1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows: How to get latest CPU microcode without modding the BIOS

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,294
    Likes Received:
    818
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    btw is this ITA substitute if set to max 0.5ms?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I am not sure I understand the question. But you can get information about which application requested current timer resolution. Execute in elevated command prompt:
    Code:
    powercfg /energy /output "trace.html" /duration 30
    - that will create file "trace.html" in the current folder, so you can simply execute
    Code:
    trace.html
    and default browser will open it. You will see something like this:
    Code:
    Platform Timer Resolution: Platform Timer Resolution
    The default platform timer resolution is 15.6 ms (15625000 ns) and should be used whenever the system is idle. If the timer resolution is increased, processor power management technologies may not be effective. The timer resolution may be increased due to multimedia playback or graphical animations.
    Current Timer Resolution (100 ns units) 10000
    Maximum Timer Period (100 ns units) 156250
    
    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 7084
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Program Files (x86)\Opera\55.0.2994.44\opera.exe
    
    ...
    
    Platform Timer Resolution:Timer Request Stack
    The stack of modules responsible for the lowest platform timer setting in this process.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 7084
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Program Files (x86)\Opera\55.0.2994.44\opera.exe
    Calling Module Stack \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
    \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Windows\SysWOW64\kernel32.dll
    \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Program Files (x86)\Opera\55.0.2994.44\opera_browser.dll
    \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Windows\SysWOW64\kernel32.dll
    \Device\HarddiskVolume7\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
    
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,294
    Likes Received:
    818
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I mean the timer you were talking few times, well this app can set to max instead of default windows - Usually 1ms..
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070

  5. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,467
    Likes Received:
    685
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    Seems the Windows updates for this have been updated again, should cover more CPU models now since it even popped up on Windows Update here.
     
  6. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,935
    Likes Received:
    481
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Bit of weirdness going on for me on 1607. kb4346087 bundled version C6 for my skylake CPU but I now have a KB4091664 reverting it back to C2 (which is also loaded in my bios).

    In ms update, KB4091664 states that it supersedes the 087 update. http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/search.aspx?q=4091664

    I had RS5 installed in a bootable VHD for a couple of days and it was C2 there too. I had expected it to be bundled with the latest microcode.

    So is MS exposing me to spectre 3a and 4 threats? :S
     
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Updated at 14th September
    1803
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...or-windows-10-version-1803-and-windows-server

    1709
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4090007/intel-microcode-updates

    1703
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4091663/kb4091663-intel-microcode-updates

    1607
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4091664/kb4091664-intel-microcode-updates

    RTM
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4091666/kb4091666-intel-microcode-updates

     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  8. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,906
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    GPU:
    1080Ti @h2o
    Guys, I got a stupid question for you, if my update history says I already installed KB4091664 on August 2nd, I should still upgrade this, right?
     
  9. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    If your CPU is listed, then I guess yes would be the answer if you want the latest micro-code.
    WU should update if you need it though, might take a week to get to you.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,361
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    There was such KB with microcode updates which was updated after initial publishing. So yes, you should (either automatically or manually).
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

  11. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,906
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    GPU:
    1080Ti @h2o
    Thanks guys, yesterday when shutting down he queued the update automatically anyway before I could bother to download.
     
  12. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,624
    Likes Received:
    213
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 GRP
    I've got the update pushed on my PC as well even though my CPU isn't even listed in the KB article. Seems like MS is just pushing it out for everyone now.
     
  13. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I just got it too, but I had to manually check, didn't auto update this morning.
    I am on 3570k too.
     

Share This Page