Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. edward05

    edward05 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus RX580
    @mbk1969

    I have put my gpu in MSI mode, But i see x2 High Definition Audio Controller would it be worth putting them into msi mode aswell ?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    One of the High Definition Audio Controllers is NVIDIA videocard`s own audio output of HDMI/DP. You can view in Device manager the Hardware ID of audio controllers, and for NVIDIA one Hardware ID should contain NVIDIA`s vendor ID - "VEN_10DE" (like "PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_...").
    Anyway, you can switch both audio controllers into MSI mode and check whether you get audio.
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  3. edward05

    edward05 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus RX580
    Yeah i switched both and got audio,

    There actually both Nvidia
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You mean there is no integrated audio card in your motherboard?
     
    MoKiChU likes this.

  5. edward05

    edward05 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus RX580
    There is but from what i can see in device manager both belong to my RTX 2060 unless i'am looking at it wrong
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Realtek integrated sound card, vendor ID = VEN_10EC
    [​IMG]

    NVIDIA "sound card", vendor ID = VEN_10DE
    [​IMG]

    NVIDIA video card, vendor ID = VEN_10DE
    [​IMG]
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  7. edward05

    edward05 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus RX580
    @mbk1969

    I will have a look tomorrow but i was thinking one might have been mic i have a ath2020+ would that be listed as hd audio i wonder

    Also i was doing some searching on power throttling would you recommend disabling it ?

    Cheers
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Power throttling on what?
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  9. edward05

    edward05 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus RX580
    https://winaero.com/blog/disable-power-throttling-windows-10-1709/

    Ok so for the audio in msi mode for me to find exactly what irq my mobo audio was on i had to disable it in bios and your utility only showed one upon reboot and it was irq 17 audio so i put the audio that was on irq 16 to msi mode because it disappeared from your utlity
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    MoKiChU likes this.

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    yes it does.
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    How? Not a single process is marked as throttled.
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    now restart task manager and look for System Interrupts.

    All my 10 machines have throttling enabled on that with performance power profile, other processes can use it with the low power profile so long as its not disabled with a global policy.
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    And? That was not the point of the feature. Also I made all steps for disabling this power throttling feature and nothing changes (while they supposedly should disable it globally).
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If Windows offered an API then you could say "processes can use it". I suspect processes do not use it - OS kernel decides which process to throttle.

    When I discovered that feature here at guru3d I went to task manager and there was not a single throttled process, and I use balanced power profile. I have not tried power saver plan, may be there some processes would be throttled.
     
    MoKiChU likes this.

  16. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    Hello, i am on the road of getting my system to eliminate any microstutter and get the best frametimes of any game. my DPC latency is very good (around 10-40max ns idle)
    [​IMG]
    Any advice on this? Should i remove the double xHCI entries from device manager? I also thought of putting AHCI controller interrupt on "normal" and GPU on High. Am i doing right?
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If you do not use xHCI controller (or any other controller) then you can disable it in BIOS (or in Device manager) - just to decrease the work for OS.

    Also you can try to switch both High Definition Audio Controllers to MSI mode.

    As for interrupt priority, try and test. I would set both to High, but I failed to see a difference, so you should try it yourself.
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  18. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    xHCI hand-off was already off. I tried to disable xHCI controller and now i have no keyboard message on start up :/ whatever doesn't seem to make a difference, same thing for GPU on High.
    Instead WOW. Setting both xHCI controller to "High" priority made a real difference in input lag... WOW.
    Also setting AHCI to "undefined priority" seem to have helped in AC origins stutters.

    I recommend those settings to any gamer. Switch your drives controller from High to "Undefined" and let the OS handle it. Switch USB controllers to High priority to enjoy low input lag. As for GPU priority IDK but it's not giving me problems so i'll leave it as it is.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    You can detect which USB controller is not used by switching the view from "Devices by type" to "Devices by connection" in Device manager. Just in case.
     
    MoKiChU likes this.
  20. SputNick

    SputNick Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    nVidia GT 610
    Is there any advantage of messing around with "Interrupt Priority"? Is high or low better or better leave it as it is?
     
    toyo likes this.

Share This Page