Windows 11 Release Build

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by disq, Oct 4, 2021.

  1. Ohmer

    Ohmer Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti DUKE OC
    I won't be upgrading until MS re-instates the ability to move the taskbar to the sides. I've an UW monitor (3840x1600) and there's no way I'm giving back that vertical real estate.
    Besides, I've had it on the left for so long now, my entire workflow and muscle memory is conditioned to it.

    The main Feedback Hub entry for this topic has over 13000 upvotes / 800 comments (including mine) and was last replied to by MS 3 months ago. Bunch of damned troglodytes!

    upload_2021-10-9_21-34-23.png
     
    Truder, MaCk0y and BlindBison like this.
  2. Espionage724

    Espionage724 Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    152
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 XC BLACK
    Occasionally, I like hiding the clock from Taskbar. Out of all the mess in W11, I never expected that to be an issue. The feature to hide the clock at all in the Taskbar isn't implemented.

    Microsoft completely redesigned the Taskbar, and left out a lot of basic features.
     
  3. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR
    I bet it won’t be too long before someone comes up with an app to organize/customize personal desktops for win11.
     
  4. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    using start all back
     
    JaxMacFL likes this.

  5. =GGC=Phantomblu

    =GGC=Phantomblu Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 6900XT
    But don't make me laugh.... Please.. I have a 49 inch Samsung Odyssey G95 monitor ...
     
    Ohmer likes this.
  6. BlindBison

    BlindBison Master Guru

    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    245
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Super
    For AMD's upcoming fix will this just be rolled into official Windows 11 updates? Or will we need to update our chipset drivers? Or something else? Thanks,
     
  7. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    431
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Rejoice! We've got options. As @yosef019 mentioned there is StartAllBack and there is also ExplorerPatcher. You can move it to the left and I can move it to the right! Now I can consider upgrading to Win11 when the time is right. Testing it on a laptop.

    [​IMG]
     
    SpajdrEX likes this.
  8. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    I enabled TasbarSi registry tweak to make Taskbar smaller. But now language and time @ date two lines are to big to Taskbar and bottom line is partially visible. How can I adjust this?
     
  9. blunden

    blunden Master Guru

    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 3080 TUF
    Good question. :) It isn't really clear. I've seen some people claim that CPPC2 works better in the Dev releases of Windows 11, which would suggest the fix would be a Windows update. On the other hand, the wording in AMD's advisory seems to suggest that it might require an update from AMD of some kind, possibly a chipset driver update. The L3 cache fix should be a Windows update though.

    I haven't found a way to adjust those unfortunately.
     
    BlindBison likes this.
  10. Ohmer

    Ohmer Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti DUKE OC
    @MaCk0y
    I've been using Start10 for ages, and it works perfectly for me on W10. Don't want to run yet another taskbar/menu hack to brute force functionality that MS should have never removed. No guarantee they would even play nice together.
    Anyways, I'm in no hurry. I'll just stick with W10 until MS backpedals on this one. If they don't, then 4 years is a long time before I need to think about it again. =)
     

  11. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    If you find please let me know. Thank you
     
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,234
    Likes Received:
    2,077
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Ohmer, KissSh0t and norton like this.
  13. noGuruATall

    noGuruATall Member Guru

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    gtx 580 3GB
    here is a way to hide new start button? I moved icons to the left and now I have two icons imposed, one from openshell and one from win11.
     
  14. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,936
    Likes Received:
    456
    GPU:
    Asus Stryx RX 580
    so guys, as for my i7 6700k and asus z170k, i was able to enable tpm 2.0 in the bios, however, editing and creating a new key in the registry didn t work to bypass the cpu check, i still have that message that my pc doesn t meet system req,
    so now i meet everything except secure boot ( although i have it enabled in bios!!!!)and that i7 6th gen..
    can i go on from here? can i go on and install the win11.iso? or it s the end of it?
     
  15. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,513
    Likes Received:
    4,256
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Try the method WhiteLightning posted above with the new build of Rufus.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2021

  16. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,936
    Likes Received:
    456
    GPU:
    Asus Stryx RX 580
    i updated using the setup.exe from the rufus created iso.
    after installing i got an error after restart
    windows 11 the installation failed in safe_os phase
    i got this message when it reverted back to windows 10?
    any fix?
    Edited:
    That secure boot crap is getting on my nerves, seems that rufus doesn t create the right disk image to install while secure boot is enabled or whatever dafuk it needs.... i read that u need to reformat ur usb using ubu something to create a fat32 partition and another ntfs partitionm..it s really annoying
    Edited:
    After 2 and half hours of trial and error i.managed to install win 11 finally.
    Disabling and then reenabling the mediacreationtool bat file, and then using the setup.exe from the created usb folder( rufus beta), after that "checking for update" option, it was a hassle tbh, but now i get this file explorer loading by itself everytime i log into windows, any fix??
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2021
  17. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    22000.258 Released

    No fix implemented for AMD L3 cache :(

    [​IMG]

    wtf... they ALREADY have the code, don't tell me they are going to hold it for 22H1.... lemme guess, AMD will have to produce a workaround in their chipset driver package.
     
  18. Andrewtst

    Andrewtst Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3080
  19. Andrewtst

    Andrewtst Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3080
    To me it is fixing nothing. All previous bugs is still there.
     
  20. Ghosty

    Ghosty Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    398
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Graphics
    No issues so far with the latest release.
     

Share This Page