1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 - Tips and Tweaks

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    you don't have to unlock anything, unlocking just lets the unlocked plan show up in windows power plan app.
    The utility should show changes, it shows each value for each plan (down left corner).
    But if they added a totally new power option, then the tool won't show it.

    Edit: yes your not going to see improvements in games as the video card is most likely what hold back fps in most games.
    One of the main changes of the Bitsum HP plan is to disable of parked cores, which would be more noticeable on a laptop/mobile which tends to cater to parking cores.
     
  2. Kulagin

    Kulagin Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia MSi
    Hey guys.

    So I bought SSD, moved my system from my HDD to SSD and unmounted my HDD Windows drive. So my SSD became Windows C drive.

    I bought it for video games, so I need as much free space on SSD as I can get. Just now I moved my users folder from C:\ drive(SSD) to D:\ drive(HDD). I loaded from Windows installer USB flash drive and created symbolic link with:
    Code:
    robocopy /copyall /mir /xj c:\users d:\users
    rmdir /S /Q c:\users
    mklink /J c:\users d:\users
    It all works fine.

    My question is: what other Windows folders I can safely move from my SSD?

    upd-1. Just found out that I can just as well move ProgramData folder.

    upd-2. Found it: How to move users programfiles (and x86) and programdata to HDD after installing Windows in SSD boot Drive.

    upd-3. They also say you can move \Windows\Installer: folder: https://superuser.com/a/1067344/668974
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,905
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @Kulagin
    TEMP folders (user`s and system`s), page file, swap file.
     
  4. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    448
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1660Ti
    Can't delete my swap file, it's open in another program program
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,905
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @big ROBOT bill
    I guess first step should be setting it to other drive, just like page file. If it is even configurable. After that you should be able to delete it.
    Note that swap file is used for UWP apps as I take it, so you can search for any UWP apps (like Settings, Store...)
     
    big ROBOT bill likes this.
  6. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    27,599
    Likes Received:
    651
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  7. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,707
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    ^^ Wow ... that looks great.
     
  8. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    The problem I would have with that theme is unless everything had a dark background color, switching to a web browser white page then affects/bothers my eyes tillI get used to it.
    This is probably age issue as I doubt it would bother young eye's.
     
  9. MaCk0y

    MaCk0y Master Guru

    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    115
    GPU:
    RX 580 Red Devil
    You can install Dark Mode extensions for both Firefox and Chrome to change the web pages to dark background although sometimes you have to do exceptions for certain web pages.

    I installed the Black Areo theme and it's great. The only thing I couldn't get working is changing the Quick Access blue star to grey.
     
  10. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Graphic priority for apps in 1803.
    Go to settings > System, then display and scroll down to graphics settings.
    Then depending on type of app (classic or universal) browse and add your game.
    Then click on the added game for options which are default, power saving, and HP.
    Hit save you're done. I have no idea how much this will help, just putting it out there if no one already did.

    I don't know if this does something similar to HP in graphics driver profiles, haven't tested it.
    This might be more for graphics-intensive apps like Photoshop, 3dmax etc, not full-screen games, don't know.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2018

  11. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Master Guru

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    27,599
    Likes Received:
    651
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Im not sure, they have special build numbers, so dont know which exactly ltsb is. you can however try, be sure to make a restore point, so you can restore when you get no more image on screen, just the mouse. (happened to me twice when trying older builds).
     
  13. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,707
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Yes they worked. You have to choose the 14393/Anniversary update files.
     
  14. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,074
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Just heads up for those @ Haswell and if you still use ITA 1.9, don't.

    I unistanlled it ~ RS3 and now when I tried again in RS4, my system ran slower by raw cpu throughout put..

    Cinebench 15 with ITA: 825, no ITA 954
    aida64 memory: R 35.5GB/s, W 37.5, C 34.5; no ITA, R 36.1GB/s, W 37.7, C 35.6

    2 cpu intense game benchmarks ran slower too, guess it was a thing in the past by Win7, 8.x and early win10 versions, pre RS1, RS2..
     
  15. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    What's ITA?
     

  16. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GB R9 390X G1
    Intel Technology Access I suppose.
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,074
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Yes.



    I have these software tricks though if someone is interested.

    Gamebooster 3 (3.4, still IObit), windows10manager

    Optimized are those that I use
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    jura11 likes this.
  18. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    Game Booster..Isn't it unnecessary if you have enough ram?
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,074
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I don't run it in the background, or use it to launch games, just for those registry tweaks.
     
  20. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    You could enable those tweaks and then find them in reg and export, then merge to one file so it is easy setup the next upgrade.
     

Share This Page