Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,489
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    lol pleased that didn't become default like settings has
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  2. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    I ve been having many bugs in win 10 pro, like photos not opening up with microsoft photos, and resetting or reinstallingn the app doesn t do anything, reg error, and search bar stops working, and advanced options keeps getting forgotten by the OS, like minimizing animations, anyone has any fix, i hate win 10
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Are you sure you have not broke OS yourself with tweaks?

    Clean install, and maybe switch to home edition.
     
  4. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Clean install, same thing, what tweaks do you mean?
    The only tweak i did was the mouse fix for input lag, everything else is original
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    There are many tweaks for Windows, like anti-telemetry, anti-store, cleaners, latency and what-not. We have seen several threads here with ask for help where turned out the OT made troubles themselves with some tweaks.
     
  6. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    cleaners... yes, i have 2, i have wisecare 365 and ccleaner, are these an issue? and which to use?
     
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    I do not use cleaners, so I can`t recommend here... But potentially every cleaner is dangerous.
     
  8. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    What do u do to clean registry and temperary files and such
     
  9. zig11727

    zig11727 Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Aorus 2080 Ti
    @ramthegamer

    I use Privazer there a donor's version and free version never had a problem does a great job updated bi-monthly. The donor's version is lifetime license.
     
    ramthegamer likes this.
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Registry does not need cleaning. For temporary files I created dedicated partition. Windows provides means for the temporary files cleaning. And browsers provide too.
     
    ramthegamer and BetA like this.

  11. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    So now i should do clean install again?, is it ok to do a clean install after 1 week , i have an ssd 850 evo
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    If you do clean install without using cleaners, and problems are gone then you solved the issue.
    If problems persist then try home edition.
     
  13. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Ok
     
  14. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    I do clean the registry sometimes, but going manually trough and only removing leftovers from uninstalled programs since geek doesn't catch everything, same goes for looking for leftovers in system folders.
    Personally I ran into issues by having temp on a different disk/partition, some installations/uninstallations/updates fail, so wouldn't recommend it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2020
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Not here.
     

  16. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    254
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    Powershell script for cleaning up Windows.... "Start-WindowsCleanup" from GodHand@MDL..
    Tested it on several Machines and it works really good, also gives you an before and after at the end...
    I pasted the code at the bottom, just copy it and save it as *.ps1
    EDIT: code is too long to post it here...

    Pastebin:
    --> https://pastebin.com/e8pMhgxK

    What does it do?

    Source and more infos over @
    https://forums. my digitallife.net/threads/start-windowscleanup.80284/


    Best Regards
     
  17. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    As I recall it gave issues when a reboot was needed, don't recall which Windows version so it might work flawless these days if you say so.
    Although, since I got plenty of space on my Windows SSD and know where temporary files are placed, I feel no need to have them on other SSD's.
    With exception of two very large programs I use, their temporary installation folders are on another drive, although I found a way to keep the installed 243GB for one of them intact without the need for a complete reinstall upon a fresh Windows installation.
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    @BetA

    Some of the actions in that script are too daring.
    Two places in the script raised a questions for me as a programmer.
    But overall the quality of the script is high.
     
  19. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,323
    Likes Received:
    254
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    thank you for the Response, might i ask, wich "Two Places" do you mean? That raised a question?
    Thanks for looking over it.. :)
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,689
    Likes Received:
    6,590
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    1. In the code of the function "Stop-Running" (started at line 181) he uses PowerShell cmdlets to organize a cycles for closing of the services and of the processes:

    Code:
    If ($PSItem -is [Diagnostics.Process])
    {
        If ($PSItem.Name -eq 'explorer')
        {
            While ((Get-Process -Name explorer).HasExited -eq $false) { Stop-Process -Name explorer -Force -Verbose }
        }
        Else
        {
            $Retries = 5
            While ($Retries -gt 0 -and ((Get-Process -Name $PSItem.Name -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).Responding -eq $true))
            {
                Stop-Process -Name $PSItem.Name -Force -Verbose -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
                Start-Sleep 1
                If ((Get-Process -Name $PSItem.Name -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).Responding -eq $true) { Start-Sleep 5 }
                $Retries--
            }
        }
    }
    ElseIf ($PSItem -is [ServiceProcess.ServiceController])
    {
        If ((Get-Service -Name $PSItem.Name -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).Status -ne 'Stopped')
        {
            $Retries = 5
            While ($Retries -gt 0 -and ((Get-Service -Name $PSItem.Name -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).Status -ne 'Stopped'))
            {
                Stop-Service -Name $PSItem.Name -Force -Verbose -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
                Start-Sleep 1
                If ((Get-Service -Name $PSItem.Name -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue).Status -eq 'Running') { Start-Sleep 5 }
                $Retries--
            }
        }
    }
    

    I would use .Net objects [Diagnostics.Process] and [ServiceProcess.ServiceController] to do that:

    Code:
    If ($PSItem -is [Diagnostics.Process])
    {
        If ($PSItem.Name -eq 'explorer')
        {
            Try { $PSItem.Kill() }
            Catch { }
        }
        Else
        {
            Try
            {
                if($true -eq $PSItem.CloseMainWindow())  // send request to close the main window
                {
                    $PSItem.WaitForExit(10000) // process has main window so we will wait for the exit for 10 seconds
                }
                if( !$PSItem.HasExited )
                {
                    $PSItem.Kill()
                }
            }
            Catch { }
        }
    }
    ElseIf ($PSItem -is [ServiceProcess.ServiceController])
    {
        If ($PSItem.Status -ne 'Stopped')
        {
            Try
            {
                if( $PSItem.Status -ne 'StopPending' )
                {
                    $PSItem.Stop()  // stop the service
                }
                $PSItem.WaitForStatus('Stopped', [TimeSpan]::FromSeconds(10))  // wait for service to stop for 10 seconds
            }
            Catch { }
        }
    }
    
    His code for processes is flawed because first it collects the processes by name, and then it closes them getting the process by name again - that second request for the process by name can return not the same process. In my code example the processes already collected by name get closed by the instance itself.

    2. Why he uses PowerShell facility to run DISM and not the same [Diagnostics.Process]?
     
    SpajdrEX and BetA like this.

Share This Page