1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by cockneysean, Oct 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gameslove

    Gameslove Master Guru

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 4GB OC/GTS450physX
    Mirrors Edge game no sound in movies. Alredy installed all video codecs. Any solution? OpenAl issue with Win 7?
     
  2. MOFO64

    MOFO64 Banned

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    9800GTX+ & 8800GT softTH
    all ok here, using X86.
     
  3. vidra

    vidra Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1060 6GB
    That's impressive. In all honesty and in spite of the praise, I never expected it to run on a mx460.
     
  4. Gameslove

    Gameslove Master Guru

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 4GB OC/GTS450physX
    What codecs do you use? Onboard sound?
     

  5. Dmented

    Dmented Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 1080 ROG Strix
    I have the same problem as you on x64. Not sure what to do about it.
     
  6. MOFO64

    MOFO64 Banned

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    9800GTX+ & 8800GT softTH
    I've tested it with a voodoo3 and geforce 2 and all is well. 7 could find a driver for your coffee mug if you plugged it in usb.

    Just the codecs that came in 7, nothing added yet. I have soundmax integrated digital HD audio yes.
     
  7. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    pretty impressive, now if you said P3 or even P2, i'd be shocked. top that with 512 or 256mb's of ram and i'd say i've seen it all and croak.

    So whats the lowest specs anyones tested this OS at?
     
  8. ShivanSpS

    ShivanSpS Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GT240
    mm well...

    [​IMG]

    No ISA support, so no sound card.... and no drivers for my voodoo 3 either...
     
  9. blaugznis

    blaugznis Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1060 6GB
    Here is fix for no sound at Mirror's Edge in comic movies and videos:

    1) download: http://files.filefront.com/Alchemy+Universal/;12992509;/fileinfo.html (u dont need Creative card for this to work) and install it
    2) click Add, write games title and game path where its installed
    3) throw your just made game to the right column (ALchemy-enabled Games)

    thats all, atleast it worked for me :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  10. nicklesss

    nicklesss Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX480 / EK-FC480

  11. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    some ssd numbers for ya :D

    u can find it on tveaktovn.com :D

    sory dont know how to put the link it is forbiden
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  12. MOFO64

    MOFO64 Banned

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    9800GTX+ & 8800GT softTH
    7 insists on atleast 512MB of ram before it will install in a system. This can be reduced afterwards no problem.

    I have an athlon 800mhz with 256mb of ram and a geforce 2 on the go here.......but I have no slower cpu's to try....I'm sure 7 would run on a Pentium 233mhz providing there's 512mb atleast of pc100 memory at point of install.
     
  13. MOFO64

    MOFO64 Banned

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    9800GTX+ & 8800GT softTH
  14. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
     
  15. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,670
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    GPU:
    RTX 2070FE
    Man, 7 uses about pretty close to 900 mb of my memory!
     

  16. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,340
    Likes Received:
    1,526
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti
    Uses about 1.7 out of 4 on my test setup - but I don't see why that matters. As long as it scales reasonably in low memory systems, which on my 1gb laptop it does, it's not an issue.
     
  17. ShivanSpS

    ShivanSpS Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GT240
    Yeah the win xp x86 drivers does work on win7 x86...

    But i wasnt able to run the experience index, because i always got an error saying "aborted by user" :3eyes: :bang:

    And now i have another problem, i damaged the K6 in my attempt to hit 650mhz yesterday, when i removed the IHS i breaked one of the chips in the surfarce, it still works, but is not stable enoght to do anything.

    If someone ask me if where usable, it actually was, the problem is, ANYTHING YOU DO, like, opening paint, a window, brownse programs, take your CPU usage to 100% slowing everything way too much...

    But it handles way better than XP with 64/96mb of ram...

    i never got the chance to start turning off services to see if i can make it better.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  18. ShivanSpS

    ShivanSpS Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GT240
    Ok, its still works and is stable, the problem is... no L2 cache :(

    anyway, i discovered something... take a look.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  19. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    wow, only 128mb of ram! I can imagine that a snail would be a rocket compared to this, though. keep on experimenting people. :)
     
  20. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes Received:
    970
    GPU:
    Jedi Titan XP
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page