Windows 10 Thread

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by PhazeDelta1, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,739
    Likes Received:
    377
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    stupid question as i forgot how this works.

    IF i dont let windows create partions, IE I already have partion the installer wont make backup partion correct?

    Think when I original installed win 7 on my SSD I partion and formatted before going into, setup and it never made one on the ssd driver. I pretty much want avoid having that partion, though for some reason i could not avoid it from being made on VM test i doing
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    If you just point it to a partition and don't tell it to do anything else, just install, it shouldn't make any new partitions, only if you create a new one, then it will try to make system reserved etc
     
  3. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    oh ok, that's good to know. I'll upgrade when it's ready then. BTW, are there any significant games/apps that don't work with 10?
     
  4. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    403
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Completed my W10 install from Windows update only to find that it has downloaded Windows 10 HOME and not Pro. Is this the version everyone else is getting too?

    Everything I had remained installed including drivers and games. The only issue I had was reinstalling my wireless Xbox 360 receiver but that only took a minute to fix.
     

  5. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Haven't really tried many games yet, just Thief which works fine

    All my usual programs I used on 8.1 run fine, haven't found anything that did run on 8.1, that now doesn't
     
  6. MrH

    MrH Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Armour
    So it took one bloke 10 minutes to fix their driver, but it's going to take their team of professionals 3 months.

    Thanks mate, you saved me the torture of onboard.
     
  7. StewieTech

    StewieTech Chuck Norris

    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    887
    GPU:
    MSI gtx 960 Gaming
    I had w8.1 pro and now i have w10 pro. I´m almost certain it is a pro->pro upgrade.
     
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    If you were running 8.1 Core, or a version of 7 below Pro/Ultimate, it will upgrade to 10 Home

    You need the original OS to be 7 Pro/Ultimate, or 8.1 Pro for it to upgrade to 10 Pro
     
  9. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,750
    Likes Received:
    403
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Ah I see well that makes perfect sense then. I'm not complaining about it I just forgot my Pro version was my Windows 8 which I'd not used in years lol. :banana:

    So far everything is running great, I love that snappy feeling a new OS gives your machine! :D
     
  10. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    236
    GPU:
    .
    This is kinda funny, best WAT ever:

    Created bootable iso with MSDN iso (no VLK), installed W10 from scratch without a MS account, I did not used the product key (I wanted to check if there were any issues before activating), installation complete, OS was not activated, check for updates, restart, the OS is fully activated :|
     

  11. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,739
    Likes Received:
    377
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    so cause the VM i did for some reason had unpartioned HDD space when it made partion it made backup partions.

    So i right then, long as there partion there it wont make one, and pretty much choose Format will to do clean install will do same thing? or will click format cause backup partion to get created?
     
  12. deets75

    deets75 Guest

    I wonder if I can update my laptop from win 7 32 bit to win 10 64 bit..
     
  13. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    If you only choose format, it will not create any new partitions, only if you press 'Create new partition' then it will try to make reserved system partitions etc

    So:

    Before
    P1
    P2 << Format << Install to
    P3

    After
    P1
    P2 << Win 10
    P3
     
  14. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Extraordinary, can I just say thank you for everything you're doing for the community when it comes to OS troubleshooting. It's truly appreciated. Thanks mate.
     
  15. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,733
    Likes Received:
    214
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    Yep just finished installing and taking a tour around W10.

    I downloaded 353.30 from Nvidia's site but W10 automatically downloaded 353.62 for me and installed them which was nice :)

    I am liking the OS so far, very easy to use and a little weird to navigate at first but within minutes I am used to it.

    I am not too keen on the start menu though, any other start menus out there that work with windows 10? I had StartIsBack installed on W8.1 and loved it but it doesn't work on W10 so I had to uninstall it.

    Also anyway to set Windows Update to "notify me but let me choose when to install" its defaulted to "automatic" and only other option is "on restart".

    Cheers guys!
     

  16. Braadkip

    Braadkip Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Same here.

    And though not listed in the original thread at Creative Forums, Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro Xtreme Gamer PCI also works fine with "SB X-Fi Series Support Pack 3.4" :banana:
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  17. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    236
    GPU:
    .
    You should be able. 32 and 64 bit product key are interchangeable since Windows Vista...
     
  18. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,739
    Likes Received:
    377
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    yah he is one the most helpful people i know
     
  19. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    New startisback available for 10
    http://startisback.com/#download-tab

    GPEDIT.MSC from RUN will allow you to set updates to notify before download and install

    Computer Config > Admin templates > Windows components > windows updates > Configure automatic updates > Enable and Select option 2 :)
     
  20. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,430
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    :) Thanks

    :)
     

Share This Page