Windows 10 will automatically uninstall updates that cause problems

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. SSD_PRO

    SSD_PRO Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070
    Does anyone even get a BSOD like the one pictured anymore? I haven't seen one of those since I forgot to change IDE back to AHCI during a BIOS update in 2009. Someone must really mess up their system to make one of those appear now.
     
  2. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,066
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Uninstall the update, then windows update finds the same update again and installs , that over and over and over again lol
     
    Exodite, airbud7 and fantaskarsef like this.
  3. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,436
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Uhm.... license...

    [​IMG]
     
  4. user1

    user1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,701
    Likes Received:
    586
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    [​IMG]
     

  5. lucasfrance

    lucasfrance Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti + 1080
    What will happend if there is a bug in the uninstaller ?

    Will they install an uninstaller to uninstall the bugged uninstaller ???
     
    airbud7 likes this.
  6. Embra

    Embra Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    374
    GPU:
    Vega 64 Nitro+LE
    Windows may end up uninstalling itself.
     
    0blivious, fantaskarsef and airbud7 like this.
  7. Picolete

    Picolete Master Guru

    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    R9 290 Sapphire Tri-x
    So, how long until we get reports of this tool bricking systems even more?
     
  8. airbud7

    airbud7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,835
    Likes Received:
    4,748
    GPU:
    pny gtx 1060 xlr8
    hahahaha!
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,365
    Likes Received:
    4,263
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    my guess is that they will have an automated system in startup repair to handle this.
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,147
    Likes Received:
    8,666
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Network connections are not needed for such feature. Only one thing is needed - working recovery partition. All updates are done through DISM, so if computer managed to boot into recovery partition fault update can be uninstalled.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

  11. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,573
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    Good (if it will actually work), I had one of those like 6 months ago when the "gaming" patch came out, it completely bricked my system and I don't even remember how I fixed it (I think after like 50 restarts it finally let me use an old system restore point, which I luckily had). Worst of all, this all happened while I was asleep (system started on its own and did the update). Meanwhile I disabled that too and the update prompt. I'm still on 1709 and won't update unless MS really forces me to.
     
  12. fOrTy_7

    fOrTy_7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    N/A
    It was a meme not a real code, but either way rollback() implementation is not defined so you can't really tell. :rolleyes:

    Nice :D
     
    mbk1969 and fantaskarsef like this.
  13. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    479
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    pebkac
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,147
    Likes Received:
    8,666
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Since there is no result check rollback implementation either uses global variables or throws an exception. First case is bad design (deprecated by gurus of all paradigms of programming), second case is fault code. Just saying. :cool:
     
  15. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,119
    Likes Received:
    929
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    what happens when windows can load period how it gona do that?

    That is a horrid thought if such thing happen and such bug get released, there whole dev team need to be fired They want to do a new build every 6 months they least they can do Q/A the builds BEFORE the release it band bad stuff happens, when they have to pull a build update a munch times they are doing it wrong.

    Build update should really just be once year. obviously the 6 month idea dont work
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019

  16. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
  17. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,119
    Likes Received:
    929
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    There is the is program from Ms wushowhide that is "supposed" to hide updates you installed and dont want popping up again. I find it no longer works, I keep hiding KB4023057 and it it keeps getting found
     
  18. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,365
    Likes Received:
    4,263
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    startup repair doesn't use the OS installed ahci driver or any other os boot component.
     
  19. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,119
    Likes Received:
    929
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    So you saying IF I cant get in startup repair this "feature" will be able too? what happen when the repair fails?

    Cause I had friends and family I asked to fix said computer, went to use Startup repair and it failed, time I went to do restore build and it failed, which all result in me having to do clean installs.

    Like said in few months back in windows thread. I have friend of family who's PC is bricked, it dont boot and cant get into safe or startup repair, and being 600 miles away from them i cant fix it for them and they not knowledge able enough to be able to do windows clean install or under stand what I talking about even IF i tried to walk them threw it, and that all started the moment a Windows CU/Feature got installed it failed to install and after that it didnt boot no more. Last i check they went got new pc cause they didnt want to deal with it.

    For people like this such feature would be god send, IF it works and it dont cause bigger problems.
     
    Solfaur likes this.
  20. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,140
    Likes Received:
    635
    GPU:
    5700XT / GTX1070
    It's my all time favorite Windows error message. I got it once a few years ago on XP or 7. Silly Windows, my keyboard doesn't have a key labeled "Any". :p
     
    airbud7 likes this.

Share This Page