Windows 8.1 to bring back familiar parts of Windows 7

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,855
    Likes Received:
    145
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Video already pulled Mr. H. While I've been using Win 8 for awhile and it works well, I do believe they should have left the option available for 'classic' mode.
     
  3. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1.54GHz
    This doesn't surprise me considering everyone and their dogs who I've encountered are annoyed by Win 8. My laptop came with Winblows 8 so I'm interested in finding out how much an upgrade license will cost. Whoever said just use Win 8 and you'll get used to it couldn't be more wrong, I still hate it. I'm more annoyed by Ribbon replacing common sense/menus than I am with Metro replacing the start menu. That and Win 8's search is far worse than Win 7's. Even something as commonplace as "Computer Management" is hidden.
     
  4. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Are your Win+X keys broke? :)
     

  5. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1.54GHz
    Might be broken when combo'd with OEM installed Win 8. Because you know, better protect those users from themselves. Can't let them access basic tools, they might destroy their PCs.

    Even when that shortcut works, that's still no reason to hide anything when it's searched for.

    Edit: I like how MS's website doesn't list Win + X under their list of new shortcuts either.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  6. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Now to make it less ugly :) The program title bars are just one area that looks ugly, along with the open-with menu (the listings use Windows 95 style icons on a square screen background, not just the icon on the open-with background).
     
  7. isidore

    isidore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 FuryX 4GB HBM
    finally, maybe now i can upgrade..the interface of windows 8 is interesting, but i would like the opportunity of going back to my classic explorer..
     
  8. HitokiriX

    HitokiriX Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Ghz Ed
    Ahahahahahahaaha backtrack much? I love how they took choices away from users and now they have no choice but to change things back oh the delicious irony!!
     
  9. GREGIX

    GREGIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire Fury 3-x@2720Z
    does he have to know key bindings?
    Or anybody?
    Besides...win key sucks hard, many players just rip it off for own good...nothing more frustrating than missclick with alt and going to desktop while fire exchange in bf3 or similar game...
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  10. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    Just right click bottom left corner dude, its not as hard as your hyperbole makes out.
     

  11. Yxskaft

    Yxskaft Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX Titan Sli
    I don't think Windows 8 can be "saved" though.
    Just like with how people still say Vista is crap, so will people do with Windows 8, no matter how many issues MS manages to rectify.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  12. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Sure they list it...sheesh...

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/keyboard-shortcuts

    And gosh when I hit the Win key and type compu... and golly! Computer Management shows up. :3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  13. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1.54GHz
    Hardly a hyperbole, I didn't even know that was possible. If I didn't know, what are the odds an average user does when Microsoft don't even list it under their list of changes or new functions? What are the odds a first time user would know? Compare that to a first time user simply entering what they want in a search bar.

    And I reiterate, that is still no reason to hide it from a search. What if I simply wanted a quick way to pin an icon rather than use a menu so I can access it in a single click rather than two? I don't see why any function or tool should be hidden from a search.
    No, they don't: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-CA/windows-8/new-keyboard-shortcuts#1TC=t1

    Computer management only appears in a search if admin tools are enabled or if it has been manually pinned. By default it does not show, nor does any other "administrator" tool.

    I don't see why everyone is so defensive when it's such a pointless limitation. I searched for it, it didn't show, there is no reason for that to be regardless how many shortcuts or methods there are to access it. Next will you argue that the Ribbon interface or Metro are also good ideas?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  14. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    The average user can read at a 8th grade level. Come on. I can see not liking the interface, but in all of 10 minutes you could have discovered how to use all these things easily.
     
  15. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    I just posted the link for you. You're silly.
     

  16. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1.54GHz
    I can't tell if you're serious, I searched for a list of new commands, which is what I said. It's not there. You're grasping at straws. And I'm not sure if you understand that shortcut doesn't work for me either. I haven't tried right clicking the corner yet but I wouldn't be surprised if that's disabled by default as well.

    Name one good reason for anything to be hidden from the search.

    Shall I complain about more things since you have no real argument against that complaint? Why does it ask for permission to proceed on most things when I am logged into an admin account and UAC is disabled?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2013
  17. d_mouse

    d_mouse Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 @ 1175/1500
    Or they just buy a gaming keyboard where you can disable the win key......
     
  18. warlord

    warlord Master Guru

    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 390X MSI(1080/1500)
    that ain't gonna happen, it's just a different w8 version, nothing more nothing less.
     
  19. S_IV

    S_IV Member Guru

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX Titan X (Maxwell)
    for performance wise microsoft team's ok, for usability they're a bit unstable but for visuality wise they clearly ran out of ideas.
     
  20. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    There's half a dozen or so new things to learn, its not hard fella. Do you avoid using Android machines too as you'll have to learn new stuff?

    Search drags up everything for me what are you looking for?
     

Share This Page