Windows 10 Build 10049 Live - Includes Project Spartan Browser

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  2. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    Im going to actually try the upgrade for once and just run disk clean afterwards....thats for the heads up

    did they bother improving the lame start menu or we still going backwards on that area?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015
  3. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Nope, still lame lol

    Classic Shell works with it still though so it's not all bad
     
  4. Regve

    Regve New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    Many thanks
     

  5. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    203
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    project spartan

    no no no, just as lame as internet explorer has ever been... sigh :/

    upgrade from 10041 took about an hour and thats on a 450MB/s SSD

    windows audio service startup delay is also fixed, seems ok apart from spartan lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015
  6. yelsewshane

    yelsewshane Banned

    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire VaporX 290
    I use Linux for everything but games and that's the only thing I use windows for now days. Got the 10049 build installed and ya hate it with a passion as I do windows 8.1 also. Complete garbage bloated os'es my opinion but oh well only have to use this trash os when I wish to play dx12 games in the future.
     
  7. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,714
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    GPU:
    RTX 2070FE
    Is it the same "Spartan" that just has bits and pieces imported to IE 11?
     
  8. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    980TI Gaming
    besides from bugged menu, is that build stable vs 10041?
     
  9. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Totally different browser (Modern) afaik

    Seems a solid build, messed with it on my tablet and vmware, no problems I could see immediately - it was basically a bug fix & spartan from 10041
     
  10. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    980TI Gaming
    Tell u what, for my use 9926 was fine as a replacement from 8.1.
    10041 was terrible, do u think that 49 can be used as everyday build?
     

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I wouldn't, but I wouldn't install it on my main PC anyway, seems ok for pre-release though, stability wise anyway, but I haven't messed with it much more than making sure things work on my tablet, and looking for changes in VMware, so I'm probably not the best person to ask
     
  12. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    980TI Gaming
    i see thanks i wait for more input then.
     
  13. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  14. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    That was last build. This one apparently has the real thing.
     
  15. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    They said to not try it in a VM environment as it breaks them. Mail filtering in Outlook is also broken. I may try it just to see how Spartan is but I've always been more than satisfied with IE. I have Chrome but only use it when I want to use Chromecast for something. I find Firefox completely useless.

    I just don't know if I want to bother with repartitioning and dealing with dual boot again.
     

  16. Dch48

    Dch48 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
    Mega really needs to stop their lying bull that IE can't download files larger than 1gb. I've done it many times. The only site that won't allow it is Mega. They must be getting paid off.
     
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,413
    Likes Received:
    1,468
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  18. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,057
    Likes Received:
    671
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    I download Linux and Windows ISO's regularly using IE.... It's always been capable of downloading files larger than 1GB.
     
  19. Guru01

    Guru01 Master Guru

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    ASUS ROG STRIX 1070
    I haven't had the chance to go from a build to another using the update method, but been using build 10041 for couple of days and today tried to update to the new build 10049 and after 9% of installation its telling me that it cannot install on a USB 3.0 Flash Drive. Is everybody here using SSD/HDD/VM or am i the only one that needs to download the new build ISO and do a clean format and installation due to some error on MS? I'm not even sure why it would matter which source you use running or installing the Technical Preview.

    @Extraordinary

    Thank you for the download link to MEGA, but its extremely slow, getting 50-100 KB/s.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2015
  20. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    I'm using this on my main ssd and it's working pretty good so far. Try this link got full download speed when i used it earlier.

    https://mega.co.nz/#F!vJc2QbhK!2bApXxGec2oCSSL4CTKI-Q

    You will need to use an esd decryptor in the link below to create an iso. instructions are included. I would recommend a fresh install as well.

    http://www.mirrorcreator.com/files/0CDIRVOJ/esd-decrypter-wimlib-4_0.7z_links



    Also, the jury is still out on Spartan. I need more time with it before I make my final decision.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2015

Share This Page