Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    you don't have to unlock anything, unlocking just lets the unlocked plan show up in windows power plan app.
    The utility should show changes, it shows each value for each plan (down left corner).
    But if they added a totally new power option, then the tool won't show it.

    Edit: yes your not going to see improvements in games as the video card is most likely what hold back fps in most games.
    One of the main changes of the Bitsum HP plan is to disable of parked cores, which would be more noticeable on a laptop/mobile which tends to cater to parking cores.
     
  2. Kulagin

    Kulagin Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    R9 280X
    Hey guys.

    So I bought SSD, moved my system from my HDD to SSD and unmounted my HDD Windows drive. So my SSD became Windows C drive.

    I bought it for video games, so I need as much free space on SSD as I can get. Just now I moved my users folder from C:\ drive(SSD) to D:\ drive(HDD). I loaded from Windows installer USB flash drive and created symbolic link with:
    Code:
    robocopy /copyall /mir /xj c:\users d:\users
    rmdir /S /Q c:\users
    mklink /J c:\users d:\users
    It all works fine.

    My question is: what other Windows folders I can safely move from my SSD?

    upd-1. Just found out that I can just as well move ProgramData folder.

    upd-2. Found it: How to move users programfiles (and x86) and programdata to HDD after installing Windows in SSD boot Drive.

    upd-3. They also say you can move \Windows\Installer: folder: https://superuser.com/a/1067344/668974
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,253
    Likes Received:
    10,338
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    @Kulagin
    TEMP folders (user`s and system`s), page file, swap file.
     
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,253
    Likes Received:
    10,338
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    @big ROBOT bill
    I guess first step should be setting it to other drive, just like page file. If it is even configurable. After that you should be able to delete it.
    Note that swap file is used for UWP apps as I take it, so you can search for any UWP apps (like Settings, Store...)
     
    big ROBOT bill likes this.

  5. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,360
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  6. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,835
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    GPU:
    .
    ^^ Wow ... that looks great.
     
  7. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    The problem I would have with that theme is unless everything had a dark background color, switching to a web browser white page then affects/bothers my eyes tillI get used to it.
    This is probably age issue as I doubt it would bother young eye's.
     
  8. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    442
    GPU:
    5700XT
    You can install Dark Mode extensions for both Firefox and Chrome to change the web pages to dark background although sometimes you have to do exceptions for certain web pages.

    I installed the Black Areo theme and it's great. The only thing I couldn't get working is changing the Quick Access blue star to grey.
     
  9. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Graphic priority for apps in 1803.
    Go to settings > System, then display and scroll down to graphics settings.
    Then depending on type of app (classic or universal) browse and add your game.
    Then click on the added game for options which are default, power saving, and HP.
    Hit save you're done. I have no idea how much this will help, just putting it out there if no one already did.

    I don't know if this does something similar to HP in graphics driver profiles, haven't tested it.
    This might be more for graphics-intensive apps like Photoshop, 3dmax etc, not full-screen games, don't know.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018
  10. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super

  11. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,360
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Im not sure, they have special build numbers, so dont know which exactly ltsb is. you can however try, be sure to make a restore point, so you can restore when you get no more image on screen, just the mouse. (happened to me twice when trying older builds).
     
  12. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,835
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    GPU:
    .
    Yes they worked. You have to choose the 14393/Anniversary update files.
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,414
    Likes Received:
    2,092
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Just heads up for those @ Haswell and if you still use ITA 1.9, don't.

    I unistanlled it ~ RS3 and now when I tried again in RS4, my system ran slower by raw cpu throughout put..

    Cinebench 15 with ITA: 825, no ITA 954
    aida64 memory: R 35.5GB/s, W 37.5, C 34.5; no ITA, R 36.1GB/s, W 37.7, C 35.6

    2 cpu intense game benchmarks ran slower too, guess it was a thing in the past by Win7, 8.x and early win10 versions, pre RS1, RS2..
     
  14. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    rtx 3070
    What's ITA?
     
  15. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GB R9 390X G1
    Intel Technology Access I suppose.
     

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,414
    Likes Received:
    2,092
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    jura11 likes this.
  17. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    rtx 3070
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,414
    Likes Received:
    2,092
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I don't run it in the background, or use it to launch games, just for those registry tweaks.
     
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    You could enable those tweaks and then find them in reg and export, then merge to one file so it is easy setup the next upgrade.
     
  20. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,923
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    Have you tried Ryse recently btw? Does it still stutter without ITA driver?
     

Share This Page