Will this be able to handle two 670's in SLI?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Justhavocman, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. Justhavocman

    Justhavocman Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. That PSU only has 2 x 6+2 pin pci-e cables.
     
  4. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess not.
     

  5. Justhavocman

    Justhavocman Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like we've got two opinions here :p Could you recommend a PSU that is SLI capable for under 100 euros?

    site source : http://www.skroutz.gr/
     
  6. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill second that recommendation.
     
  8. kanej2007

    kanej2007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Always best to get a quality psu, at least it's guaranteed to give out the power it says.
     
  9. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just happen to know for a fact that as it's got a single 12v rail, it's more than likely that it can run 2x GTX 670.

    Example: my i7 920 is a C0, and breaking the 3.8GHz barrier takes quite the voltage increase, just to reach 4.0. That's a C0 for you. So that's some extra power consumption there. Back on topic:

    Now, I also just got an eVGA GTX 670 FTW. And it just so happens my brother, whom I'm building a rig for once the last few parts arrive, has gotten the exact same card. Now as they've both arrived before the other parts, we decided to test them in SLI in my rig for a day - just for kicks.

    Turns out my 650 watts Corsair TX650 is more than capable of handling them both at once. Tried it in Battlefield 3 maxed for hours, tried it in Hitman: Absolution, and Far Cry 3 - even Heaven benchmark 3.0. All maxed of course. It's also got a single 12v rail, with 56 amps on it (something like that, can't remember exactly) - which in this case is plenty to run two 670 FTW Editions at once, along with an overclocked i7-920 C0.

    So judging from my own experience, the PSU that you linked should be able to handle it just fine, as it's also only got a single 12v rail (can't find out how many amps it's on, but I'd imagine 60-62ish?), is the same brand (Corsair), and is in theory capable of handling 50 watts more than mine. I obviously can't take any responsibility if your results vary, but I highly doubt it.

    People overrate wattage big-time, and most often underrate the significance of amps on the 12v rail(s).

    EDIT (and further proof):
    http://www.evga.com/forums/fb.ashx?m=1682853
    http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?high=&m=1678342&mpage=1#1678369


    Hope I could be of any help; it took a while to type this wall-of-text :cheers:
    Zareph / Peezee
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^You wrote that big long post for nothing...

    In case you missed it:
     

  11. Zareph

    Zareph Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I admit that I may be slightly high, but even my GTX 670 FTW came with two molex-to-6-pin converter cables. Works for me like that in SLI. And my Corsair TX650W also has only 2x 6+2 pin connectors.

    I'm still pretty damn sure that 700W Corsair, with a single 12v rail, should be enough. Assuming he has 4 molex cables free.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  12. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    So yeah the PSU can handle the load, it just doesn't have the proper connectors. You can use adapters although this is normally frowned upon as seen by some responses.
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    That may be a last resort if you already own the PSU and are looking to add an extra GPU.

    However, the OP is buying new PSU so has absolutely no reason to shortchange himself by purchasing a model with only half the required PCI-E connectors.
     
  15. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys join me in the fight against (HAUI) hardware advice under the influence. This is serious and not a laughing matter.
     

  16. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree it's serious but I still lol'd when reading your comment.
    Sorry. :p
     
  17. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    +
    rofl
     
  18. clawhamer

    clawhamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    HAUI... < that is funny


    Recommending spending money (and time) on a part that doesn’t cut it, isn’t funny.
     
  19. jcSihle

    jcSihle Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    :flip2:
    Hahahahahahahahahahhaha
    Seconded
     

Share This Page