1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 to implement retpolines in future update (improved spectre mitigation))

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by user1, Oct 21, 2018.

  1. user1

    user1 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    217
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    Would appear microsoft will finally implement retpolines (as has been the case on linux for about 10 months) to reduce the performance impact of spectre patches

    Should in theory also extend spectre mitigation coverage to almost all x86 cpus rather than just those who have updated microcode.

    https://twitter.com/aionescu/status/1052705268683943936
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018
    chispy likes this.
  2. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,438
    Likes Received:
    484
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti @ H2O
    Sounds great , hopefully this huge mess of spectre and meltdown will be resolved and forgoten.
     
  3. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    so does that mean the microcode updates they pushed will be removed from windows when this happens? cause if those microcodes are still present this change would not matter?
     
  4. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    754
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    From what I can tell, the microcode changes were implemented in a way that do nothing on their own. They support Spectre mitigation, but if the OS doesn't make use of that support, then nothing happens.
     

  5. user1

    user1 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    217
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    for skylake and newer the microcode is still partially needed. for older chips it would be optional technically.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018
  6. nick0323

    nick0323 Master Guru

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
    Good. My Surface Pro 4 and my 2500k are literally dying. Windows Hello on my Surface Pro 4 has been terribly slow since the Spring update this year, and my 2500k (although old and was running well last year) is running slow.
     
  7. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,844
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    This seems to be really platform dependent. I've had pretty much identical 3Mark scores for the last year through every OS iteration, driver BIOS updates and Spectre/Meltdown patches.

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/16791633/fs/16684132/fs/14683802

    The first result is from today, with a fully patched BIOS which EVGA just released, and both Spectre/Meltdown mitigation enabled. The other two are, both with an older BIOS and Spectre/Meltdown disabled using the InSpectre tool.
    TD;LR fully patched Ultra score of 7800, is pretty much identical to the year old unpatched and unmitigated 7803 score.
     
  8. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,762
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    19799/20081/19100 Physics scores => CPU
    Looks kind of wild, considering all are at same 4,5GHz.
     
  9. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,844
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Yes, that always varies somewhat depending upon if some process is triggered while that specific test runs. It's always around 20K.
     
  10. user1

    user1 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    217
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    for the most part spectre and meltdown most heavily affects things like disk I/O and Virtualization performance. so while it may not effect benchmarks that much, it does matter for anything running on a server or virtual machine.

    Your average user with a harddrive on windows 10 will barely notice, if at all.
     

  11. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,791
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    so games useing DRM VM as method will suffer? ? For most part in normal use I see no diffrence, I dont do I/O have stuff or VM anymore, only game I have that was Insanely heavy on the I/O was SWTOR and SSD didnt help help that game one bit cause that bottle neck the game engine is casing,
     
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    123
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Uh? you're only realising this now??????

    AC was one of the first games demonstrated to suffer from spectre.
     

Share This Page