1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 1809: Are you Mitigated with Sprectre or a New Microcode?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Eastcoasthandle, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    Synopsis: There are scattered reports that suggest that 1809 comes baked with spectre mitigation and/or cpu microcode update.

    Objective: Simply put, transparency. We should have transparency of what to expect when you either elect or forced to elect a new OS update.


    To elevate those concerns I suggest that you use:
    Inspectre for spectre mitigation: https://www.grc.com/inspectre.htm

    To Check to see if you've been mitigated via microcode use:
    HWINFO64: https://www.hwinfo.com/

    And compare uCU (HWINFO64) with:
    https://support.microsoft.com/da-dk/help/4346088/kb4346088-intel-microcode-updates.
    Any newer links are appreciated.


    Case in Point:
    Windows 10 October Update broke OC on my cpu
    Windows update 1809 is out
    Windows 10 October 2018 Update (Windows 10 ver. 1809) KILLS BW-E Overclock!!!!!!!!!



    OPTION:
    Inspectre
    This may or may not remove the microcde but it should remove the spectre mitigation.


    Example of what happened with 1803:

    KB4100347: Intel microcode updates
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  2. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    can't answer this as I upgraded and it was already in 1803, but I bet it is in clean 1809.
    I run both options disabled in InSpectre.
     
  3. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    did you check the microcode?
     
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
    Eastcoasthandle likes this.

  5. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    A suggested fix

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthre...809)-KILLS-BW-E-Overclock!!!!!!!!!#post737426

    Now you do this at your own risk. This assumes that 1809 simply usd kb4100347 and you have a dublicate of mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll. Personally, I don't fully understand how that works but the OP tried it and confirmed that it did work. It's not totally clear where the "back up" files are. I would suggest to do a search for "mcupdate"

    Edit: Yup it appears there are duplicates in windows sub directory. Do a search. However, I still get the impression that the OP found a duplicate of mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll in system32.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I am on a Asus P8Z77V Pro, it didn't affect my OC or use of XTU OC either.
    Must be specific to BW-E platforms.
     
    Eastcoasthandle likes this.
  7. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    What I am taking concern with is a new win10 update that forces mitigation without any recourse other then reverting back to an older build. This is IMO a precedent and it wouldn't be limited to force microcode update on older processors.

    The issue is that you would need to know it was done. Which is why transparency is important.
     
  8. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,699
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I have microcode on 6700k from there patchs, using 1803 and i dont see diffrence in performance, and my SSD runs the same speeds it aways has

    in fact last time ran AS SSD test it gave me score of 620is for my ssd that was on 1607 build now I have 700+ on 1803 build
     
  9. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    How long does it take your PC to recognize a usb thumb drive?
     
  10. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,699
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    i plug it in and i can access it less then 2 seconds later
     

  11. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    Hmm, on skylake CPUs it's 2 or more seconds with the microcode update. I'm talking the moment you inset the USB to the moment you see something pop up on the screen.
    Without the microcode update it's nearly instantaneous.

    There is other i/o performance losses wit that microcode update. But if it doesn't bother you then it's of no concern. But it bothered me to see what I perceived to be a noticeable reduction in overall performance.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  12. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,699
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    on my system it about 2 second before notification pops up say drive ready it was like this prior to the microcodes too

    So far from real world usage stand point I see no difference between before and after, and like said I have better score on my SSD now (722ish) then when I was using 1607 build (600ish) according to AS SSD which didnt have microcode that effected that stuff samsung 830 128gb ssd

    I not saying there isnt loses cause I know there is, but most people will be hard pressed to see them, if you stare at benchmark numbers i sure one will see them, older systems im sure the difference can be felt, but from my stand point I dont see or feel it.

    if one does i/o heavy thing daily im sure one will noticed, but i dont do i/o heavy things daily or even monthly, every runs like it should be
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
  13. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
  14. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    [​IMG]


    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-1...llout-now-paused-post1480577.html#post1480577



    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-1...17763-55-oct-9-a-post1483015.html#post1483015



    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-1...7763-17-insiders-post1482996.html#post1482996



    https://www.tenforums.com/windows-1...llout-now-paused-post1484758.html#post1484758

    ---------------------------
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthre...-10-ver-1809)-KILLS-BW-E-Overclock#post737382



    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthre...ILLS-BW-E-Overclock!!!!!!!!!/page2#post737437



    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthre...809)-KILLS-BW-E-Overclock!!!!!!!!!#post737426


    [​IMG]
    Someone confirmed that this works. But you do this at your own risk!
     
  15. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,782
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    What about using software OC utility after windows loads, like XTU?
     

  16. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    To be honest I have no idea. This is news to me as well. Here is something else I found out in yet another forum (this is pretty big issue that's gone under the radar) I hope someone starts reporting about this microcode updated being baked into 1809 from 1803:


    https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...t-wtf-microsoft-and-intel.247595/post-3915580

    This looks like the fix that I've read in a few other posts in a few other threads. Just delete C:\windows\system32\mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll and reboot the PC. Don't replace it with anything. (Keep a backup copy just in case).

    Again, you do this at your own risk though. And a cusory search does show copies of mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll in hidden win10 folders. It's possible it could be added if you do any updates.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2018 at 7:01 PM
  17. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018 at 3:40 AM
  18. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    Just a heads up, for the past day or so I renamed the mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll from the windows/system32 and all is fine on my end. I was able to reboot the PC and I've noticed that some i/o processes are a bit snappier then before. However, it appears that I have the same revision in the bios as I did with win10. As nothing on my end changed with the microcode. That's something you have to keep in mind. How old is your bios? If you just updated last week or something, it's very likely you have the most recent microcode and nothing will change.

    But so far even if I have the same microcode i/o processes seem a bit quicker. I gave myself at least 24 hours to see. It's very sutble:
    -websites/youtube videos seem to load faster
    -faster loading games
    -usb insertion. Yeah I said it was fast before but it's now pretty much instant. I'm talking after a full PC shutdown, reboot, insert usb thumb drive and the directory pops up on screen instantly (before the jingle/chime finishes).
    -Resource Monitor shows tasks showing up and being finished like blips on a radar. For example I/O processes on the bottom would finish and the actual CPU or Disk portion on the top would have this sort of delay before it too would disappear. However, and this is just a cursory observation, it's more instant now.
    -Resource Monitor shows tasks finishing a lot quicker now. This is very noticeable.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2018 at 11:45 PM

Share This Page