Windows: Line-Based vs. Message Signaled-Based Interrupts. MSI tool.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, May 7, 2013.

  1. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    No you don't have to do that.
     
  2. DanEVO7

    DanEVO7 Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Duke 2080 Ti
    Hi
    I managed to change sound blaster to MSI successfully.
    Intel network controller and GPU RX 480 was on MSI by default
    But SATA controller although has the reg key to MSISupported "1", in device manager has a possitive number "(PCI) 0x00000013 (19)". Also in "MessageSignaledInterruptProperties" key, except "MSISupported" value, there are some more values: "0x00000010" string name with no data, "MessageNumberLimit" DWord name with "0x00000008" data.
    Any info on that matter?
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Do not mess with SATA controller.
    What chipset - Intel or AMD? What OS? What drivers for SATA?
     
  4. DanEVO7

    DanEVO7 Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Duke 2080 Ti
    AMD 990FX chipset - Windows 10 64bit CU

    Drivers checked both microsoft and amd. None of them works in MSI mode
     

  5. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Just means it does not support MSI mode, which is common for some AMD chipsets.
     
  6. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    3
    I might have mentioned this somewhere back in this thread, but AMD patched out MSI from all 9-series AM3 BIOS due to an errata with the South Bridge.

    You might have luck rolling back your BIOS to like the first few versions to bypass the errata "fix."

    Use google to find the SB950 errata pdf, it states it in there.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  7. DanEVO7

    DanEVO7 Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Duke 2080 Ti
    OK.. I found this:

    Improper Propagation of SATA Message Signaled Interrupts

    Description

    The SATA Message Signaled Interrupt (MSI) from higher port numbers may not properly propagate to port 0
    before being sent to the driver.

    Potential Effect on System

    On a platform with SATA MSI enabled and activity occurring on SATA devices connected to three or more
    ports, if the failing condition occurs, the driver will not receive the interrupt and the system will hang.

    Suggested Workaround

    Do not expose the MSI capability in the SATA controller. This change is
    implemented in CIMx version 1.1.0.2.

    Fix Planned

    No
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    ^ OP updated
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Windows 7 or 8?

    All "PCI Express Root Port".

    You can change "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050" too but be aware that when you install new driver videocard is reverted back to legacy mode.

    For a better safety check one device, apply and reboot Windows.
     
  10. edneyhelene

    edneyhelene Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270x MSI OC Gaming 2gb
    What about isa devices?

    Friend what about ISa devices? isnt there a way to do the same for then and make em all msi mode instead of line based?
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I would gladly, but they do not support MSI mode.
    Also I suspect they are not real ISA devices but just emulated things.
     
  12. edneyhelene

    edneyhelene Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 270x MSI OC Gaming 2gb
    Hummm got it thanks alot for your answer.

    Thats because i bought an new f5-573g-59aj acer laptop that have an chronic problem about latency and switch drivers to msi mode made it ok on latencymon app.

    I was wondering what else could i do to improve it since all drivers are already nice in msi mode hehehe
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If notebook has HDD replace it with SSD. No other optimizations can be compared to that.
    Then amount of RAM - 8GB at least.
    Then fine tuning of performance plan hidden settings
    Then amount of background programs and services.

    Update: And good optimization would be to not play on notebook. I`ve been there and done that - ****ty experience. I will never again play on notebooks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2017
  14. x58haze

    x58haze Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    Is this supposed to be normal? i'm using an am4 motherboard asrock fatality ab350 and ryzen 5 1600 and I installed the drivers from the CD... but look at my ISRQ

    have like 3 sata ahci drivers installed date 2006 o_O
    I'm noticing that i have like input lag so bad :/ like games run a steady fps, but the input lag is terrible :/

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,140
    Likes Received:
    8,662
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    You just should install proper AMD SATA and chipset drivers. Or just disable MSI for SATA.

    I see that SATA and USB devices report MS drivers - hence I deduce that you did not install AMD chipset drivers (bundle usually has both SATA and USB drivers).
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2017

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Latest chipset drivers for your system are here. Includes ahci.

    https://www2.ati.com/drivers/amd-chipset-drivers-software-17.10rcp22-apr27.exe

    No reason to not run MSI mode..

    Only older platforms had issues with MSI mode.
     
  17. x58haze

    x58haze Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    Actually I installed through my Motherboard CD drivers. :/
     
  18. x58haze

    x58haze Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    It says Download not complete

    ""You were linked to this download from a site outside of AMD.com
    Since we do not allow downloads through sites outside of AMD.com, please download your file directly from our site. We want to make sure you have the right driver for your device and operating system. Choose your product and operating system on the AMD Driver Download page or use the AMD Driver Autodetect to obtain the correct driver for your device.""


    I'm going to find the drivers there, because i use my motherboard CD drivers also double check in my manufacturer asrock web page for drivers, and are the same drivers, i will be looking in that web page that file

    17.10rcp22-apr27.exe
     
  19. x58haze

    x58haze Master Guru

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
    Also i don't know why but this is my first time in long,long time by using AMD build, and with this Ryzen, i feel like even at high fps, my game is not smooth, like stuttering or something, i feel like when grabbing my mouse, i dont feel like I am actually in the game, i feel like with much Input lag, i'm pretty sure that is something with the BIOS ITSELF configurations, something with cpu settings, bridge or north etc, yesterday i disable simultaneous threading and single-core boost, and even the cynebenchmark, score went so down, the game dota2 did keep at 120 fps, and become more playable

    Wish someone can make a good guide about what are all recommend settings in AM4 motherboas with chipset b350, in order to play more smooth... also people say, i guess thats your Windows 10 enterprise LOngterm, LTSB, and i say but, i was using this windows 10 on my old Intel machine, and everything was okay, but well :/ I know that i may be annoying by asking help, because i do my research too... but .
     
  20. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Guess you'll just have to select drivers manually..

    Ryzen > B350 chipset > OS..

    CD drivers are old so use website.
     

Share This Page