Windows 8 / 8.1 Scaling (GPU / Display)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by lime, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. bishi

    bishi Master Guru

    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI
    It'll be in the forums of Blurbusters.com , sorry I don't have the specific thread bookmarked
     
  2. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
    Well if you can't provide evidence I would suggest you are simply in the wrong.
     
  3. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  4. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    almost forgot,

    problem persists with Windows 10 x64 Insider build 10130

    tried the two available drivers (352.84 and 353.17 beta) and none give me the option
    "Perform Display on" = Display.
     

  5. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    Problem solved: get display scaling in windows 8.1, 8 and 10 (tested)

    just discovered how to get Display scaling option.

    1) Download Custum Resolution Utility from http://www.monitortests.com/cru-1.2.zip
    2) Delete all the resolutions under all the sections like this
    [​IMG]

    (click delete all). So, the two board appear full blanked
    3) Create a standard resolution (go to the 2nd whiteboard and select new) (important, standard is standard, dont select 120 Hz, in my case, 120 hz screen, i selected 60 hz 1920x1080)

    4) Then select custom extension block and delete all theall the resolutions there too (delete all)

    Click Ok

    Click admin privileges Restart64 or Restart (if your SO is 64 pls choose Restart64 ) and wait for the screen to refresh two times.

    Then go to NV Control panel and create your custom resolution if needed. Now I am able to choose No scaling - Perform Scaling On Display options. In Windows 10!! where I wasn't able before. Now mouse is snappier and smoother.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  6. horvathzeros

    horvathzeros New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8Gb DDR3 1600MHz
    I tried this last option, but when i put Custom extension block and OK + 64Restart, in my Nvidia panel i can not put 120hz and if i try to create a custom resolution something is not working.



    I did all and im not sure, i follow the steps and i have the same monitor, but i can not choose 120hz if i follow ur steps.

    Can u show ur final screenshot on cru program?

    ty
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  7. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    I think you did all the steps OK, but you missed some info when creating custom resolution. Prior to creating your custom resolution in NVidia Control Panel, you should get detailed data about your supported resolution (all the values, not only refresh rate and width, height). Where can you get this info? easy, go to


    [​IMG]


    Important, this should be done before the steps I detailed in my previous reply

    Otherwise you will not be able to get the values from your customs resolutions cuz you already deleted them

    ----

    extra: how my custom res in nvcp looks like

    [​IMG]

    Important: the native refresh of my screen (LG W2363D) was 119.982 Hz and not 120 Hz. This is quite important to not to get your screen blurred when you apply changes. So, when creating custom res put 119.982 in the left-top box instead of 120 Hz
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
  8. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    So wait, I'm not sure I understand the deal with all this.

    @Prophet, what evidence is there that scaling on GPU has input lag?

    To my knowledge, this setting only comes into effect when you run a resolution that is not native.
     
  9. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    In my case I noticed a big improvement on input lag (easly noticeble when playing fast paced fps like CS GO)

    This is something I experimented too in W7. unfortunately there are some conflicts, caused by poor implementation of nvidia drivers, that affect some GPU + Screen combinations on W8/W8.1/W10. Doing this (I think using CRU is like editing Edid driver) you remove some restrictions and make some hidden options available (Perform Scaling on Display), being this one the best for me:

    [​IMG]


    Please test with your hardware. On mine it works like a charm.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
  10. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    That's not evidence, anyone personal perception is unreliable.

    Besides, why don't you just play the game at your native resolution? You should be able to do that easily. At that point no scaling occurs, GPU or otherwise.
     

  11. Ozkar

    Ozkar Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    asus dcuii gtx670
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
  12. DarthElvis

    DarthElvis Master Guru

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte gtx980 g1
    I'll ask the unasked question. What kind of porn did you get Googling for GPU scaling?
     
  13. dhaine

    dhaine New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16go 3600mhz cas 13
    It's not working anymore for me the tricks to get back Display Scaling.
    Any one tried on the recent nvidia patch ? Should I do the trick with an old nvidia version and update from there ?
    any new tricks to get the Display Scaling work ?
     
  14. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
    I finally got this to work in windows 8.1. Makes a very noticeable difference. Thanks ozkar!
     
  15. grobenotgrob

    grobenotgrob New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080
    Sorry to revive a dead thread, but I happen to get this to work, but trying to get the refresh rate in any games wont work?? Only shows 60hz for any game I try to run. You manage to play any games on the custom Resolution/Refresh rate?
     

Share This Page