Windows 10 Build 10240

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,121
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    Just installing this now. Sounds like W10 is shaping up really nicely :)
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Gabriel Aul 39m39 minutes ago We're releasing an update package on WU for PC build 10240 today. It will install automatically or you can check for updates to grab it.



    -
    lol, remember this?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Blast from the past Lol
     
  4. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    It didn't look good for a while, that's for sure :)
     

  5. holystarlight

    holystarlight Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    Nvidia 3080 TI
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    320
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    Question for those that have win10 on Intel platform .
    How are driver support for things like USB, Intel Networks , Intel ME , Intel rapid storage , etc .
    Drivers are MS or signed Intel ones (or none is installed by default ) ?
     
  7. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,161
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    Windows 10 Pro is definitely very nice but there are still a few issues here and there.

    For example, Groove Music was not picking up my album art despite the fact that both Media Monkey and iTunes do it just fine. I figured it must be something to do with Windows Media Player so I opened that and reset the library. While that app was updating the media library and playing some music I noticed some corruption in the window (black areas and missing text/icons) which remained there even when I moved the app around with the mouse. I had to close the app and re-open it to fix it.

    The operating system has been 100% stable in use though with only a few of the old Windows 8/8.1 Start menu games such as Angry Birds not working properly in Windows 10 (I just ended up uninstalling them).

    Definitely feels very polished considering this is not yet the final release build but, let's face it, Windows is an evolving platform where it receives patches and updates on a weekly or monthly basis to address bugs and other issues. Windows 10 will be no different and I expect many more tweaks will be made to it over the next few years as happened with Windows 8 (though that was awful on release). I would like to see less of the Start menu-style apps personally - they should be left for tablets IMO - and more full featured desktop apps. Edge in particular would benefit from this as would the Settings menu.

    P.S. How can I change the interval between background changes in Themes? There is now no option to do it as far as I can see.
     
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,558
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Haven't found a way to do it either, probably a registry trick if anything
     
  9. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    THats a KMS key. If you use that it will switch you to volume license and will expire in 180 days.
     
  10. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,367
    Likes Received:
    3,486
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    So forced windows updates incl drivers whether we like it or not. If not happy with driver, must uninstall it through device mgr, download MS troubleshooter app which will give option to hide driver. Who the fk thought up this stuff? I may hold off windows 10 until it matures further, ie, a 10.1 version.
     

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Windows has some flac metadata bugs at least (if it's bugged in File Explorer, it's bugged in Groove Music). I've reported few. If you spot bugs you should report them using the feedback app.
     
  12. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    162
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Forced updates is the dumbest idea I have heard ever! I was so infuriated by it.

    Then I heard it only applies to Home Edition... Pro & Enterprise can choose to defer updates.

    If the option to choose manually when to download updates and when to install them is not available, I won't be updating from 8.1
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  13. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    That's what they say. Running Pro now, can't disable **** :D
     
  14. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Come July 29, Windows will cease to be an operating system and will henceforth be known as a service.

    :funny:
     
  15. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,161
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    A few bugs...

    1. James Bond 007: Blood Stone (retail disc version), one of the last games by Bizarre Creations, loads and starts fine but in this third-person game, James Bond is invisible as are the enemies!!! Otherwise all the other graphics appear fine, which is weird (or bizarre, ha!). Pretty much unplayable. None of the compatibility settings work.

    2. NVIDIA Control Panel > Manage 3D Settings - I cannot set the DSR - Factors because I cannot see the pull-down and hence none of the factors (though 2.00x appears to be selected). Also, I cannot adjust the DSR - Smoothness setting either, which is set to 33%. Using v353.49 drivers.

    *EDIT*
    2. turned out to be an issue caused by enabling Mouse > Pointer options > "Automatically move pointer to the default button in a dialogue box"!!! Uncheck that option and I can select the DSR options as normal. :bang:
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015

  16. uncleknacker

    uncleknacker Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 1070
    Just to let those know who want a clean install, I originally had an activated 10166 build, upgraded to 10240 the other night, all activated, but I don't really like upgrades only clean installs, so I removed my PC first via "All Settings"> "Manage my account" > "Devices". I then erased my SSD with secure erase via a Linux live CD boot, so obviously no trace of the previous OS, installed build 10240 directly from a burned GB ISO without inputting any keys, booted into the fresh install and it's showing as already activated. I've even re-joined the insider program as well successfully.

    Checked winver and no timebomb, no watermarks etc either.
     
  17. Sabbath

    Sabbath Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Super
    Hi EdKiefer,
    Everything run's just grate, and i did not have to download USB, Intel Networks , Intel ME , Intel rapid storage , etc. All's i had to download was Intel Chipset Software nvidia driver (353.30) & my sound driver's UNi Xonar drivers 175a. I just play'ed a bit of Project CARS with my Logitech g27 all cool here. The only thing i had too put in windows 7 compatibility mode was my Zalman Knossos Professional Gaming Mouse. Forgot to add this i am on build 10240 and fully Activated
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  18. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Z77 here. Everything runs fine. Even using the RST from Windows 8.1 as the Windows 10 one didn't install (wrong platform)
    No USB issues, ME installed fine, the latest Intel network drivers cause DPC peaks every 5 seconds so I use the ones that come with Windows itself.
     
  19. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    374
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    • Security Update for Windows 10 for x64-based Systems (KB3074665). Just hit windows update..the one Gabe mentioned earlier.
     
  20. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Just got that.
     

Share This Page