Windows 10 Build 10240

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,857
    Likes Received:
    1,378
    GPU:
    .
    It's worthless without forewarning and not being built into the OS.
     
  2. ZebMacahan

    ZebMacahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    Windows 10 now up an running:banana:. To trigger the update I deleted all files in c:/windows/softwaredistribution/download and then opened cmd as administrator, and typed "wuauclt.exe /updatenow". WU then started to download the the files and eventually installed windows 10. Upgraded from win 8.1 btw.
     
  3. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,528
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Thanks, that seems to be working for me and 20% in a few mins so not even that slow either.

    Kinda wish it didn't work at nearly 4am though lol.
     
  4. ZebMacahan

    ZebMacahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    lol, yeah it's been a very long night:program:
     

  5. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,933
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I didnt have any folder, but I have installed that customer experience telemetry bla bla


    after I ran wuauclt.exe /updatenow it started download and also that new $WidnowsBT folder appeared (~ 4.68Gb), but this is what happened after

    It still sees as Insider preview only.. After I press check it goes back to main menu with reserved windows10, Guess I won't bother yet
    [​IMG]
     
  6. dk_lightning

    dk_lightning Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 8GB
    I have noticed something odd.

    When I install Windows 10 10240 in a VM it activates on its own. No input from me, no key no nothing.

    But when burnt to a disk and installed on my PC it is not activated.

    Whats that all about??
     
  7. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,528
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Damn, update just failed.

    Probably for the best.
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,933
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I was having some error too, happened after I used that windows download command..

    Then I ran windows update reset command - in win8manager repair center and now it didn't fail by boot or when I had to recheck all, it just says win10 reserved.


    But its strange, windows update said insider preview.. Maybe that's why it failed by update, it downloaded wrong setup?


    Well I was thinking to delete that $WindowsBT folder, can I or is it protected?


    EDIT: nvm its deleted :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  9. dk_lightning

    dk_lightning Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 8GB
    the CMD command to force updates does jack s... for me.

    Gonna call it a night and get some sleep since its now gone 5am :\
     
  10. styckx

    styckx Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    So. How does this work..

    Windows 10 is free etc... Ok.. So I have a legit Windows 8 key. Obviously free upgrade to Windows 8.1.. But if I format I have to install 8 first. Suffer through all the updates, then upgrade to 8.1

    So.. Windows 10.. Let's say I want to format... Do I seriously have to

    Install Windows 8
    Install ALL updates
    Update to Windows 8.1
    Install ALL updates
    Install Windows 10

    ? - Has MS mentioned at all that we will have access to install media this time? Because if the above is my only option to reinstall a legit copy of Windows 10 after a format.. That's some B.S. and might as well just buy a copy to save me from spending an insufferable amount of time just to reinstall it legit..
     

  11. dk_lightning

    dk_lightning Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 8GB
    You can make an ISO once you have upgraded. IIRC
     
  12. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW

    This has been discussed ad nauseam.

    Upgrade to windows 10.
    Create your install media
    reformat
    ????
    Profit
     
  13. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,973
    Likes Received:
    483
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    No, mainly because I am not sure whether that June 2010 DirectX Redistributable is even compatible with Windows 10 anymore...

    Anyway, the Dynamic Lighting issue with Train Simulator 2015 seems to be fixed now, thanks to the timely release of the official v353.62 WHQL driver from NVIDIA. I previously installed the modded version of that driver but clearly something must have gotten broken during the install. :banana:
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  14. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,671
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Its format and install windows 8 (no need to install updates)
    upgrade to windows 10
    remove previous windows version with disc cleanup.
     
  15. deets75

    deets75 Guest

    from the windows 10 iso/media creation page
    If you upgraded to Windows 10 on this PC by taking advantage of the free upgrade offer and successfully activated Windows 10 on this PC in the past, you won't have a Windows 10 product key, and you can skip the product key page by selecting the Skip button. Your PC will activate online automatically so long as the same edition of Windows 10 was successfully activated on this PC by using the free Windows 10 upgrade offer.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/media-creation-tool-install?ocid=ms_wol_win10
     

  16. Mindtaker

    Mindtaker Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Extreme Edition
    I have all updates and I'm on 10.0.10240.16384, why?
     
  17. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,973
    Likes Received:
    483
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    It should be 10.0.10240.16393, at least it is on my system. Explorer shows as v10.0.10240.16240 however.
     
  18. Mindtaker

    Mindtaker Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Extreme Edition
    I don't know.. :( I updated a week ago
     
  19. deets75

    deets75 Guest

    oh god file history is driving me nuts! I delete the folders I dont want backed up, reboot and there they all are again so I am forced to backup all my user fold when I only want minecraft saves! I was hoping this would be fixed for release, but I have people who would be using this tool for work and they wont switch while its doing this.
     
  20. NVIDIA_X64

    NVIDIA_X64 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
    Hi all,

    Hope someone can help:)

    Yesterday i had Windows 8.1 pro x64 installed and activated on my PC. I reserved my copy of Windows 10 using the icon, but i did not wait to update to Windows 10 via Windows update. Instead i downloaded the iso of build 10240 and then just installed it over top of Windows 8.1.

    It seems to have installed and activated fine, but are there any drawbacks to what i have done?

    Have i lost the ability to do a fresh install of Windows 10 in the future?
     

Share This Page