1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows: How to get latest CPU microcode without modding the BIOS

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    359
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    well i do have skylake proccesor >>

    by the time is stuff is release people that were waiting will of forgot.
     
  2. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    184
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    What about 95% of users that don't even know what a bios is, never mind flashing it.
     
  3. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    359
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    this is why I said 90+% of population will NEVER be protected less Intel/AMD and all the other CPU manufacture MANDATE all OS developers push the required microcode. expecting everyone else to know about this stuff or even do manual updates to fix security flaw is recipe for trouble, and in world where everyone sues for every thing. the cpu manufacturer dont want to be sued for something they could easily had patched for everyone, it just require both OS developers and cpu manufactures pull there heads out there asses

    Cpu manufactures being sued and or made to replace everyone effect cpu will be LESS costly then mandating OS devs push the code, Not that i see this happen, but if they were made to replace them, certain companies might not survive. and few that do will drastically increase there prices, which would be extremely bad.
     
  4. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,130
    Likes Received:
    609
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    By the time they release them for Haswell i'm on Ryzen 2.
     
    -Tj- likes this.

  5. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Is it possible to use this method to downgrade to an older microcode version?

    If so, how?
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,872
    Likes Received:
    4,510
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    No, it is not possible to downgrade with this method.
     
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,872
    Likes Received:
    4,510
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Susahamat and Stealth83 like this.
  8. Stealth83

    Stealth83 Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 ti SHX
    It worked, all secure now, Thanks for the share mbk......

    [​IMG]
     
  9. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    359
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    what about 1703 and older builds if MS says the update is only gona be avalible on 1709... it would be a scum move.

    I really prefer NOT to have to do bios update when ever asrock gets around to releasing the new bios with microcode
     
  10. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    184
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    My take is everything from Sandybridge up will get support, along with other officially supported win10 versions 1607+, as I think 1511 is being dropped.

    Of coarse that's just my opinion, I know no more than you.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018

  11. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,872
    Likes Received:
    4,510
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @Stealth83
    @Susahamat
    Guys, all credits will go to EdKiefer since it was his post in Windows10 RS3 thread. I just did spread it to profile threads.
     
  13. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    184
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    It doesn't matter, I got it from Tweakhound.com, so all info comes from other places anyway :)
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,872
    Likes Received:
    4,510
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
  15. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    184
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G

  16. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    mbk1969 likes this.
  17. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    478
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    Now if only Windows would catch up.
     
  18. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    359
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    184
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I would think MS has highest % of getting it done, so far they have been pretty good.
    They can only go as fast as Intel puts out updates.
    I wouldn't expect MB makers to go much past 3-4 versions back, but hopefully I am wrong.
     
  20. CaptaPraelium

    CaptaPraelium Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    1070
    So basically, Microsoft just told us that the reason they never deployed these in the first place is that they knew intel hadn't fully validated the microcode they released to the public first... You know, the ones that turned out to be broken.
    So basically, intel knew they were probably broken, but couldn't release nothing, so they dropped broken microcode on us, and told microsoft not to deploy it so that MS wouldn't sue them like we can't.

    Nice, intel. real nice.
    edit: then again maybe MS is lying. It's one of them. I don't trust either.
     

Share This Page