    You want me to implement alternative device manager?
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,906
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    The problem with his 690's might be an issue nvidia drivers have with the PLX bridge between the gpu's and pcie slot, the fix for this issue, which also affects sli gpu's and mobo's with the plx and titan Z is to set msi, but he can't change the msi setting with the util while the gpu's are code 43 as they don't appear in the list.
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    He opened registry at correct keys so he can do it manually. I doubt`MSI mode will solve problems with HW and/or drivers.
     
  4. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690
    @ Astyanax That's correct, keyword PLX. That's why I have two pictures in which only in safemode the GTX 690 are displayed.

    The idea of @Astyanax would be to display the graphics card with error code 43 to change. Is this possible in normal mode?

    In short, I do not get a driver for my graphics card from the year 2012 in today's OS. Not with old and not with new drivers. Can MSI Tooling help me at all?

    Thanks for your advice

    [​IMG] https://ibb.co/YQbjH7T
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    MSI tool can help only with correctly working devices/drivers.

    Update: I downloaded latest NV drivers for Win10 and here it is - in inf-files:

    NVIDIA_DEV.1188 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690"
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1188% = Section022, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1188
    [Section022]
    AddReg = nv_DRS_addreg
    AddReg = nv_commonBase_addreg__02
    AddReg = nv_commonDisplayModes_addreg
    AddReg = nv_global_addreg
    AddReg = nv_miscBase_addreg__04
    AddReg = nv_opengl_addreg__02
    AddReg = nv_timingRestrictions_addreg__02
    CopyFiles = nv_Drs_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_containerSetup_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_cplSetup_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_driverstore_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_license_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_nvsmi_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_openCL_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_sysDrivers_RS_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_sysDrivers_copyfiles
    CopyFiles = nv_system32_RS_copyfiles__04
    CopyFiles = nv_system32_copyfiles__04
    CopyFiles = nv_syswow64_RS_copyfiles__04
    CopyFiles = nv_syswow64_copyfiles__02
    CopyFiles = nv_telemetry_RS_copyfiles__01
    DelFiles = nv_nvsmi_delfiles
    DelFiles = nv_sysDrivers_delfiles__02
    DelFiles = nv_system32_delfiles__04
    DelFiles = nv_system64_delfiles__03
    DelFiles = nv_syswow64_delfiles__03
    DelReg = nv_clearRegistrySwitches_delreg
    FeatureScore = D1
    NVAllowMCVirtualAudioPreStage = 0
    NVSupportAnsel = 1
    NVSupportDisplayUpdate = 1
    NVSupportGFExperienceExtendedOptions = 1
    NVSupportGFExperienceUDA = 1
    NVSupportPhysx = 1
    NvSupportMSHybrid = 1
    NvSupportTelemetry = 1
    RegisterDLLs = nv_common_registerdll

    [Section022.CoInstallers]
    AddReg = nv_commonCoinstaller_addreg
    CopyFiles = nv_coinstaller_copyfiles

    [Section022.GeneralConfigData]
    MaximumDeviceMemoryConfiguration = 128
    MaximumNumberOfDevices = 4

    [Section022.Services]
    AddService = nvlddmkm, 0x00000002, nv_nvlddmkm_serviceInstallRS__01,nv_nvlddmkm_RS_eventlogging
    DelService = nvkflt, 0x00000200
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  6. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690
    Hello mbk1969,
    I have implemented your note and gemodded the .inf of the current driver 441.12. As can be seen in the picture, both GPUs were transferred to MSI for a short moment. One GPU made it into the IRG (-8) and the other remained with IRG (17). After restarting the old picture (code 43). I'm still active in 2 other communities on this topic. As of Oct / Nov 2019, there are fundamental driver issues, especially with legacy grapic cards. I can not understand that a flagship with over $ 1000 from 2012 7 years later can not run anymore. What has changed since a few months ago? In the ecosystem of Windows the Build 1903 included .net 4.8. and DirectX 12. Nice new world.

