Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    344
    GPU:
    igpu
    @boogieman If you run Everything from PowerRun(elevated) you can rename/move/delete protected files and folders, try doing that with windows search. Everything run from PowerRun is a tweakers dream :)
     
    boogieman likes this.
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,367
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Well, I know where to look for such leftovers.
     
  3. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,527
    Likes Received:
    581
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    Most of us know this some dont want to bothered. I know but I anal/ocd bout that stuff :)

    I also have windows search/indexing disabled I never use it I generally know what should be there and what shouldnt be there.
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,367
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super

  5. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,983
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Finally figured out how to get my processes and threads down to where I had it with Windows 8... it's been bugging me for ages because Windows 10 doesn't let you disable lots of things with Services but finally figured it out by using registry.

    [​IMG]
     
    Tiny_Clanger likes this.
  6. Dener de Paula Pereira

    Dener de Paula Pereira Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Vega 56 Pulse
    How?
     
  7. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,983
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    By taking ownership of registry keys and then disabling things I do not need.

    For example, services can be found here.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Services

    Then I right click what I want to edit, go into permissions, take ownership, then I can edit them.

    The "Start" within each key is what lets you edit the startup state, 4 is obviously disabled.

    Also, the program Winero Tweaker has a setting titled "Split Threshold for Svchost", when setting above ram this will lower process count by a bit as well.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
  8. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    344
    GPU:
    igpu
    JUst open regedit from Power Run, no need to faff around with permissions, just elevate stuff when needed.
     
  9. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,983
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    What is Power Run?
     
  10. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    232
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    You realize that setting to old value and seeing less "Svchost" processes is not altering the number of services running.
    It is just putting more services on less Svchost processes, the newer values can help separate the services and increase stability.
     

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    2,200
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    This. one of the issues with XP, Vista 7 and 8 is that a long running service can become unstoppable and then you have to go and kill the svchost containing it and several others to make things work.
     
  12. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,983
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I have not found any stability issues, I'm just trying to figure out how to tweak 10 myself to free up resources now that I am forced to use it... I did notice a lot of them are now grouped together in task manager which made me go ohh ok so that's what the setting does.

    I guess this is Power Run? https://www.sordum.org/9416/powerrun-v1-3-run-with-highest-privileges/
     
    Tiny_Clanger likes this.
  13. Tiny_Clanger

    Tiny_Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    344
    GPU:
    igpu
    KissSh0t likes this.
  14. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,330
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    Or NSUDO works too.
     
  15. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,983
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Not sure if this would be considered as a tip or tweak... well.. I guess it is a tweak of sorts.

    Matrix Screensaver! it falls down the screen like in the movie... it's so cool.

    [​IMG]

    Downloaded it from here https://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/matrix_screensaver.html

    You install it by running the install.bat file then it appears in list of available screensavers.

    : D
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,367
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    How to check what process has requested the non-default system timer resolution.

    Just execute "powercfg /energy" in command line - it will create a report file, and there you will see like this:
    Code:
    Warnings
    Platform Timer Resolution:Platform Timer Resolution
    The default platform timer resolution is 15.6 ms (15625000 ns) and should be used whenever the system is idle. If the timer resolution is increased, processor power management technologies may not be effective. The timer resolution may be increased due to multimedia playback or graphical animations.
    Current Timer Resolution (100 ns units) 10000
    Maximum Timer Period (100 ns units) 156250
    
    Platform Timer Resolution:Outstanding Timer Request
    A program or service has requested a timer resolution smaller than the platform maximum timer resolution.
    Requested Period 10000
    Requesting Process ID 5800
    Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume8\Program Files (x86)\Opera\66.0.3515.72\opera.exe
    
    PS Actually you will see there all processes which have requested this tweak.
     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    232
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I'll have to test this later, does it switch to focused app timer when multiple app times are in use?
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,367
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    No. The lowest of requested values is maintained. If process is stopped its request is eliminated.
     
  19. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    116
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Wallpaper Engine is worth getting if you like dynamic wallpapers.
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,367
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Create a shortcut (on the Desktop)
    Code:
    explorer shell:AppsFolder\c5e2524a-ea46-4f67-841f-6a9465d9d515_cw5n1h2txyewy!App
    - and behold abandoned variant of Explorer. Just for fun.
     
    BetA likes this.

Share This Page