1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 Thread

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by PhazeDelta1, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Reboot, then run this from elevated CMD

    Code:
    reg query "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion" | findstr BuildLabEx
    See what it says

    If it says the same, post a screen of the updates you have installed
     
  2. Mindtaker

    Mindtaker Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Extreme Edition
    Ohhh thank you!!

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Jobs a good'n :)
     
  4. DireBadger

    DireBadger Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1070 AMP Extreme
    So i spent all morning downloading and installing this just so i can remove it and install it all over again. No wonder people buy consoles.
     

  5. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    So.. I just did this and my activation key is gone.

    Is this supposed to happen? When I go to the Store tab it does nothing and my W8 key doesn't work anymore on this version, did I get trolled..?

    OMG do I have to go back to W8.1 now again?

    Wot..
     
  6. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    This is the default key 10 gives you after an upgrade
    Code:
    VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
    Elevated CMD:
    Code:
    slmgr -ipk VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
     
  7. bdub5886

    bdub5886 Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming
    @Extraordinary

    So if I upgrade to Win 10 and then later to a clean install. What about my LAN driver and what not? I haven't found a current LAN driver for WIN 10 on my manufacture motherboard site. Or is there a way to find that driver else where?
     
  8. dk_lightning

    dk_lightning Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,425
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Try the Win 8 driver. Should still work.
     
  9. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    If everything is working after the upgrade, it 'should' be fine with a clean install, chances are 8.1 drivers will work fine

    But if you want to back up the current working drivers, use something like Drivergrabber and save them somewhere for the clean install
     
  10. bdub5886

    bdub5886 Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming
    Thanks for quick response. I see we have the same motherboard, so hopefully that will work.

    Extraordinary

    Thanks for the response I'll try driver grab if need be.
     

  11. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Ok, so I did this, it said 'upgrading components' and now my version became W10-Pro.

    Is this supposed to happen? My Windows still hasn't been activated because now it even says fill in a new code to activate Windows.

    Uhhm, Should I go back to W8.1 and fill in my old code and re-install?

    If I repaste the code now, it says this code can't be used.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  12. Danmcrea

    Danmcrea New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290 GAMING 4
    Okay, so I've made an update, but I think I've made a mistake of leaving old Win7 AMD Radeon drivers. I've reinstalled the driver so it would fit the Win10 after the update, but as it appears I was getting weird lags while gaming. Right now I'm back with Win7, but here is the question. Do You think it will make a difference if I delete the driver before the update? Or is rather irrelevant and it can be something different?
    On side note, while reinstalling the driver I had a few issues, suddenly it couldn't recognise my GPU, after a few tries with DDU etc. it finally installed correctly, but as I said before I was getting weird lags.
     
  13. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    You could try, because 10 never actually activated, your 8,1 license might still be valid for 8.1

    Might actually activate this time around too

    If it won't activate 8.1, then it registered for 10, and you should be able to just clean install 10
     
  14. Elite3540

    Elite3540 Master Guru

    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G OC
    Okay, going to try this, will update you if I'm done.

    Thanks. :)
     
  15. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Had the same issue myself, default driver (one that was left from W7 I assume) gave no audio.

    However, the driver found here worked beautifully:
    http://forums.creative.com/showthread.php?t=720562

    (scroll to the end of first post for download link).

    Once again, it took a dedicated modder to do what big companies can't be bothered with (until October at least) ;)
     

  16. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    How can I disable the "auto-login" thing? Ie that Windows autostarts to the desktop of the last user.

    I'd like for it to start to login screen instead, as my PC has two user accounts.
     
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Set passwords on the accounts
     
  18. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    So... my Windows 10 download via Windows Update is now "Preparing for installation..."

    Anything I need to do before I install? Disable anything in bios, disable certain background apps?

    BTW, I'm assuming this update will install w10 from scratch, meaning I'll have to re-install all the apps etc?
     
  19. StewieTech

    StewieTech Chuck Norris

    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    884
    GPU:
    MSI gtx 960 Gaming
    You can choose during the installation if you want to keep your stuff or do a clean upgrade.
     
  20. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,439
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I just let mine go about it's business, didn't do anything other than hit the "GO GO GO" button

    It's an upgrade, so everything should remain installed, unless certain Metro apps for 8.1 are not available for 10
     

Share This Page