1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows: How to get latest CPU microcode without modding the BIOS

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Jan 5, 2018.

  1. disq

    disq Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    GTX
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
  3. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Nice, will patch my notebook Sandy Bridge after all.
     
  4. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    nice thanks for sharing
     

  5. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    196
    GPU:
    .
    Last edited: May 22, 2018
  6. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,981
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    I got rid of the fix again, it causes strange behaviour.

    For example custom filters of uBlock Origin don't load anymore, have to refresh the page manually.

    Then again i applied it the BIOS way, with UEFI Bios Updater.
     
  7. CaptaPraelium

    CaptaPraelium Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    1070
    Meanwhile there are new variants ... Sometimes it feels like this will never be fixed.
     
  8. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,323
    Likes Received:
    1,358
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    I'll imagine that's going to be the case for a while yes, older CPU's might not even get bios updates and have to rely on software patches and then as it's a hardware issue it's going to have people exploit and find new variants as older methods are closed or at least more secured against attacks.

    Eight now I think, four of them being rated critical and then variants to these different types if I understood correctly. Intel and AMD is in a bit of a situation though Microsoft has patched some of it via software and for supported CPU's there's active bios support still though either of these two might carry a performance deficit in turn but I guess it's better than being compromised if one does fall victim to however this exploit can be utilized.

    Hardware upgrade is costly too, older systems that's well it will usually be a new motherboard but then there's RAM and what not too and I don't think either AMD or Intel have CPU's out yet that fully close this vulnerability, at least not yet.
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    So I updated to 1803, and no new microcode for my 4930. Only after installation of corresponding standalone KB microcode is updated.
     

  11. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yes, Nothing came built into 1803 and you need to manually install the micro-code patch, nothing yet in WP.
     
  12. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    These updates are optional possibly because they affect performance and there's still no sign of malicious usage for either Meltdown or Spectre in wild.
     
  13. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yup, I have mine all disabled now.
    Maybe when I upgrade CPU I will enable.
     
  14. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,370
    Likes Received:
    288
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    i guess it not hard to see why.

    At this point I might not even bother with "patches" or Microcodes or the bios updates
     
  15. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,981
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    As i mentioned before, even though i have no performance hit my PC does behave different with it installed.

    I will install it once these exploits get abused.
     

  16. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,370
    Likes Received:
    288
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    which probably when they will become mandatory updates and pushed threw WU for everyone
     
  17. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    196
    GPU:
    .
    Had to manually update the BIOS on a Dell laptop with a 4th gen core CPU 'cause the update still doesn't automatically download on a lot of supported systems (what the hell are still they waiting for?). Now waiting for gen1 and gen2 core processors.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2018
  18. xerces8

    xerces8 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1050Ti 4GB
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    All microcodes are stored in folder "intel-ucode". Not suitable for VMWare driver. But suitable for UBU tool.

    Btw, I see newer one mentioned on the page your linked
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/27776/Linux-Processor-Microcode-Data-File?v=t
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  20. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,737
    Likes Received:
    316
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I manually downloaded Windows10.0-KB4100347-x64 for my Haswell Intel i7-4770K and after a couple of restarts AIDA shows the CPU microcode has been updated from 22h to 24h.

    However, inSpectre v8 still shows System is Spectre protected: NO! It claims there is a microcode update and there is a new option to Enable Spectre Protection. When I click on it, it changes to Disable Spectre Protection, suggesting it is enabled but when I exit and reload inSpectre it still claims that there is no Spectre protection.

    Should this microcode update protect my PC from Spectre then? I assumed the update would automatically enable the protection but inSpectre seems to suggest that it has to enabled manually and that option isn't working for me.

    /is confused :-/
     

Share This Page