Windows 7

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by cockneysean, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pedropaulo

    pedropaulo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,340
    Likes Received:
    115
    GPU:
    HD5850
    Cat 9.2 are out. Going to see if they fixed the GPU scaling issue.
     
  2. Mr.StanleyDudek

    Mr.StanleyDudek Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    VisionTek HD 3870 X2 1GB
    This worked perfectly for me! Thanks for the tip!
     
  3. Infiniti3D

    Infiniti3D Master Guru

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 Ultra H²0
    Currently running Windows 7 build 7022.
    Seems very good and solved the IE8 problems. Also better respons and stability in 3D apps....:banana:
     
  4. seaplane pilot

    seaplane pilot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080Ti Strix
    32bit or is it a 64 bit version of 7022?
     

  5. seaplane pilot

    seaplane pilot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080Ti Strix
    :cheers:Anytime!
     
  6. Infiniti3D

    Infiniti3D Master Guru

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800 Ultra H²0
    The Build 7022 64bit is not availeble yet from what i know.
     
  7. Tranzmit

    Tranzmit Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD 7970 X Turbo
    my dad had issues getting it going too and the reason was uac was totally disabled so he set it back and it works so see if it helps

    Edit oops didnt read the last page :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  8. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
  9. the_4ork

    the_4ork Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor HD4850
    is anyone else having this problem. this is twice now...

    the pre-release 32bit version on my laptop had a problem with opening up "computer" it would hang up and not let me browse files/folders

    sometimes trying to open folders it would just hang up...

    now i have 64bit build 7000 on my desktop and laptop. but my desktop is now experiencing the same problem.

    also im having a problem using magic disc. everytime i try to mount an iso it freezes

    GRRR
     
  10. sunderland

    sunderland Master Guru

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx 5770
    never had any of those problems and ive got 64bit on my main pc and 32bit on my laptop as for magic disk dont use it i use imgburn which is best anyway
     

  11. TirolokoRD

    TirolokoRD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 980TI ACX 2
    Could somebody confirm me the performance of a gtx 280 in windows 7 with latest drivers!??
     
  12. Covert

    Covert Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD 5770 1000/1300
    Ive got Windows 7 Build 7000 running perfectly on my eeePC 1000H and its faster than winxp, but my gripe is the networking in BOTH vista and Windows 7, id like somthing like Liinksys LELa so you can see all pc's and devices that are connected and then what folders are being shared by that perticular device.
     
  13. Palerider

    Palerider Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    HIS X1950XTX
    I need help

    I am using a virtual machine (VMware) to try Win 7(build 7022)I only want to learn about the OS since I'm currently on XP.I don't expect to run a bunch of software from it, but I would like to know how to navigate.
    Anyway....For the first week or so it ran as smooth as silk.Amazing.Now all of a sudden It stopped working.CPU usage hovers around 90-100% and my gig of virtual ram is all used up too.All it does is hang.
    I reinstalled, thinking something got corrupted.Still no luck.i downloaded a different build (7000), and still no luck.
    The irritating part is that it ran so great at first.

    Any suggestions how to get it running again?
     
  14. proliferazor

    proliferazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AMD 7950
    sounds like a cpu or memory hardware issue, maybe bad hardware or just overheating. Also try reinstalling your vm software
     
  15. MrBozack

    MrBozack Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7850OC Windforce
    ...but when will they fix Punkbuster? Gadgets are fun and everything... ..and IE8 hangs can be easily fixed with Firefox.

    I think the real issues with Windows 7 are regarding the broken anticheat systems. This is bad news for gamers. If the OS is going to survive it will need the gamer's seal of approval. Otherwise, it will really become Vista II.

    Is it still broken on build 7044?

    Punkbuster said they won't support Windows 7 until release. That's a lot of gamers now not testing Windows 7 performance and stability IMO.
     

  16. Palerider

    Palerider Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    HIS X1950XTX
    I've reinstalled VM each time I reinstalled Windows.If it were a hardware problem, wouldn't it show up in XP as well? I wondered if maybe Win7 don't like my overclock, but I'm steady as a rock in XP.
     
  17. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,753
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    They aren't broken and this isn't Microsoft's fault. Punkbuster detects the kernel revision, sees 6.1 and simply doesn't start. The Punkbuster developers stated they do this because they don't want any changes in the operating system allowing someone to look under the hood of their software.
     
  18. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,753
    Likes Received:
    3,379
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  19. the_4ork

    the_4ork Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor HD4850
    to change builds, do i need to download the later build and reinstall win7 or does it update with windows update?

    im still on build 7000 64bit, im liking it right now. plays my fav. game pretty good (aces high II) but i havent tried loading cod5 or any of my steam games (cs/css/tfc/l4d) or crysis....

    what games is everyone having the punkbuster problem?
     
  20. the_4ork

    the_4ork Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor HD4850
    here are some screenshots from mine:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    i wonder why im getting boned on hard drive points... i have x2 37GB raptors and 1TB western digital raid :(

    and it seems like my memory doesnt score as well as i'd thought either. 1066DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15? must have to have DDR3 for a good score :/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page