Windows 7 Build 7100 expires in less than 1 day?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DraZor, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    As title says,

    My W7 evaluation copy has recently stated that it will be expiring very soon.

    Is there anything I can do to delay this or has it forced me into buying a copy?
     
  2. nvlddmkm

    nvlddmkm Banned

    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX285
    Best bet is to actually purchase the software. An OEM version is considerably less and IMO is the best solution. Nothing in this world is free. :) Plus you get the full version.
     
  3. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Ok thanks -

    Just wondering, if I purchase this, will it "work"?

    Im on the evaluation copy of W7 so I dunno if I can install this?
     
  4. SnooSnoo

    SnooSnoo Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Intel HD510
    Thats an upgrade for people on vista(dunno if it upgrades from xp too). I dont know if it can do a clean install too. But all you realy need is a valid licennce. You can do a clean install with any other normal home premium medium. afaik..
     

  5. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    I have a copy of Vista Ultimate 64-bit OEM however it was tied to my previous motherboard after it crapped out on me.

    [The dicks I bought it from kindly stated to call Microsoft regarding the issue].

    So I think I'll install my Vista, get it "validated" and upgrade from there (provided this method will work)?
     
  6. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1060 6GB
    That will work as long as you can get your vista on, not sure if it even needs to be activated. You can do a clean install with the upgrade anyway.
     
  7. drouge

    drouge Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x HIS HD5970
  8. superweapons

    superweapons Master Guru

    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GTX 260 Core 216
    You can use upgrade media to perform full installs. See this thread.
     
  9. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Alright thanks guys - I'll see if I can get it to work when I get the DVD :nerd:
     
  10. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,131
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    if you dont feel like upgrading just yet, put your pc clock back like, a month or so

    it works from your clock you see in windows, so putting it back works fine
     

  11. Grim_2o0o

    Grim_2o0o Master Guru

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RX 570 Nitro +
    Didn't Microsoft say that upgrading from a pre-RC version wasn't possible or something to that effect?

    Best bet is to grab an OEM copy like mentioned above, then use the upgrade disc to do a full, clean install.
     
  12. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,131
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    they did, but changing a number in one .ini file allows you to upgrade from the betas
     
  13. Ferdimage1

    Ferdimage1 Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2080
    *cough* RemoveWAT *cough*.. good luck :p
     

Share This Page