    Thank you for listening.

    [​IMG] https://ibb.co/6BFYjdV
     
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,906
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i think the card might have failed, i've seen nother 690 user running the current drivers without issue.
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You don`t have to mod inf-files in drivers - they include your videocard as it is.
    I see that both GPUs share 17 IRQ, and may be it should work this way. May be such double GPU videocard can`t work in MSI mode. Does videocard work without MSI mode?
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,906
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    It does work in msi mode, its the workaround specified in https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/ans...rror-when-using-multiple-gpus-on-motherboards for dual gpu boards and sli on motherboards with such a chip
     
  10. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    What do you mean "not your videocard"?
    We see in inf-file "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1188" - that`s the same Hardware ID as we see in your registry key - "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1188&SUBSYS_84061043&REV_A1".

    Have you tried installation through device manager - forcing installation of extracted drivers (aka "have disk" option)?

    The link from Astyanax is not about fixing not-working card. It is about tweaking working card.
     
  12. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690
    Hi, i scan "GTX 690" for ASUS the nvami.inf in extracted drivers 441.12 ./Nvidia.Drivers. And this graphic card-string is not available.

    However, I do install extracted driver via aka "have disk" option. But it stays with the old Code 43, again.
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Why do you scan that particular inf-file? There are tons of inf-files in that folder. And I found the strings I posted above in one of them. ASUS has nothing to do with hardware of the videocard.
    Try to clean your rig from NV stuff. You can manually switch videocard to driver "Standard VGA Adapter" or "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter" (with reboot). And then get rid of NVIDIA driver packages (stored in the system) with the help of DriveStoreExporer. Or just use DDU.
     
  14. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690
    Hi,
    you were right, it has nothing to do with ASUS. The string is contained in nv_dispi.inf and in nvdmi.inf. Sry.
    I have DDU and DriveStorageExplorer applied for cleaning in safemode. Then I tried with DriveStorageExplorer to load the driver packages into the system. Then with the Device Manager on the VGA driver update in the extracted folder Display.Driver from driver 441.12 the file nvdmi.inf taken. Installation was successful, at least only for 1 of 2 GPU (picture). Restart and again code 43. I think I move in a circle 100 times. I put my GPU in another slot. Let's see what happens.

    [​IMG] https://ibb.co/GnSKJfL
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Another slot.
    Another computer.
    Windows clean installation.
     
    Caesar likes this.

  16. MrGTX690

    MrGTX690 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX690
    @Another slot == unsuccessful
    @Windows clean installation == 5 times in Win10, 2 times in Win7 unsuccessful
    @Another computer == in Progress
    @Suicide == an option ;D
    @Another Card == realistic
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I reckon you should get card with RTX support - more and more games with that tech (less and games with SLI support). And I suspect even single 2060 will match 690 in raw power (plus less space, less heat, less load on PSU, less frame time problems).

    PS I advise NVIDIA only because I familiar with it. AMD cards are out of my attention.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  18. kman

    kman Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    [​IMG]
    Out of curiosity.What does the number under the "limit" column mean?It seems my SSD info and number changed after I downloaded the Driver for my SSD.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2019
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,988
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    That`s not driver for SSD, that`s driver for NVMe controller (Samsung one).
    Limit column shows the limit for messages (MSIs) as it set in registry. Standard driver sets 65, Samsung`s driver sets 2048.
    In practical terms it means nothing to you because your NVMe controller does not use multiple messages (MSIs).

    PS But I am sure Samsung`s driver is better.

    PPS You can try to switch videocard into MSI mode. And audio controllers too.
     
  20. kman

    kman Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    I tried it like 2 months ago but I unticked them back because I barely saw any improvements.Maybe an extra 50 points in superposition benchmark.Stutter wise all the games that had it before still had it.

    Have you ever had someone report they are getting worst performance or more stutter from having the gpu/ audio controllers set to msimode?
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2019

Share This Page